We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and great family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandalena ApartHotel
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location and great family run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here 25th April - 9th May 2014. On arrival at 11pm at night, I thought omg we are in the middle of no where lol. How wrong could we be, they are situated literally 5 minutes walk from Protaras strip.

Hotel/rooms : Family run hotel that is great value for money. All the family make you feel so welcome and are extremely helpful if you require anything. George is a godsend as well, he even made us some toasted sandwiches on arrival even though the cooking had finished for the evening. Rooms are basic but they are extremely large spacious apartments and are cleaned every day. My only gripe were the mattresses, they were new mattresses but far too hard. I used the sofa bed pull out mattress on top of the bed mattress which helped tremendously. Nikki did reprimand me though for not having told her (mentioned it to her on our last day) because they keep spare mattresses for when needed, so don't hesitate to ask them. Request a room on the third floor, better views! We ate here a couple of times and all the food was good. They have also just started doing rooms up, I saw one of the rooms and it looked lovely.

Where to eat : We ate in several different places throughout the 2 weeks but our main places we would recommend is Super S (5 minute walk, before you get to Protaras strip) and also Anatolia. I have wrote reviews on both of these. Malmia's is good for breakfasts and so is Flora Cocktail bar (cheaper than other places) the best Breakfast we had whilst here though was at Mojito's in Pernera. Jello's and also Gary's Bar were good for breakfasts if your going into Ayia Napa.

Beaches : in the Protaras area I would go for Konnos Bay. We only went to Protaras beach once and personally that was enough. Landa beach in Ayia Napa is amazing as well (my fave). Fire mans beach in Kapparis is lovely. There was another one I found also but can't remember the name of it. Sun beds are usually €2.50 or €3 to rent.

Trips : Visiting Nicosia is worth a day out. Also a trip to Famagusta is a must. There's loads to see and do whilst here and plenty of tour operators that do the organised trips. Alternatively hire a car and explore the island. Pre booking in the uk was far cheaper than leaving it till you get here. Economy car rentals for 2 weeks cost me €210 but if I had booked the same car through the hire company it would have cost €38 per day!!!

All in all, we had a fab time......See you next year :-)

Room Tip: Request the third floor which have better views. Rooms 321,319 and 317 are all on the 3rd floor over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank emro23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    135
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
92
186
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed for a week at the Mandalena and were impressed by it. The room we had was large, airy and clean. The staff were friendly and attentive, and were happy to help. We used this hotel as a base and had a hire car where we went out everyday to explore the island. If I had to be picky the only issues were the cleaner did not seem to like to give us fresh towels ,even every other day, but whenever we went to reception they instantly gave us fresh ones with a smile and as though nothing was too much bother. the other issue was how the shower was fixed onto the wall meaning that it was hard to shower without soaking the floor! However for the price, it was a fantastic experience and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcguigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Well this is our second trip to the Mandalena and again it was fantastic. This family run business is very good value for money along with welcoming and helpful staff.
Thank you to Konstantinos, Nikki, Maria, George and Kostas, you provide an excellent base to explore your fantastic surroundings. The housekeeping staff are also to be praised, they provide excellent service to each apartment.
This is not a gimmick or luxuriously expensive place to stay, but it is exceptionally good value and excellent staff that are more than happy to assist in any way they can.
Thank you all for making our holiday have that something special and we hope to see you again soon x

Room Tip: Fantastic base to explore this beautiful place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorinda9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

just returned from 10 nights at the mandalena.george and his family costa,nicky ,maria are lovely as was antonia, george and all the rest of the staff,nothing was too much trouble always helpful . food was excellent,rooms spacious.cleaned each day .cant wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank penny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa,Warwickshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

My Mother and I arrived at Mandalena Hotel, and were welcomed by a young lady, imp[impeccably dressed, and incredibly polite, and spoke perfect English, with a subtle accent., this young lady it turned out was one of the Hoteliers daughters, a real credit!
The hotel is a wholly family run concern, and very wel run it is.

My mother is 82 years old, I am 49. I cannot praise this place highly enough, it is clean, the staff are very obliging, George behind the bar is a true oracle, literally anything you wish to know, he seems to be able to help out.

Suffice to say that George, Nicki, Maria and Costas run a lovely hotel, situated on the edge of Protaras, with some local amenities available. Sadly we were there on the very last week of the seaon, and so a large number of restaurants and taverna were already closed. We did however enjoy some very good and reasonably priced food at the Hotel bar, courtesy of George ( The Oracle),at Anatolya and Andeas Restaurants nearer the town.

Moither and I would definately like to return to this hotel, and will hopefully do so in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank quattro100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I have just got back after two weeks staying in the Mandalena Apartments. This was our first holiday in Cyprus and we chose the Mandalena because of the great reviews and because we wanted to self-cater. We also wanted somewhere quiet, away from the noise of bars etc. From my point of view, the hotel/apt ticked all the important boxes. Clean, comfortable, good value, and last but not least service. We chose a one bedroomed apartment, with a pool view. The apartment was clean and spacious, if a little tired. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom again was a little tatty and the shower was awkward at times, sometimes coming very hot or cold, but we managed to sus it out. The facilities for Self Catering were VERY basic and and I wouldn't have wanted to cater for 4 people (which the apartment could sleep if using the sofa bed) with only two rings, a toaster and kettle. However, if you were to only require sufficient equipment for a breakfast or quick lunch, you'd be fine. The apartment had a cleaning service everyday, with regular changes of bedlinen and towels, no complaints here whatsoever. The staff were all helpful and friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble. George, who ran the bar and did some of the cooking was a font of all knowledge! We never ate at the hotel itself, but from what we saw coming out of the kitchen and by talking to some of the other guests, the food was excellent. We didn't use the pool, preferring, to walk down to the beaches approx 15mins away, but it was definitely clean and looked well maintained. Others in the hotel certainly seemed to enjoy it and there were plenty of sunbeds and chairs. The location of the hotel was perfect, being within walking distance of Protaras centre and the beaches. There were also some nice bars and restaurants nearby, although most had finally closed for the winter, by the time we left. The only downside for us was the noise from the traffic at night and the fact that they played music in the bar,on a couple of occasions until well after midnight. Unfortunately I am a light sleeper, so I would request a room of the 3rd floor as far away from the bar end as possible, next time. As for Cyprus itself, we loved it and can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor away from the road are quieter and the car hire firm just 30yrds up the road is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freyasgran2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Mandalena, there's been a change of faces behind the bar but the welcome has been just as good as always. George and his family are lovely as are Panicos, George and Stelios in the bar. Nothing is too much trouble. Rooms - large, bright and spacious, little bit dated but cleaned every day and adequate for self catering. There's a better view on the poolside but only marginally better. Location - equal distance from Pernera or Protaras, 10-15 minute walk either way depending on your mobility. Food - we were self catering but ate at the bar several times and the food was very good. Pool - quiet and relaxing but never warm so take a deep breath when you jump in!!

Room Tip: Top floor pool view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meeshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.8 mi away
Anais Bay Hotel
Anais Bay Hotel
#20 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
#22 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#36 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artemis Hotel Apartments
Artemis Hotel Apartments
#45 of 66 in Protaras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#41 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalena ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalena ApartHotel

Property: Mandalena ApartHotel
Address: 303 Protaras-Cavo Greco Avenue, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Protaras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#17 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandalena ApartHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandalena ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalena Apart Hotel Protaras
Mandalena Aparthotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing