We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malama Beach Holiday Village
Nearby Hotels
$239
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Livas Hotel Apartments(Protaras)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapetanios Bay Hotel(Protaras)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Capo Bay Hotel(Protaras)
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Astreas Beach Hotel Apartments(Protaras)(Great Value!)
$171
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Antigoni Hotel(Protaras)
$176
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,115)
Filter reviews
1,115 results
Traveler rating
654
364
66
22
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
654
364
66
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssandy areakids clubgarden viewanimation teamnext yeartable tenniscar rentalexcept sundayfamily resortindoor poolshallow waterplenty of sunbedshalf boardbed apartmentice creamsmall baychildren aged
Filter
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 1,115 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2012

My family and I visited the Malama on the 7th May for the first time after 5 previous trips to Cyprus. I have twins aged 4 and we had a fantastic holiday which was helped by staying at the Malama. The hotel was lovely and well maintained and the room was very spacious especially as we have twins. I have read the recent poor comments on this hotel and can say that we found the restaurant service very good and food of good quality. My wife and daughter slept in the double bed and I slept with my son in the two sofa beds pushed together. I found the sofa beds perfect with plenty of space and we requested extra pillows which came within 15 minutes of asking. We had maid service everyday which again helped us to relax.

We hired a car which we picked up from the airport and the cost was £160 for the week including petrol. This was great as we left the hotel after breakfast and went to Landa beach in Ayia Napa for the day and then returned later in the day for our evening meal. We went out again at night to Protaras and Ayia Napa (not drinking as we have kids) and this again was great as having a car we had freedom. We did not experience the entertainment in the hotel so I could not comment.

My conclusion is that the hotel has a modern feel about it with good service, clean and should be considered for your stay. It was the perfect hotel for us with kids but this was helped due to hiring a car as it helped us to get out and we stayed half board.

We have stayed in some top 5 star hotels in the world including the madinat in Dubai, Four Season in Boston, etc and we understand good and bad hotels. You get what you pay for and this hotel is not a 5 star but offers excellent value and I would call it a good hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was a garden view suite upstairs which was great.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Antony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This was a lovely hotel. The appartments and grounds were well maintained and clean. It was only 20ish steps down to the lovel cove beach. There were plenty of sun beds, it was the last week before the season really began but they were getting ready for that by putting many more out. All staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was good and plentiful. Not a huge buffet but adiquete.
The shop on site was small but stocked a large selection of gifts and every day things. Papers were avaliable frrom around 09.30hrs! There were very few aminities surrounding the hotel but a 10min walk takes you to the bus stop. Would deff return here.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a pool/sea view room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Although the rooms were spaceious the furniture resembled caravan furniture the accomodation was booked for 3 adults and 1 child the sleeping arrangements were 1 double bed which was hard and very uncomfortable and 2 single sofa chairs that did not even transform into a bed not suitable for an adult although on request a camp bed was provided for the child. The room we were oringinally in we had to move from as the shower base was blocked and over flowed.
On arrival we were able to order 1 drink rom the bar as it was closing the bar man was moody and abrupt not a warm welcome to paying guests.
The restraunt areas were small eating area inside and a large conservatory which was chilly to eat in at night and the furniture again basic, the waiting staff were slow to bring drink orders serving across your meal and putting their hands around the tops of the glasses confusing orders as we had to continually provide room numbers for the ordering of any food or drink, would had made more sence for wrist bands to be provided for fully inclusive guests.
Food was good although to the end of serving times choices were limited and some of the menu not available. Drinks from the bar were slow and on one occassion i was served by another rude bar man black currant tea when i ordered English tea when questioned he could not be bothered to get the requested tea from the kitchen this was served in dirty cups.
House keeping was poor I was aware the maid had been in if i had clean towels only I exspected clean linen each day but this was not completed the rooms did not smell clean or fresh on a daily basis. I contracted a really bad cough on holiday not surprising with the poor cleanliness of the accomodation, this was not only me as I was part of a wedding party and most of us suffered this illness whilst there or on our return.
The evening entertaiment was basic and repetative in a small dark and dingey area attached to the only bar in the hotel which was very busy at times and could not accomodate the guests.
Th shop on site was very expensive and the shop is not part of the hotel and the hotel will not take any responsibilities for complaints given by hotel guests about the shop or its staff which i experienced as my son who is an adult was accused of stealing a pack of mints.
The beaches were beautifiul and some of the surrounding area for walks but car hire would be required to venture out as the bus was packed and unsafe i would advise you to use the hire firm away from the hotel site as cheaper.
The hotel was rated 4 star and in reception states 3 star this would be questionable at times check the prices you are paying as i really over spent on this accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hoodlum69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristos K, General Manager at Malama Beach Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are deeply sorry to read your comments and find out long after your departure, since nothing was reported to us during your stay, that your holidays at Malama were not so “enjoyable”.

We believe that it is unnecessary to comment on every point in your statement as the comments made and published by many other happy quests are self explanatory and give a true and realistic picture of our standard of service.

However, we are obliged to comment regarding the unfortunate incident with your son who was caught stealing from the Hotel’s mini market and wish to inform you that the video from our security cameras is available and if you wish copy can be sent to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Just got back from Malama and would never stay again alot of the reviews on here seem really good hence one of the reasons we booked but . the hot water in the room doesn't stay hot for long even though we had the immersion on for the whole 2 weeks of our stay !
The waitresses and waiters 2 in particular were dreadful we timed it we ordered the wine which was like vinegar i hasten to add, it took 20mins to get it to our table this happened on several occasions , so my husband and i sat there the next night and ordered the wine again just to see what an earth they were doing in the time, first they come over take or drinks order ask us our room number annoyingly for the hundredth time then must be the head waiter gives it to the waitress she puts it in her pocket goes and clears a few tables and take,s some other drinks orders ,then takes the other people there drinks and leaves us high and dry at this point my husband goes over to the bar to complain they send another waitress over she takes our room number again grrr then we get our drinks , as we finish our meal the original lady give,s us our drink this is a good 45 mins after its a joke , and rooms should be cleaned and sheets changed even on bank holidays and sundays there are no english chanels on tv bar from news and mtv don't norm watch tv on holiday but the evening entertainment is shocking everyone is crammed into this dingy room with brown floral chairs that have seen better days !!! a message to the management GET WITH THE 21ST CENTURY AND GET COLOR CODED WRIST BANDS that way you don't annoy your guest who have paid good money to have what food and drink available to be ask room number every time you go to the bar etc , and finally internet is way too expensive its a rip off and needs sorting out !! only positive thing is beach is beautiful rooms are clean but change floral sheets and curtains and get rid of the old fashioned brown blanket,s this hotel was rated 4star but in reception it clearly says 3 bear this in mind when staying here there is no way its a 4 star oh forgot drinks and food all finished at 12 so buy snack outside hotel not from the overpriced hotel shop nearly 3 euros for a bag of crisps !!! and you will be fine .

Room Tip: go on top floor as being on the ground was way too noisy with other peoples kids screaming at all hour .
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leighsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Good value for families with children. Nice pool and a very small but nice beach with crystal clear water (a bit cold still end of april but our 3 year old daughter didn't mind and in the end we also went into it.
It's good for people look for a place outside the big tourist villages like Protaras or Ayia Napa, but with a car these are also close by.
Contrary to most people we were not on all inclusive, and we didn't mind. We ate one evening in the buffet and it is tipically an all inclusive buffet, love it or hate it, I'm not a big fan. But we had our own kitchen and so most of the time prepared our own food and a few times we also looked around for some nice restaurants with fresh fish, which seems more easy than it is. But we managed.
Staff very friendly, place is very childfriendly also, so cannot say a lot of bad things about the place.
We had a one bedroom apartment which was sufficient for us (family with 2 children of 1 and 3) but indeed might become a bit small when the kids grow up, depends how much time you want to spend in the apartment of course.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaz00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews