We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but it needs updating”
Review of Antigoni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antigoni Hotel
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Pontypridd
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel but it needs updating”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Once again we returned to the Antigoni, this time my brother and his wife came with us. They both agreed that the hotel could once again be a fab hotel, but at the moment it needs a complete refurbishment. The pool area was good (we were there the last two weeks in October) no pool bar and the weather was really good, the bar area was to be fair a little dirty.
The rooms were clean , but we had to ask for bath towels a few times. The beds were change twice in two weeks, not happy about that.
The food was of a good standard, always something you could eat, but it could have been a little hotter, breakfast was quite good. The soup has always been excellent,now it is very watery.
We have noticed that they are cutting back , we used to have doughnuts in the morning and at lunch time a chef would make you omelets, also if you'd wanted a snacks they would make it to order now it's left out in the restaurant, this makes no sense as most people took their lunch in the restaurant and not many took advantage of the snacks
The staff in the restaurant were very good George and a young boy, always had a smile.
The bar staff were great Alex theo and theo girlfriend.
We started our holiday on the 14th October but we did nt arrive until the 15th October, but the all inclusive finishes at 2 o clock on the day you depart, this is so wrong, we were missing out .
There were quite a few Russians there , I have never seen such a greedy race, one couple had six peaches six banana's and a pile of grapes, they eat more in a day that I had all week, so if we had a meal on the last day, it would only have made up for what they had,I know this seems a little petty , but to see it was to believe it.
This hotel is a good 3 star, but with a refit it could be a very good 4. Star
We will return, but I hope the management returnes to their old ways (not cutting back) and when you are picked up to return home that's when you all inclusive comes to a end.
The entertainment was really really bad, it did seem that the management wanted you to leave so you wouldn't stay in the hotel and drink all inclusive.
Lastly the hotel is in a fab position, short walk to the strip, we did see quite a few shows, ELvis, Michael Jackson, Abber and Freddie Murcery all very good.
Every year I say we might give it a miss next year, but we will proberly return to Cyprus next year our second home love it

Room Tip: If you are a family with children ask for a 4 bedroom room, these are much bigger, if you are couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    302
    138
    95
    59
See reviews for
249
369
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is our 4th visit to the Antigoni, we first went half board in 2000 when it was a Thomson Gold. It hasn't changed one bit in the intervening years! We have been in September on the all inclusive deal for the last 3 years. This is not a luxury hotel but very good value, lovely staff, great pool area, and we meet lots of people also on return visits. A facelift would improve the hotel, but we will be happy to go back year after year - guaranteed sunshine and Protaras is a lively resort. We would recommend the Red Bus trip over to Famagusta, this is the closest you will get to seeing Varosha.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Darwen
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was our second visit to The Antigoni and must say we thoroughly enjoyed our two week experience and would certainly consider returning again at sometime in the future.

The Antigoni is situated virtually in the centre of Protaras and only a short walk to the shops, restaurants and other attraction of the resort, including a McDonalds. We stayed at the hotel at the very end of the season, when the hotel closed down. Towards the end of our second week staff were being finished on a daily basis.

Would advise not staying in rooms 131, 231, 331 and 431, as these are located next to the noisy lift shaft. Best rooms if you want to avoid any noise and have a sea view are rooms 233 to 245, 333 to 345 and 433 to 445. The hotel evening entertainment was virtually non existent during our stay with providing music some evenings and the occasional quiz and bingo sessions. The only daytime activity was the morning water volley ball sessions. A complete waste of money in my opinion of hiring and entertainments person.

Despite comments by other contributors we found all the Eastern European staff were extremely friendly and polite, especially when you smiled and said thank you when ordering drinks or removing plates from your table. Especially helpful are the staff in reception all speaking very good English.

The cleanliness throughout the hotel and bedrooms is of a reasonable standard, bearing in mind this is a 3 star resort. Towels changed daily, but no bed linen changed during our two weeks visit. The beds have very hard mattress and can be rather lumpy. Otherwise rooms are large and airy with reasonably good air-conditioning, multi-channel TV (but no English speaking News programmes available). If you want the use of a safe and fridge the hotel will make a charge. There is no free wifi connection available at the hotel, but local bars do provide free wifi. The hotel does however provide a computer for internet use, but they make a charge of six Euros for each 60 minutes of access time.

The swimming pool was cleaned daily by the attendant and was reasonably clean. The hotel provided well in excess of 250 sunbeds by the pool, most of them with umbrellas or shaded areas available. No need to get up early, as even during our first week when the hotel was full, there was always plenty of vacant sunbeds. The hotel provides beach towels for a 10 Euro deposit, which can be changed each day your deposit refunded when you return them at the end of your stay.

The food at the resort is of good quality and plentiful, with all tastes catered for.

Breakfast: There was a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juice, bacon, eggs, sausages and baked beans along with boiled eggs. Different types of bread along with croissants, cakes and a selection of other dishes including cold meats and various cheeses, were also served each morning.

Lunch and Dinner: Delicious soups served at dinner only, not lunchtimes, with were good along with a selection of bread similar to breakfast. There was no shortage of salads with an enormous choice of dishes along with cold meats and cheese that was varied on a daily basis. For hot food there was usually was a wide range of dishes along with options of fish, beef, pork, chicken and pasta and pizzas on the menu most days. Chips or savoury wedges are served at both Lunch and Dinner every day, usually with some other kind of potato at dinner. There was also a choice of sweets that included cheese and crackers, ice cream and plenty of fresh fruit to choose from for afters.

Our only complaint about the food was the baked beans were rather on the cold side at breakfast.

Main Bar: Open from 10:00am until midnight daily and serving a selection of soft drinks, local alcoholic, cocktails along with tea or coffee. Although you could obtain a glass of water from the bar, if you want bottled water you had to pay for a bottle. However, if you took an old water bottle to the bar they were more than happy to re-fill it for you with purified water.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms 131, 231, 331 and 431. They are next to the noisy lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just got back from Antigoni and had a great time. read some reviews and was a little apprehensive but pleasantly suprised. Good value for money. Went all inclusive and the food was very good; we had thought we may eat out a couple of times but the food was so good we didn't want to. Hotel is clean and when I asked for extra pillows, kettle they were brought to the room on the same day. Simona, the and all staff are great. Would definitely go back ... :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lovely reception, pool and restaurant, then enter the lift to a different place! The lift and hallways are disgustingly dirty with doors all scratched and marked and stains all over the carpet. The rooms: very dated with old giant TV and even worse very old and dirty fridge (which you have to pay for using). Their gym: none of the gym equipment worked so don't go there if you want to use a gym. Definitely would not stay at this hotel again, however we loved the resort of Protarus.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Protaras hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel maybe dated but it is excellent for what you pay and the location is fantastic, we have not got on complaint about anything within the hotel the food was good the staff were very friendly and tended to your every need the best staff we're Alex and theo that worked behind the bar I can't fault them at all, as for the hotel itself the room was very clean, towels were changed daily when left on the floor in the bathroom and the bed sheets were changed three times whilst we were there and this was for a week. I will definitely be booking for next year and for two weeks instead of one. People on here just like to moan I think.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly280681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Returned last week from a weeks stay at the Antigoni Hotel and can honestly say we had a great time and found the hotel to be fine. Most of the hotels on my reviews are 4 & 5 stars but none of them have actually lived up to it…but this is a very good 3 star and served its purpose. The bar staff are brill – hello to Simona, Theo and Alex who supply you with any cocktail you want – some stronger than others I may add. Do what you can Tsokkos to keep these staff as they are the best .The cleaners kept our room tidy and changed towels and bedding during the week and we left out jewelley, phones and I Pods and these weren’t touched….The waiters in the restaurant need a little push sometimes as we were eating outside the restaurant one day and 4 of them were stood there with an order pad and only when we shouted to him did he come over and take our drinks order, then it took ages to get 2 glasses of water which he went to the bar for – simple tip is to call at the bar before you go to the dining hall and take it with you. Good selection of food and you can always make up a meal which in some hotels you get the main bit and then it’s a bit of a dilemma of what you can put with it. There was always a good selection of meats on offer such as lamb, gammon, turkey beef. Only let down really was the Italian night as this was much the same as other days with Pizza and pasta. Breakfasts were the best – everything for full English (except mushrooms), cereals, continental, plus fruit available all day. Desserts weren’t bad but ice cream fridge could do with a good thaw out and clean as it was a bit sticky and sometimes you couldn’t open the sliding lid, a proper scoop wouldn’t go amiss either as the one they had was a bit like a trowel !!
Only ate out once at night and that was for my birthday and one dinner when we went for a walk – all other times we ate in the restaurant.
The pool /swim up bar was closed when we went unfortunately, would like to have had a drink at that bar – think it should have stayed open until the end of the season as it was still 90 degrees – just with a few thunderstorms thrown in….
Amanda the organiser was very pleasant and helpful when required – can’t comment on the evening entertainment as we always went on the strip but please don’t mistake her as an entertainer as she is not – she is sort of an ‘animation person’ without any team to help her – when we stayed at another Tsokkos Hotel they paid someone to sing and entertain – Amanda does not sing and dance and she does help in the restaurant occasionally though taking room numbers at the entrance.
We kept our room on for the last day and our bands were not removed but others had theirs cut off at 12 noon but were allowed in the restauant for lunch – do not agree with this as some who arrived late as we did did not get their full weeks all inclusive – only ever had this once before at a Spanish hotel and it was changed before we left. It should be from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave in my opinion….
Met some lovely people there, everyone seemed to be enjoying it apart from one couple who said it was sold to them as a 4 star and they weren’t impressed at the start and another couple of miserable ones ……
With a bit of TLC this hotel could be gold again – with a few little nips and tucks here and there. Although it is not as glam as some of the other Tsokkos hotels in Protaras, it is actually in the best place – it is just off the strip but fairly quiet – I don’t know how people sleep in the other ones due to a few very very loud bars who don’t turn the music down when they are supposed to do and seem to be at war with each other as to who can play the loudest music !
Only went on one Jet2 trip to Nicosia and the Troudos Mountains – not really worth the 36 euros each as we thought we would have had time to go over the border as we were told to take our passports – we actually only got one hour in Nicosia and by the time we had been frog marched from the coach to the main street it was nearly time to come back. Just time for a coffee and toilet, plus the guide was the most sour faced bossy person with just no personality at all.
All in all we had a great holiday and would not hesitate to book this hotel again if we went back to Protaras….

Room Tip: Room 343 -end room over looking tennis court with a sea view - quieter than the pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suemog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.8 mi away
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
#39 of 66 in Protaras
777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#19 of 66 in Protaras
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#37 of 66 in Protaras
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vangelis ApartHotel
Vangelis ApartHotel
#57 of 66 in Protaras
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#28 of 66 in Protaras
1,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
#42 of 66 in Protaras
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigoni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigoni Hotel

Property: Antigoni Hotel
Address: Protaras Avenue, 359 Kavo Greco, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigoni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigoni is a great base for exploring Protaras, located on the main road with a short stroll to the main strip of the resort and close by to the crystal clear waters of Flamingo Beach. Rooms are comfortable, some with pool views. Daily activities at pool side with varied evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antigoni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigoni Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing