We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Holiday Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alva Hotel Apartments
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I needed a much earned holiday break, and for our 25th wedding anniversary, we decided to book a two night getaway in Protaras. Seeing as we never went on a honeymoon, we wanted this to be our best holiday ever. Being in the travel and tourism industry in Cyprus for the last 22 years, I didn't want to stay in any of the 5 or 4 star hotels I had previously worked with, we wanted to be "incognito" without Hotel Managers trying to make sure that everything was perfect! We looked at apartments in the area of Protaras, close to Fig Tree Bay, our favourite beach. As we live in Cyprus, it's easier to make a phone call and book a reservation, but we used the internet for the first time, therefore we could only go by the photos and reviews of the apartments made by other guests. What I liked about the Alva Hotel Apartments, was that for each review, the Hotel Manager, Ms. Katerina Michaelidou, responded to each and every review, whether there were positive or negative remarks, and her responses showed that the feedback was being assessed and acted upon. Despite other apartments in the area being of same price etc, we determined that a hotel manager that takes the time to review comments and respond, means that the hotel apartments will be of the same high standard as the communication process used. We arrived at the hotel apartments on Thursday 30 August 2012, greeted by a very, very friendly receptionist, who was so polite and efficient, she informed us that we had been upgraded from a studio apartment to a one bedroom apartment, to which we were surprised in the least, and we went to our room, to see a spotless apartment, spacious, clean, tastefully decorated in earth colours that relaxed us immediately from the stress of daily life, we didn't even need to turn on the TV that was in the family room. The kitchen, had beautiful granite everywhere, and a balcony with the best seaview we've ever seen, right opposite our favourite "fig tree bay". We didn't want to leave the apartment! 5 hours after sitting on the balcony we decided to go for a walk and dinner. The shops, pubs, bars, restaurants, pharmacy, banks, were a doorstep away, not to mention the bus stops and taxi stations if one wanted to go anywhere. We had a car, and didn't need to move it from the hotel private parking until we left on Saturday 1st of September. The supermarkets next door are very cheap, the pubs and restaurants are very reasonably priced, and for Protaras, we were surprised at how inexpensive everything was. The next day we spent by the hotel pool, very clean as well as safe. The apartments were so quiet during the day and evening. We had a wonderful, relaxing time. The cleaning staff were wonderful, even asking us if we were enjoying our holiday when they would come to clean our apartment. When we checked out, at reception, the staff were asking us if we enjoyed our holiday, and to our surprise, one of the staff members, was the Hotel Manager, Ms Katerina Michaelidou, who's concern, together with her wonderful team, was that if we had a good time. We certainly did! Thanks to the Alva Hotel apartments.... a 3 minute walk to our favourite beach, a very, very clean apartment, a beautiful view from the balcony, comfort and luxury which I can honestly compare to some of the finest 5 star hotels I have stayed in on the island, but most of all, the quietness of the apartments and all the facilities, utensils, amenities one needs to live there forever! It was sad leaving, but we will be back, and very soon. Above all, it was "authentically perfect" as I did not mention to the hotel that I am in Tourism and Travel on the island!!!! Thank you Alva, and a special thanks to Marianna at reception for that beautiful welcome smile upon arrival and for her assistance throughout our stay, together with the other wonderful staff, and a special thanks to Ms Michaelidou for managing such a great team and great hotel apartment accommodation.

Room Tip: Sea view apartments will give you that 5 star feel, shade in the morning for that coffee on the balc...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your very kind comments regarding the hotel and its staff. It is always a pleasure to have guests who are pleasant and appreciative, like yourselves.
We hope its not another "25 years" before you visit us again!!
Good health and happiness to you both for the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for Alva Hotel Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 451 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a four night stay at the Alva Hotel Aparments in August 2012. When we arrived, we were shown to an apartment which my husband described as having 'less charm than a boarding school dormitory'. When we complained, we were upgraded to a suite which was wonderful. There was an extra cost involved but it was worth it. The suite was tastefully decorated in white and was modern.

The great attraction of these hotel apartments are their excellent location, a few metres from the famous Fig Tree Bay, a wonderful beach in the Protaras area. At night, restaurants, pubs and other night-life venues are just a stroll away. We also were able to visit other beaches in the area such as Konos and Makronissos.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite or a studio. Much, much nicer. And worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at the Alva. We hope you will return to stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stay at the Alva 29th July to 12th Aug, we arrived late at night after our flight was delayed for an hour and a half,we were greeted by a very friendly night porter who checked us in quickly and efficiently.we were upgraded to one of the new suites, which was a pleasant surprise! newly refurbished with white walls,white furnishings with grey accessories.The glassed walled bathroom has a huge walk-in shower big enough for two people,it has a rainfall shower head and also a separate shower hose, the bathroom also has twin sinks.Finishing touches were added while we were there..a brand new digital safe in the wardrobe( which ,by the way had plenty of storage room and more than enough coat hangers) and a new stool for the dressing table. These suites wouldn't look out of place in a 5* hotel.. they are absolutely beautiful .
All the staff are very friendly and helpful - the maids ..who work very hard, the girls at the pool bar..always smiling in the mornings at breakfast time,and the lovely ladies on reception ..who go out of their way to help with any thing.
All in all this is THE best hotel we've stayed at and i would recommend it to anyone.. we're definetly going to return next year,its a really gem of a place.
.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor..you get better views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cyprusmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us here at the Alva. We place a high value on comments we receive from our guests.
Your comments regarding the staff, including the maids, will be very much appreciated by them all.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent 5 days in August 2012 at a studio. It was our second time there, since we stayed last year as well, but this time I have some things to critigue.

To start with the positive, the location is very good, just opposite "Fig Tree" which is one of the beaches with the clearer waters. Within walking distance of all the main restaurants, beaches cafes, hotels of Protaras, with bus stops near by, for those without a car, and free parking for those bringing their own car. In addition it has a moderate swimming pool and offers breakfast, although one can find good breakfast cheaper at the restaurants near by. Furthermore the rooms are cleaned five days a week and the common areas daily.

Now to go to the negative, the building is a bit old but well reserved. Some parts of the room equipment, though, should have been changed...last year! The air-conditioning unit was very noisy, the bed lamps were broken and rapped up in tape and the showerhead was broken. To their credit, the technitian came right away and tried to fix what could be fixed, but the problem was just that: There comes a point when fixing is not enough! A replacement is needed!

Overall, I would go again and I would recommend it to others, but only at a good price. If the prices raise some variation wouldn't hurt...

Room Tip: It mostly has to do with what is inside the room, not the location. Avoid the rooms near the elevato...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheodorosTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at the Alva. We place a high value on comments received from our guests as they allow us to review the level of standards and services offered to our guests.

As many guests know, we have begun renovations at the hotel but this will take a few years to complete the whole project. We apologise for the damage to some of the items in the room (lampshades). We were awaiting replacements from the suppliers.

We would like to take this opportunity to point out to guests that if they find any faults (which may have been missed), we would be grateful if these could be reported to Reception so that these can be remedied immediately.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Excellent location, near the beautiful fig tree bay, near the bars and restaurants. You don’t have to take the car, all the facilities are within walking distance. Spacious apartment but the sewers smelled badly. Not very clean, I had to ask for the cleaning lady to come and do the room. The excuse was that there were too busy to clean! The baby cot did not have a mattress, there was no remote control for the tv, no hair drier (had to ask from the reception). Extra charge for the air con in the living room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Margarita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We thank you for your positive comments in your review; however, we wish to reply to the negative comments:

* We have never told any guest that our Maids are too busy to clean, that is their job which they carry out thoroughly and effeciently.

* The baby cots are Mothercare Travel Cots; they do have a mattress but they are not very thick.

* Television remote controls are kept at Reception because, as with other items, they are frquently taken from the rooms. The Receptionist should have given you a remote control and we apologise for the oversight.

* All our rooms have hairdryers but we have had one or two go missing recently. There are always spare ones kept at Reception, just in case!

With regard to other comments made, we have answered these in previous reviews so do not wish to repeat ourselves.

We hope you will come back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My first impression of the hotel was not that positive as our room was not cleaned properly upon our arrival. There was pubic hair in the bathtub and floor was not mopped. I did complain to reception and despite the lame excuse of the cleaners not having time to clean the room they were polite and apologetic. The cleaner immediately came in and did the bathroom and floor and from that day onwards the room was cleaned thoroughly. The lobby though had a real problem wth ventilation as the kitchen is nearby and every morning, noon and evening it smelled of food! Otherwise this hotel is located in the middle of Protaras, take a car there and you will forget it in the car park! The location is unbeatable, fig tree bay is right across the street and all the restaurants, shops and bars next to the hotel. Expect some noise from the nearby bars but if you turn on the aircond this should bother you :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for taking to let us have your impressions of your visit to our hotel. We wish to make the following comments to your observations:

* We have no record of anyone having complained of pubic hair in the bathtub but we do recollect a guest saying that they had found a few hairs on the floor in their room. It was myself the person spoke to and I apologised and said that it was very unusual for us to have complaints of this nature, but would send the maid back to the room immediately.

* Unfortunately, the main kitchen is connected to the reception area via a door, which may have been left open hence the smell of food in the reception.

* If the air condition unit in your room was noisy, if you had reported this our Maintainance Department would have attended to it.

We hope our comments have been helpful.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect. The appt. was spacious and convenient. The reception staff friendly and most helpful. The breakfast at the hotel not imaginative, but nourishing and inviting.The general atmosphere in the hotel respectable and peaceful. Accessibility of every facility and locality almost ideal.
comments:
extra charge for air-conditioning in living room.
half-board meant eating supper in an adjacent restaurant. Though it had a good menu and was very welcoming, why should we be committed to this one restaurant?
no internet in the appt, and internet time in the lobby was quite expensive.
an adequate array of all necessary equipment in kitchenette, but might have added some cleaning rag and cleaning liquid.
no soap or shampoo provided in the shower, things one expects to be provided with in a three star hotel, and does not bring along.
Still, I highly recommend the Alva for singles, couples and families. If I should plan for another vacation in that part of Cyprus, I'd certainly try and book it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
Thank Shlomo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comments regarding your stay at this hotel. We place a high value on comments received from our guests as they allow us to review the level of standard and service offered and take corrective action where appropriate.

We wish to respond to your comments, as follows:

* By law we have to provide one air condition unit in each apartment. This year, we started to place an additional unit in the 1 bedroom apartments. However, not all apartments have a second unit so we cannot include this in the price, and therefore they are charged separately.

* The Hotel's main restaurant is situated outside, directly in from of the hotel. This restaurant belongs to the hotel and is where the evening meals are served.

* As we are self catering apartments, it is not compulsory for us to provide soap (Cyprus Tourist Organinsation Laws). However, liquid soap is provided in all bathrooms in the hotel.

We hope you and your family will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,738 reviews
0.1 mi away
smartline Lantiana Gardens
smartline Lantiana Gardens
#34 of 65 in Protaras
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#20 of 65 in Protaras
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vangelis ApartHotel
Vangelis ApartHotel
#56 of 65 in Protaras
507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#25 of 65 in Protaras
411 reviews
4.1 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#47 of 65 in Protaras
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alva Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alva Hotel Apartments

Address: | PO.Box 30040, Protaras, Paralimni 5340, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#26 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: $53 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alva Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alva Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alva Hotel Protaras
Alva Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing