We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - A hotel that deserves its 5* rating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Well what can I say... Having stayed at Beaches Turks & Caicos in December I thought that no hotel in Europe could impress me as much......how wrong was I..... what an absolutely fabulous place.
Arrival - On arrival I was a little disappointed. Whilst the hotel had an air about it it looked a little lost being so far set back. Was impressed with the porters racing out to help with our bags. Receptionist an absolute gem. In fact all receptionists were welcoming; warm; friendly; and when speaking to you they were speaking to you not watching anyone waiting behind etc. A lovely complementary fruit juice whilst checking in was just the ticket. We booked a sea view - which is well worth it and the view from 827 was superb. The hotel is made up of the main block which is only 4 floors high and a few little blocks 2/3 floors but in set of 5/6 rooms wide. With a number of pools its a big place but designed so it keeps its exclusive feel. Excellent design. One hotel where we instinctively said we would return as soon as we got in our room - which is not a normal occurrence as we can be a bit picky!!
Rooms - These were the largest I have seen as a sea view double! The bed ohhhhh if I could have took the bed and pillows home I would - slept like a baby all holiday. Bathrooms large marble and overhead showers which were just the ticket. Chambermaids excellent at their jobs and although they were around they seemed elusive - we never were disturbed by them at all. Great idea with the button system for do not disturb and please clean room.
Adult Pool- just the best system. When you arrive you go to pool attendant who allocates you your sunbeds where you want and they are yours for your stay. Simple but Brilliant. We were by the adult pool. Towels are given to you at the start and you keep these for the duration (changing them for fresh towels when you need). All pools were perfect temperature and clean. The short walk from the poolside to sea meant we were perfectly placed. No crowds to contend with when sunbathing but sea on tap!!!!!! Excellent location. And so glad to sea they have showers to clean off before coming back onto grounds again. Also good to see that the pool attendants were doing their job properly. A few people (usually new be's) let their children get in the adult pool without reading the sign but it didn't take long the pool guys were there showing them to the childrens pool - which I might add was not your average toddler pool! 3 cheers for the pool waiters/waitresses. Especially one young lad - always smiling/giving the thumbs up asking if you were ok - nothing a problem. Looking back at the hotel from the sea - it looks like a little secret place in between two rather larger hotels on either side and yet when in the grounds it seemed endless space!!!!! Oh and don't forget to return your towel on the last day as it is marked off as returned when checking out and they release the beds for the new people. We forgot and left our towels on our bed so it caused a little confusion but all was good in the end.
Food - Well now you are talking - We LOVE our food. And the food here was superb. Yes it was abuffet style but so different. Not piles of food on dishes and not mountains of the stuff. Exquisitely cooked food (more a la carte) stragetically placed on buffet ceramic servers - maybe 20 pieces each time - just constantly being freshly cooked and replenished. Breakfasts of every description and evening meals fit for a princess. The dine around facility is brilliant. Wish we had longer than a week - Fishbone restaurant mmmmm to die for. Scallops in Sambuca followed by lobster with spaghetti - yes spaghetti. It works ...well. This is the one restaurant where you are given a credit against your meal as it is very exclusive and yeah... a little more expensive. However the other 3 choices; Kykklos(Greek); Marcello's(Italian) and Reef Grill you get a 3 course meal and only pay for drinks. Great idea whomever developed it. Kykklos is a fab Greek restaurant the lamb in vine leaves sooo worth the flight! We must say we were so impressed with the hotel food that we didn't even make Marcellos - sorry!. A special mention just has to go to M'aitre De - Thanos. This gentleman is certainly a major asset to the hotel. He has that personal touch about him. No matter who he spoke to he gave you his full and undivided attention; showing the level of interest that made you feel like he was a friend you had known for years. Its very hard to explain but it is a very rare quality in a person. I even overheard him remembering a couple who had been there the year before! Something to be proud of.

The overall thing for me that stood this hotel out from many others I have been to over the years had to be the staff. Their politeness; attentiveness; friendliness; the 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude; their professionalism and generally their whole outgoing demeanour. The owners of this hotel have in my opinion bought together the recipe for years of success.

Fab idea with vouchers for the spa - oh yes just had to. Superb! Maybe a deal could be struck to get money off watersports too some day!

Just as an aside - as if I couldn't gush about this hotel any more - it was great to see the management of this hotel visible too not just sitting in their offices. Gave the impression that they were making sure their standards were always being checked on. - well one.

Ok gushing over - yes it was fab and yes we will be back and yes - try it for yourselves.

Room Tip: Sea Views definitely worth it. Not so sure if I'd spend out on swim up rooms - don't think...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
There are newer reviews for Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Sunrise Pearl Hotel for 10nights in July 2013, and i must say, this is the first hotel we've stayed at where we would return year after year....

Everything from the Junior Suite, to the pools, restaurants or complex, this hotel is unbelievable.

We stayed Half Board, so alternated lunch or dinner as our HB option. This meant we could eat out on the strip.

The HB restaurants were outstanding. We were not fussed about the buffet dinners in the Waterfall, so ate there once.

The Fishbone restaurant was amazing, the Black Cod was out of this world.
The Reef is next door at Sunrise Beach, and was a typical American diner, nice Steak and big portions if that's what you're after.
The Greek Restaurant on the strip was nice and friendly
Marcelos is supposed to be the best, but we didnt go there.

The hotel has a great idea of reserving your sunbeds for the whole duration of the stay - very handy and you dont have to get up early and reserve beds!!

The swim-up pool was perfect for the Junior Suites and only 4 rooms have access to this pool - worth the money!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevehaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I must say this is my first holiday in Cyprus so I can only compare with holidays in other places.

===Hotel:
We are used to village type resort and we don't really like "one massive building hotels", we couldn't find any in Cyprus at the time. Sunrise Pearl is a "one building hotel"(i.e. not village), but it is the smallest around, this was a big plus for us (don't like crowded places).

=====Room:
We got a room with limited sea view (316) which to be honest we were surprised at the view as it was quite nice, not a front view but a good one nevertheless.
The room was very well maintained large spacios luminous great looking bathroom - just amazing, the best we ever had in a 5*. The room was also modern, well equipped with tech and gadgets. You had a separate "sockets set" for input into audio video. Audio RC jack, HDMI in all wired into the television and the rest of the room audio (there is a audio speaker in the bathroom). They also provided a audio male-male cable so I was able to listen to my music throughout.

=====Staff:
I can not stress enough how much out of their way they would go to make you feel comfortable and well cared for.
Eva from fishbone restaurant with her big smile, always made us feel welcome. Andreas, Eliade and George from the waterfall restaurant, maitres Thanos and many others I don't recall the names now - thank you for making our holiday so pleasant.
They take the job very seriosly, it doesn't feel just like a job/chore to them. They actually take proud in what they are doing and are doing it very well.
Anyway was very pleased, best staff we ever had to deal with.

=====Pools:
There is an adult pool and a kids pool. Personally didn't care much for either of them as we enjoyed the beach much more.
Based on other holiday resports (i.e. Aldemar Royal Mare, Crete) these pools were small comparing, having said that the hotel was much smaller.

=====Beach:
Since it was our first time in Cyprus , there is one very important thing we didn't know (having said that never checked if it is true or not). In Cyprus all the beaches are public, they do not have private beaches and they are all opened to the public. As a result they get quite crowded especially in weekends and on school holidays - which was unfortunately when we got there. I must admit within the first hours of arrival we were literraly devastated when we realised that the beach is public. It was a Sunday afternoon and the beach was very, very crowded.
Having come to our terms with this fact we were able to continue and enjoy our holiday. So if you want to be alone - this is not a place for you.

The water is the clearest we've seen in Europe, clarity wise it was as clear as in Maldives. The water was really, really amazing, calm warm its hard to describe. When you get to the beach and enter the water you forget about everything, you don't care its public and crowded - its amazing.

======Night live
The hotel is located on the high street in Protaras where all the other hotels and restaurants, shops, pubs are so people tend to go for a walk on the main street and chose the kind of entertainment they prefer. We haven't seen any night clubs - I believe you would need to go to Aya Napa for that.

======Tips:
If you are traveling with Thomsons we recommend you book their Catamaran trip -it is very nice indeed.

======Sugestions for improvements to hotel manageent.
The below observations are just the "cherry" on top. Nothing of these were bad enough or annoying enough to bring down our holiday.

-separate entrance/exit for the beach/pool. Curentelly for the main building you have to go through the main recepton area every time you need to go to your room, and is not really a place to go when we are beach-dressed.

-Dinner pianist - bring him/them more often the one night they plaied, it was amasing, we could've stayed there all night. Or even better put him in the chillout area / bar off the main restaurant so that one can quickly finish his meal (clear the tables quickly), and move to a more confortable area with a drink to listen to the piano.

-induction on the first day (access to the pool, on site store)

===Would we come again.
Currently we are exploring and we never repeat - so maybe in the future.

===Would I recomend to my friends.
Definitely, but I would prepare them for public and crowded beach, because that was the downside of the amazing waters.

Room Tip: I don't think the sea view is really worth it since you have a very good view in the partial sea...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Touristka100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went here with a friend for an afternoon. We used the vouchers available in the Entertainer book which consisted of a 55 minute Kodo massage and the 75 minute Aqua Thermal Journey. There was a slight error in the type of massage booked but the receptionist easily fixed that on arrival. Could not fault the service or the treatments. Staff where friendly and helpful. The Aqua Thermal Journey was fantastic €35 for 75 minutes of pure relaxation. Starting with a foot bath then moving through different heat and water experiences with the high density salt pool making you floating like a starfish! The same excellent service went for the massage and the therapist had me on the brink of a relaxing sleep in minutes. The only thing that I felt really let it down was that we weren't able to use the outdoor swimming pool, this was due to it only being for hotel guests. I would have thought as paying spa guests we would be able to make it a relaxing day rather than just an afternoon and after traveling 2 hours to get to the hotel in the first place. Maybe this is something that could be looked at?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrincessKimmyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

After a 2 weeks stay at the Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa, we can only say: Perfect.
Coming from rather cold Norwegian climate, we have highly appreciated 14 days of warmth, both from the sun and from a fantastic staff.
At arrival, we were welcomed with cooling drinks in the sleek and modern lobby. We were introduced to our lovely room and in detail explained how everything worked.
The hotel is exceptionally located on the edge of the beach and there is a great system with assigned sunbeds. Thus we avoided the "early morning towel run competition". You can choose to have sunbeds on the sand, on the grass or by the pool.
We had half board on the hotel with breakfast and evening buffet. The food was very good with a lot of "goodies" to choose among.
However, the restaurant staff is what made our stay so fantastic. They have a lovely way to combine their highly professional job with a personal and private care for the guests. And in front: Mr. Thanos, the always smiling gentleman to whom no problem is unsolvable. These are the true pearls of The Sunrise Pearl Hotel.
We hope to return to this hotel and do not hesitate to warmly recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea view is very nice!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the sunrise pearl hotel and spa last week . I have to say it was a perfect stay and the staff were amazing and the hotel was so immaculate in every detail , rooms were cleaned everyday without fail. Staff are so helpful and obviously trained to the upmost quality. The hotel is quite obviously run by a team and team leader who knows what they are doing . The pools were beautiful beach gorgeous . Loads to do and the food was absolutely Devine , so much choice and high quality chefs. Would definitely recommend as a couple it was so relaxing and want to thank everyone for there hospitality. !!! Excellent !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bpinkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just returned from 9 night stay in this beautiful hotel. We live in Dubai so are quite wary of hotels in Europe as we are so totally spoilt in Dubai by everything! BUT, this hotel equals anything here in Dubai! The staff/service are both 5 star, all staff are so attentive and can't do enough for you. Special mention has to go to Thanos, a fantastic Matre D and a special mention to the staff at Mistral at lunch time, Anna, Jenka, and Suzana (with her lovely cheeky smile) to mention but a few. We were only B&B but did try all the restaurants at the hotel inc. the Fish restaurant which is good, Eva is very knowledgeable though prices are a little steep!
We found the service from the bar area around the pool very good, Constantina and the others are all lovely and friendly. Only little complaint is that drinks (alcoholic or not) are a little too expensive.
Maria, the entertainments girl is lovely and friendly, we loved the quiz by the pool in the afternoons - just given a sheet of questions and you fill in, in your time on your lounger - nice and relaxing.
Re the loungers, great idea having allotted beds, the pool guys really do their best to seat you where you want.
Do agree with others on the 'turn down' service - love it and the Lindt choccie but way too early.
Also, agree with some other write ups on the A/C - doesn't go low enough in the room - we mentioned to reception and someone came and cleaned filter but made no difference.
One other point is 'late check-out' - we asked for late check on the day we arrived and were informed they'd let us know the morning we were due to leave. We were more than prepared to pay so did kind of expect to get it, especially as we'd given 9 days notice. On the morning we were leaving we were told we could have 2pm but did eventually manage to stretch it to 2.50pm! We only wanted 5pm but seemingly this just wasn't possible although right up until we left, never saw anyone check in as were sat in reception! Just kind of spoilt a really wonderful holiday.
Would definitely go back - can't wait!!

Room Tip: High floor if you want a sea view - worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#5 of 65 in Protaras
1,966 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,109 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#17 of 65 in Protaras
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa

Address: | P.O. Box 33043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range: $229 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing