We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 5* Hotel struggling 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a 5* Hotel struggling 4*”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

My Husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday here. Check in was quick and straight forward. We got to our Room, we stayed in Room 225. I could not believe my eyes when we opened the door, the room looked as if it had not been dusted in a few weeks!! The furnishings overall were ok and the bed was comfortable and large. Our air conditioning didn't work properly the whole time we were there (maintenance issues we were told) made sleeping very uncomfortable. The view from our balcony was really nice. We stayed on a half board basis and like previous reviews the food is not great but you won't starve, just didn't feel breakfast and evening meals were hot enough and there wasn't a great lot of choice. Staff were quite friendly (well some of them). Evening entertainment was a joke, we had to go for a walk every night to kill some time but by the end of the week we got a bit fed up of doing that. The island itself is beautiful, we would return but never to this hotel and not to Protaras again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    379
    269
    101
    45
See reviews for
550
607
52
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Arrived back on May 1st after a week at the Constantinos. Lovely hotel but in need of a renovation to make it a 5star. Maid service second to none, a smile and a hello goes a long way. Great position and views out to sea. I stayed half board and found the meals very well cooked and with a great choice. I don't drink that often and when I asked for just a glass of water at dinner it was provided with no query and no charge!!!. I have only one complaint, the internet service is iffy at best, I kept getting connected to the hotel next door and I didn't expect to be charged for Wi-Fi, 10 eurs for 2 hours wi-fi that only worked when you are sat in reception facing the right direction. With so many offering free wi-fi it's better to go to the Sunrise Pearl patisserie opposite Pizza Hut and get the best ice cream you've ever tasted and free wi fi as well. Pizza Hut has free wi-fi as well as 6.95 euros for the special all you can eat pizza deal I'm not mean but thats a good deal by any standard.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor right hand side as you face the sea, early morning sun with shade in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portadown
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Have just returned after one week and our fourth visit.As usual everything exceeded our needs.We stayed on All Inclusive basis.The hotel met all our requirements and more.It was great to meet many of our friends,whom we have grown to know over the years who work tirelessly.Everyone made us feel very welcome on our return.Everyone from cleaners through to management are a tribute to the hotel.Constantinos The Great offers excellent value for money.Have been to Cyprus close to 20 times and have found this to be the case.We found food this year especially, to be of a high standard at every meal time.Dinners included a different cut of meat every night plus pasta,fish or chicken etc.My waistband is testimony to this.Visited restaurant at all different times and food was always hot and plentiful even at closing.Some people may find hotel rooms are a bit dated,but you don't go here to sit inside.Many thanks again to all,and we will hopefully see you soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank robbieandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Just returned (April 2014) from a wonderful holiday at Constantinos the Great. We know Cyprus well, having holidayed each September for the past 20 years. Last year we decided to try an additional early holiday in April at a different location in Cyprus, and selected Constantinos the Great. We were not disappointed, and so returned again this April with friends who had not previously visited this part of Cyprus. On both occasions we stayed on a half board basis. You can always find something to complain about if you are that way inclined, but there was little or nothing to disappoint us. People may complain about the food, but this was generally of a high standard with lots of choice to suit all tastes. The buffet breakfasts and dinners were in our view excellent, but what stands out most in our minds is the wonderful staff. The ambience of the hotel is one of caring, from a "hands on" approach of management who lead by example, right through the whole staff from those on reception, the restaurant staff, those who maintain the facilities and the people who cleaned and looked after our room. Any comments we cared to make were taken seriously, and where a response was required, this was immediate. We enjoyed a very relaxed and uplifting holiday in this excellent location, and hired a car for a few days so that we could visit various locations, mainly those with an element of something from a photographic point of view. There is something to be enjoyed by everyone at this hotel. If you just want to relax in the warm sun, there are plenty of bed chairs in a peaceful environment, right on the beach! Nice walks along the boardwalk in either direction are very pleasant, and the town of Protaras itself is quiet and relaxing at this time of year. We have visited Protaras in September many times in other years, and the town offers a variety of excellent restaurants. My wife and I are in love with Cyprus, and although we have travelled extensively to other countries, Cyprus and the friendliness of the Cypriot people remains at the top of our most precious memories. I do not usually undertake reviews of this kind, but we have been so impressed with our experience at Constantinos the Great, that I felt on this occasion I should share a few of my thoughts with others. Yes, I could mention by name the various members of staff who were kind, helpful, caring and professional throughout our stay, but that would be a long list, and it would be invidious to mention some by name and not others. Sufficient to say that the hotel is well managed by caring people, and people are always your best resource. So if you want a hotel you can rely on, in an excellent location, with good facilities and where the climate is as perfect as you are likely to find, Constantinos the Great would be an excellent choice, and I fully recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ProfTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Overall good holiday ,great location,great food
My niggles our some staff can be rude don't seem to be enjoying their work
Entertainment. None
Tacky laminate floors in bedrooms not what you excerpt from a four star hotel
Lobby bar ,only bar open in the evening closed very early maybe this was because we stayed in April
This is just a few niggles but overall good holiday

Room Tip: No tips on good room but the fully inclusive package at reception was good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

stayed here for 7 nights from 9th April, as other reviews have stated it looks a bit tired in places but generally very nice. Location is perfect right on the beach and only 2 minute walk to the town, resort very quiet with most bars and shops only just opening for the summer season but some good nights spent in Rockefellers watching the tribute acts. Food adequate but not a great choice, lacked the normal grill area normally seen in other hotels apart from a roast joint every night but not the selection of potatoes and veg to compliment it. We did miss fresh melon and sliced fruit both at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The cheese selection was however very good. Ice cream from a small pre-packed container is not what you would expect from a 5 star holiday.
The staff were brilliant, so friendly and helpful you never had to wait to get a drink at the bar and around the pool area a waiter was always coming round asking you if you required a drink. Also at all meal times plates were cleared away promptly and waiters also enquired was everything ok with your meal and asked whether we required any more drinks.
Weather was lovely for this time of year mid seventies which was a pleasure as we were able to eat breakfast and lunch outside.
The room we had was lovely with a great view and adequate facilities including coffee and tea making if required and fully carpeted also hair dryer and free sample shampoo, shower gel, and all the other bits. There is also a fridge and safe but these you have to pay for. The only minor problem we had was the shower which went from hot to cold at will. Not a lot of entertainment going on during the day and evening which when occurred was very poor. Not very much for young children no playground or kids club at the time we where there. Bottles of water were not included in our all inclusive package which is unusual.
Overall it was a very lovely holiday and I would return again.

Room Tip: ask for a pool side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennandlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Travelled to this resort with friends from Birmingham on the 2nd April 2014 for 7 nights, arrived early afternoon to a warm and friendly welcome from staff at reception.

Room was clean, good size, comfortable beds and great view.
Food was great with plenty of choice each night. The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Marios for always taking the time out to check that everything was ok with our meals and if we needed anything else.

Hotel location is very good, near to the beach, shops, restaurants and bus stops. If you like long walks this is the right location for you. ( I miss my early morning walks along the beach).

Island tour trip is recommended, amazing views at Troodos Mountain.

We took the Inter-city bus to Nicosa costing €9 return ( just under 1hr drive). Bus leaves from Protaras at 7.30am, later times are available from Paralimni.
The 3.30pm bus on the return journey stops at Protaras.

Resort was quiet at this time of the year however we still manage to have a good time.

Maria's Leather shop opposite KFC is great for handbags, wallets, purses etc.

Danny the entertainer was good, Fire show is one not to miss!!

Thanks to Elias for being so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too hard for him.

Thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our holiday an enjoyable one. We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Choose Front side sea view (overlooking pool area) for best sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simocamp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.5 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#10 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#15 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Address: Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#14 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#17 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#21 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the beach hotel of dreams! Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel is directly located on Protaras golden sandy beach and impressively overlooks the endless shades of blue stretching towards the horizon. An exclusive all seasons 5 star hotel with stylish accommodation, elegant atrium lobby and excellent service complement the wide range of activities and facilities. From you balcony you may enjoy the first sunrise in Europe and the panoramic view of the turquoise Mediterranean Sea. It is located in the heart of Protaras with a big selection of bars, shops and restaurants just a foodstep away. The quality accommodation, friendly staff, and relaxed ambiance make this hotel an all-round appeal for a perfect luxurious beach hotel. Guests return year after year to the popular Constantinos The Great. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantinos The Great
Constantinos Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing