We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

Just returned from 7 days at this hotel, staying on an all-inclusive basis. Lots of positive things and a few not so good.

We decided that we wanted to stay close to the strip and it was just as well that we did. We were amazed that there was virtually no entertainment laid on in the evenings, unless you count a pianist (who was very pleasant, but not appreciated by my 12 year old son) and a duo who sang along to again a piano and also an accordian I believe. This meant that most evenings to find something to do, we had to go outside of the hotel and pay for our drinks all evening, which defeats the object a bit. However, we found some great shows and acts to watch along the strip and had some really good nights.

The hotel is in a great position on a really lovely, long beach and I have to say that the hotel pools (both the main one and the kids one) were exceptionally beautiful, and kept so perfectly clean. Getting sunbeds around the pool didn't seem too hard as long as you were out there by 10 ish and there were plenty of umbrellas too, which was essential as we were there during the heatwave. Entertainment during the day was good, although again, not a huge amount for the kids unless they are very young and then they could do T-Shirt painting etc. But again, for a 12 year old, not that much.

Definitely the main gripe that we had with this hotel is that amazingly, they let anybody come into the gate by the pool and they can either walk directly through to the beach or they can use the hotel pool and sunbeds if they pay (although we never once saw anybody approached and asked to pay). We saw locals blatantly come in with their picnics and towels and use the facilities, some for the whole day. The teenagers were the most annoying that came in mid afternoon and monopolised the pool for a few hours. I think the hotel should be more private and only open to residents. You would have to be there to appreciate how it gets on everyone's nerves.

The food was good, but we weren't comfortable with the fact that some of the selections weren't covered ie the dips and some salad bits, also on a couple of evenings there were prawns available, and those weren't covered either so we gave them a wide berth. Overall, there was a good selection of food, but not a great kids selection. Always chips, pizza and sometimes fish fingers, but that was about it.

Our room was OK, the view was nice, side sea view and overlooking the pool. We had a fold up bed for my son, which I thought was bad seeing as how we had paid full price for him. The shower curtain had seen better days, but overall the room was OK. It was cleaned to a good standard each day. The air con in the room functioned really well.

All the staff we found to be very helpful and friendly and work incredibly long hours. The hotel was very clean overall and very impressive looking both in and outside.

Overall, we did enjoy it here. There are always good and bad points wherever you go. I would recommend the hotel, but we failed to understand why it has such a high rating compared to other hotels in the area. Maybe it is because you get a free pair of slippers in your room on arrival!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamlangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    370
    264
    99
    44
See reviews for
535
601
52
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sunny chingford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

This hotel is a long way from being 5 star. The majority of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful and were it not for the staff at the Atrium bar who were both friendly and entertaining (Valentinos and Marius in particular) our holiday would have been very disapointing. Whilst I could not fault the quality and variety of food on offer the fact that men were only allowed into the restaurant in "long trousers" was something of a joke. For many this meant football shirt , jeans and trainers whilst my husband could not go in wearing tailored shorts and a shirt. Also if you wanted to sit outside and enjoy the view at dinner you had to tolerate the smokers during your meal.
One of my biggest disapointments was the fact that my daughter of 12 had to spend two weeks sleeping on a fold up camp bed when we had paid full price for her. There were no ironing facilitys in the room (you have use of an iron just of the reception) and should you wish to use the safe that is in your room this is an additional cost even if, like us, you are all inclusive.
The hotel management allow members of the public to pay to use the hotel facilities including the pool and sun loungers, even thou the hotel was fully booked and space was already at a premium. This was particularly bad at weekends (don't expect a sun bed if your up after 7am) and I would go far as to say I felt intimidated by the amount of teenage non residents that decended on the hotel at these times. The volume of music played around the pool in the next door hotel (which is a sister hotel) was also so loud it made it hard to relax during the day.
On a plus note the entertainment team of Danny and Georgia did everything they could to make peoples holidays fun, whether you participated or merely watched the activities they organized.
In general the whole area of Protaras is loud and rather too "tourist" for my holiday taste. Don't expect to get any peace and quiet before 2am most nights as the surrounding bars and hotels all seem to compete to see who can make the most noise.
However the beaches are beautiful and there is no end of water sports available all day and to suit all tastes.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rigsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Have just returned from this hotel and on the whole had a good time because we were determined to make the best of our holiday. But having never visited Cyprus for over 20 years, it is was a bit of a shock. Protaras is a purpose built resort and the beach is fine with plenty of watersports to chose from. Disappointed with the so called dolphin boat trip to Famagusta. Real rip off at 10 euros each for a two hour slow journey and absolutely nothing to do or see. The only dolphoin you see is the model of one on top of the boat. ! Hiring a speed boat costs 100 euro an hour - there were six of us and we had great fun water skiing.

The Hotel is impressive externally, very spacious internally and the main reception/ bar are is airconditioned. The restaurant stuggled to cope with the air con and it was too hot to eat outside. Food was plentiful at all meals, not the very best you will eat but perfectly adequate. The staff are on the whole polite and small problem with air con in room sorted within minutes.

Restaurant is now tired and also in need of a refurb.

Rooms are dated, especially the bathooms but are spacious and I would imagine that all rooms have good views. Paid extra for front sea view and was worth it.

Pool area good but not massive because the hotel is beachfront. We went all inclusive which I do recommend - small water botlles are 1.5 euros each. Never done an all inclusive and I am a convert - the branded alcohol is fine and never a problem how ever much you want.

Now what you really need to know is that the hotel is accessed from the high street which is full of souvenir shops and Karaoke bars. The hotel group owns an open bar called Bliss - very smart but plays loud music until 3am every night. This hotel is sheltered from the effects of the noise and our rooms at the front of the hotel didnt hear a thing at night. But if you have a room at the front of the hotel it could a different matter.

The hight street at night reminds me of Blackpool - neon lights etc., and full of young ( and older people) out for a good time, spilling into and out the bars

The hotel is 5 star becuase of the range of facilites it offers but is really a 3.5 star. Be warned if you stay there. Would I return? No, becuse for the money I am sure your can get much better value for money. Went with Thomas cook, the flights were fine but the seat pirches are rediculously small on our flights - they were really old aircrafts.

This hotel and resort is not suited for anyone wanting a touch of luxury or smart surroundings but is OK if you want to sing Karaoke til the early hours.....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank needabreakWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Just got back from this hotel and had two weeks here in high season school holidays. This hotel is in the best location in Protaras on the most wonderful beach just a hop skip and a jump away ! This hotel was not 5* by our standards as unfortunatley the food was not upto much but this was expected as in all the brochures it scored fairly low but do not let this put you off as it was OK just not great which you would expect for 5* and the rooms were not decorated in a modern way with a very basic bathroom but again do not let this put you off . . . Just being honest as if you go knowing this you will not be disappointed as your expectations will be lower and you may be suprised ! If you can request a room overlooking the pool near the beach end of the hotel this will be the quietest room as we were round the other side and on the weekends the bars on the beach go until 3am so very noisy. We had a fantastic holiday here despite my comments above as the pool area was lovely although again on the weekends the locals visit and just walk on in and use the sunbeds and pool area as there is no staff checking if you are guests of the hotel so plan an excursion on a weekend as the whole atmosphere of the hotel changed and they were very rude and loud ! The staff we encountered were fantastic , the one stop entertainment team in particular , Danny , Georga , Ignasia work so hard and made our holiday and I know many previous reviews have mentioned them ! The restaurant waitresses were always pleasant as was the reception staff in specific Anna was very helpful to our family. All in all a lovely holiday , very hot here most days well into the 40's , if you have booked you will have a great time as long as you bare in mind what I have said and don't go expecting a 5* hotel english standard you will not be disappointed ! If you have any questions please ask as I will respond !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

A bit of balance is required for this hotel. Having visited in June, we found the hotel to be of a good quality. Whilst not up to a british 5 star hotel, you dont expect this abroad and we were provided with good friendly service. We arrived very late, (1pm)l ong after the evening meal had finished, yet we received a lovely warm welcome and offered a sandwich. All the information we were provided with was clear and consise. Whilst the first night was a little noisy, we never found it to be problem for the following nights and our room faced the hotel opposite and the drive up to the main street. We had the most comfortable nights sleep, yes the matresses were firm but rather that than saggy with no support. We encountered a problem with our safe and hairdryer and some one came up to fix them within 20 mins of our call. The hotel is in a lovely position giving guests the opportunity to use both the pool and beach within easy reach of a sunbed. If we were to complain about anything it would be one waitress who was too attentive and wouldnt let you fill your own glasses and they didnt price the check you had to sign for drinks in the restaurant. However once we asked this information was made available. Sorry if others found it lacking, we certainly didnt and are looking to use it again in September.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy3852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

Excellent holiday, lovely hotel, great location next to beach and close to bars etc. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms a bit dated, needs refurbishing but clean and tidy, bathroom the same. Beds a bit hard, we asked for a bed topper and then they were really comfortable. Food excellent, plenty of choice, different theme each night. Great views from the restaurant. Bar staff great fun, all inclusive package a must as quite expensive to buy drinks in hotel we were told. Lovely to walk out on to beach from hotel, free beds until you actually get on the beach next to the water, so that saves lots of money. Nice pool and pool area, water lovely and warm. Entertainment team were really good, they weren't too pushy trying to get you to join in. They would always come round and have a chat. Danny was very entertaining and worked so hard. All in all a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julesdelights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Stayed here for a week in May. Hotel on the beach set back from main street. Grand entrance, reception a bit dark and a bit dated looking but in keeping with the grandeur. The room large with comfy beds and great sea view from balcony. Room quite although we were minutes walk from bars. On all inclusive and food and drink could not fault. Staff were friendly and entertainments team enthusiastic in the daytime , we did not see entertainment in the evening as there were many bars and restaurants close by. Saw several shows including the Misfits a must if you enjoy a bit of a mickey take on groups. Beach was good with plenty of water sports. Looked the area and would go back .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mw1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandros83, Public Relations Manager at Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2010
Dear guest ,

As Tsokkos Hotels Management team we are very grateful for the time that you dedicated to post your review for Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel. Moreover we are very happy that during your stay in our hotel you haven't faced any problems. It's great to hear that nothing was too much trouble. We looking forward to see you again to Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel or in any from our hotels.

As Tsokkos Hotels we would like to wish a nice and pleasant summer

Tsokkos Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.5 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#15 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#11 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#21 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Address: Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#14 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#17 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#21 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the beach hotel of dreams! Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel is directly located on Protaras golden sandy beach and impressively overlooks the endless shades of blue stretching towards the horizon. An exclusive all seasons 5 star hotel with stylish accommodation, elegant atrium lobby and excellent service complement the wide range of activities and facilities. From you balcony you may enjoy the first sunrise in Europe and the panoramic view of the turquoise Mediterranean Sea. It is located in the heart of Protaras with a big selection of bars, shops and restaurants just a foodstep away. The quality accommodation, friendly staff, and relaxed ambiance make this hotel an all-round appeal for a perfect luxurious beach hotel. Guests return year after year to the popular Constantinos The Great. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantinos The Great
Constantinos Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing