We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malama - Just right for us.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malama Beach Holiday Village
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Different people want different things from a holiday and if your ideal vacation is one spent in the middle of a bustling resort centre surrounded by shops, clubs and bars then Malama is not for you. What it does offer are spotlessly clean updated apartments surrounded by gardens, a stunning coastal location with direct access to its own safe beach (technically a public beach but with no road to cross so as good as a private one), a beautiful and well maintained pool area with plenty of sunbeds, and meals that provide enough choice and quality to satisfy all but the fussiest diners. Most of all, there are friendly staff that really make you feel welcome and go the extra mile to make your stay a pleasant one.

Some of the things that most impressed us during our stay were the efficiency of the housekeeping staff (two minor faults with our apartment were fixed within half an hour of reporting them to reception), and the friendliness of the restaurant staff who, even during the busy breakfast or dinner periods, found time to chat with the guests. We must also give a special mention to Vidas the chef who tempted us wickedly with freshly baked and decorated doughnuts, brochettes and waffles at breakfast.

There are a couple of tips that are worth knowing. Firstly, Malama is quite a distance from Larnaca airport so it is worth booking a taxi transfer (about €55 for up to four people), which takes about 40 mins rather than the shuttle bus that travels all round Ayia Napa and Protaras and takes about two hours.

Secondly, the area around Malama, being largely rural with private villas, does not have many restaurants so it is advisable to have at least half board rather than B&B. This is no hardship, though, as the on-site buffet restaurant provides meals of excellent quality and variety. You can have all-inclusive but we found that the enormous breakfasts left no room for lunch and so half board was sufficient for us. (For those not on all-inclusive, house wine was €5.50 a half litre which we thought was quite reasonable compared with other Cyprus hotels we have stayed in.)

Getting out and about is a lot easier than the location might suggest. From the hotel it is about a ten-minute stroll to the bus stop where €1.50 will take you to Protaras, Cape Greco or Ayia Napa. The buses are every 15 minutes, even on Sundays, and journeys take about 15 minutes to Protaras or 40 minutes to Ayia Napa. There is also a coastal path that you can walk along southwards towards Protaras or northwards as far as the Greek Cypriot lookout post guarding the ceasefire “green” line between the Greek and Turkish parts of the island. This is only about 1km away and gives a good view of the “Ghost” town of Varosha in the Turkish half. (If you want to visit the Turkish sector then we would recommend the open top “Red Bus” tours that take you to the ancient town of Famagusta as well as the beach by Varosha.)

Evening entertainment at Malama is family oriented with a children’s disco at the poolside bar followed by something for all ages (e.g. singers, dancers or a magic show). For those who can’t do without their football fix there are nearby bars with huge satellite dishes beaming live Sky sports, but as I said at the beginning, if raving nightlife and oceans of rotgut alcohol are what you are looking for, then Malama is not for you. However, as a holiday destination it suited us so well that we have been back two years running and I’m sure that we will be returning again.

Room Tip: Apartment blocks numbered 34 - 41 are furthest from the pool but face onto a pleasant grassy area wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Where can I start, the hotel is spacious and welcoming from the beginning, The reception staff go out of there way to make sure you have a brilliant holiday. The restaurant was fantastic and loads of choice with the amazing show cooking was a delight to watch and enjoy. The hotel is located on the beach front with a relaxing atmosphere for families and couples, The apartments are very spacious, clean and quiet.
Overall a fantastic destination to choose for a holiday

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible, relaxing feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

we had a very good holiday for 2 weeks-half board in malama, the surrounding is very child friendly but the only let down is they don't have a single English program for kids. the staff is very helpful even after the holiday, very pleased w/ everything & planning to come back again. well recommended. thank you malama!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryjelleprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Well finally got round to writing this review. Our first visit to Cyprus and all-inclusive virgins. When we arrived at 11.30 pm everything was in place. We were in block 38 which was the furthest from the pool/beach area but nearer to the reception/restaurant. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The blocks are connected by winding paths which could be confusing at first but we soon got used to it. The apartment was sufficient for four of us, spotlessly clean, everything you needed. The bathroom was recently refitted and had a good shower. On the minus side the balcony was small and there was only one English tv channel broadcasting world news all day. The all inclusive food was of a high quality and something for everyone. My wife is a coeliac and was worried about what she may have been offered to eat. She needn't have worried. The chef Stelios was really helpful and couldn't do enough for her, even making special dishes when required. Gluten free bread and cake was available on request. Although there was a lot of choice I could have done with a few more snack type foods at lunch as you don't always want a big meal. Also on a personal note I would have liked the option of ice cream as dessert. All the restaurant staff worked very hard and were extremely helpful and friendly. At breakfast when it was busy the restaurant did have the look of a cafeteria but the addition of table cloths in the evening overcame this.

The pool area was nice and clean and there were always plenty of beds. Although when we were there it was full and busy. The pool could have done with being larger but with the sea so close we used that. There was always plenty of activities to do around the pool and the watersports on the beach were very good.

The bar was open from 10. am til midnight when the limited entertainment finished. We found the entertainment to be a bit basic. Would have been nice to have had an ultra inclusive option to include branded drinks. Bar staff excellent and especially Johnny and Emi.

Overall a lovely resort with fantastic staff. Peaceful location in between Protaras and Paralimini. There are a few bars nearby if you want a change of scene. We had a great relaxing holiday and our girls made lots of good friends and enjoyed the freedom of the all inclusive environment.

Tips: the wifi is brilliant in the public areas but did not work well in block 38!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickemmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a fantastic week, the food was delicious, the rooms were spacious and comfortable if you needed any assistance all the staff were very helpful. The hotel is idyllic and is right on the beach.If you are looking for a relaxing holiday its a brilliant place, great for families too

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Large quiet territory full of blooming bushes and trees with excited and welcoming personnel of this hotel made our stay comfortable. The food was splendid, a lot of meet products and some varieties for our 2-year old child were available also. The rooms are nice with everything what's needed, plus small kitchen (refrigerator, stove, pots, silverware etc.) and balcony. Personnel took a good care of us. Very relaxing atmosphere, we will surely come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gimbitskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just back from our stay.

The hotel is clean and the service was good. The food was slightly better than I've had on other all inclusive holidays.The beds are very firm but I actually prefer that. I would rate this hotel at 3.5 out of 5, it doesn't really excel at anything but it didn't really disappoint either.

As per other reviews, it's slightly out of town but again this didn't bother us.

I can only imagine people describing this hotel as the "best" or "paradise" haven't stayed at many hotels but each to their own!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
3.7 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,779 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#13 of 65 in Protaras
1,130 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malama Beach Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malama Beach Holiday Village

Address: Kennedy Ave, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#6 Family Hotel in Protaras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: $72 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malama Beach Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Malama Beach Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malama Holiday Village Protaras
Malama Holiday Village Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing