We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CHEAP NO FRILLS BREAK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sweet Memories

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweet Memories
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“CHEAP NO FRILLS BREAK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

We have just returned from Sweet Memories, and as expected it was basic a bit dated but clean and had all we needed for a self catering holiday. We had a one bedroom apartment on the forth floor in block one. It was spacious, but the noise from the main road was not what you want for a relaxing break,
The staff seemed friendly enough, but I think putting bags full of shopping in your room is a bit cheeky. Basics such as bread and milk were not included, just lots of cans of coke, mars bars and beer , not what you want 8am. Although prices are resonable.
We would recommend Steens bar/restaurant lovely home made food and genourous portions. Also Nameless restaurant on the main road again great food at good prices, and across the road just past Mr Cod try Dee Jays music bar nice sandwiches, burgers and large bottles of Keo for 1.50 ( cheaper than the super markets )
The beach is alot further than the 750 metres stated in the hotel description its at least a mile. The small bays towards Penera are less crowded.
All togeather we were happy with what we got for the price we paid, but would not like to think we had paid the brochure price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyrevill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    109
    54
    15
    20
See reviews for
101
150
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed here for a week in a one bedroom apt. Really enjoyed our stay - the apartments are a bit dated and basic but clean and spacious with nice big balcony. The pool area was lovely - not too crowded with comfortable sun beds and the pool bar was good for lunch and drinks. Service was friendly. Location was great - a 10 minute walk into the centre of Protaras which meant it was quiet at night.
Nearby restaurants were also good, especially Super S and Anatolia - def worth a visit. Be careful of dinner venues on the main street in Protaras - we had a couple of disappointing meals in Hippocampus and La Basilico. Some restaurants tend to cater to fairly basic palates that prefer pictures on the menu.
We hired a car for some exploring - Troodos mountains including the Kaledonia waterfall trail and Lefkara village were the highlights. We were disappointed that travelling into Northern Cyprus in our rental car was not covered by our car insurance as we had planned to visit several places there.
The only downside to the apartments were the uncomfortable beds and pillows. The bed had a waterproof fitted sheet over the mattress which made it hot and uncomfortable at times.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

Me and my partner have been to cyprus several times now and have stopped at alot of different hotels, we have walked past sweet memories a few times while walkin up to the top of st elias and always thought what a dive it looked..... never judge a book by its cover is a lesson we learnt this holiday, it was quite the opposite of what we thought, on arrival at 8:30pm we was greeted by a very happy bubbly character called lisa, who showed us to our room. the room was basic had what u needed and very clean, there was a welcome pack with bits of food and drink. the 6pk of water was cheap, we couldnt find it any cheaper and so was alot of the food in it. th bf was very good value and nice, we ate there most mornings but also went to a restuarant called kartanas in penera for breakfast which is amazing too we ate ther one evening aswell and was brilliant. We spent alot of time relaxing by the pool it was lovley and quiet as it was start of season not too busy at all. sweet memories is in an ideal location as its in the middle of a lovely walk down the main strip in protaras and a lovely walk to the lovely beaches and restraunts in penera, recommended in penera is a pub called davidos lovely food and service from terry and louis. an italian called nautilus which was amazing and the blue bay restraunt which is well hidden but amazing. we went to a restraunt down the main strip in protaras, it was a bit of a walk but was well worth it best kleftiko weve ever had, nicolas tavern is a must for anybody stayin in or around protaras. each evening we went back to the hotel bar, enjoyed the comapny of lisa who works behind the bar she has a great personality and was such a laugh, caroline who works on the reception was lovely too these two ladies were brill!!!!!!. As we went start of season it was quiet and not alot of entertainment on an evening at the hotel but if theres not enough people what can u expect them to do about it!!! not alot, when more people arrived we had a bbq night the food was nice and there was an entertainment duo called the outragous misfits and they were comical never seen anything like them if u get to see them go because they were just brilliant. we really enjoyed our holiday and stay at sweet memories and would stay there again if me and my partner went on our own again we usually go all inclusive with the kids but for a self catering holiday on our own it was brilliant thanks to everyone that made our holiday special Lisa, Caroline and the amazing family we met out there Adelle Time and there beautiful girls lilly and lola xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

This is my first time to write a review although i have been on many holidays. This was my first time in cyprus and the sweet memories hotel. i arrived in hotel at 8.00 am to a very friendly, heplful receptionist called caroline. The room was large and airy and very clean, the cleaning staff were in regular and were also very friendly and helpful. Lisa, who runs the bar was brilliant at her job and made everyone feel so welcome and at home, she deserves a promotion. I was supposed to be there for one week but due to the volcano i was there for three weeks. All the staff made my extended stay an extremely memorable one with the inclusion of sami, the olympic rep. People who were moved from the five star + hotels due to the volcano and having to stay another week said they were treated better by the staff of sweet memories. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Again all staff were fantastic especially Lisa and Caroline who are an asset to the hotel. From the irish girls room 311

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishgirls311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

We have stayed at the Sweet Memories twice before and travelled with our parents and a friend, who have been going for thirteen years. I can understand why people return year on year, as it is one of the most friendly places I have ever visited. The one bedroomed apartments are large in size. Although basic, they have everything we needed for our two week stay, which turned out to be three, due to the volcanic eruption in Iceland. We couldn't have been looked after any better and were able to keep our apartments for the week we were stranded. Sami the Olympic rep was brilliant and went round everyone personally twice a day to keep us informed of the latest developments. Lisa and Caroline were extremely efficient, helpful and friendly and even arranged extra entertainment to keep moral up. The breakfasts were the best value and quality in Protaras and the hotel food good, although limited in choice. The Super S restaurant a few doors away serves excellent food with friendly service and is good value for money. The Anatolia is also a good place to eat with good food and offering set menus. The Malmia pub a few minutes stoll away offers a warm and friendly welcome to all its customers and shows all sports. As we stayed at the beginning of the season, there was a limited amount of bars and restaurants open in the resort, but there was enough for us and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere at this time of the year. The pool area in the hotel is kept lovely and clean and there are plenty of sunbeds and parasols, but be warned the water is rather cold in April although it gets much warmer during the Summer months. I would definitely recommend these apartments if you are looking for a holiday where the staff cannot do enough for you and you want to have a great holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithsRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterlestreet
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

The first holiday in twelve years saw us travelling following much research on Trip Advisor to Sweet Memories.
We found ourselves in a lovely hotel with an extremely welcoming smile from Carolyn in reception who booked us in efficiently and showed us to our rooms. After a tiring flight, we were grateful for a clean and well decorated room.
The next day, we were greeted by the fabulous Lisa!!!!! She can make even the most miserable laugh until it hurts. The pool and surroundings were clean and inviting.
I met Cosmos the night porter, who I have to say is a gentleman and always greets you with a smile and spends the time to get to know you. You don't find that in any other hotel, as many other tourists commented when they joined us when their flights were cancelled due to the volcanic ash.
Sammy the rep was fabulous. You really appreciate having a professional on the job when things go wrong (volcanic ash). The second week (which was not part of the holiday) saw us invaded by other visitors from other hotels that were 5* AI. These people became part of the family, as that is how it feels at sweet memories. The owner Demetri, opened his rooms for these new arrivals and they were cleaned and ready in a day!! That is a feat in itself! Demetri is a friendly, considerate gentleman who knows how to treat his staff!
I enjoyed every moment of my unexpected extended holiday. This was due to the fact that all the staff at Sweet Memories are friends now and always will be. Thank you for making everything perfect!XX

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules21jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

I was worried about travelling alone because of security issues, but this place was really safe and family orientated. The staff, a mix of locals and Brits are very friendly and pretty much help you with anything that you need if not at least they give a lot of information to help you with. I left my apartment unlocked most times and never ever had anything missing for 3 weeks. Their restaurant and bar provide a cheap alternative especially when we all got stranded for a week and ran out of cash and their mini shop is the cheapest in the area. Of course the best bit is the swimming pool, I just felt like it was mine as I have such a spectacular view of it the entire time, mind it's not heated and can be cold in spring. The pool is also protected by a building that it is relatively more comfortable than outside the hotel during chilly windy days. The hotel is 10-15 minute walk from the beach which provides a good stroll in the area and a welcome exercise for sunbathers not to mention away from all the noise from the Strip which is 5-15 min walk. From my room I have a spectacular view of the church up the hill and see the golden red suset too although that wouldn't be the case for everyone. When it's not a busy season, just for added comfort best to request for rooms not next to the road although the road is never really busy and noisy. I really had an awesome time and special thanks to Lisa and Caroline they definitely serve you with a smile, giggles more like even if they haven't slept a wink.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurabegoodplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.2 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#23 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artemis Hotel Apartments
Artemis Hotel Apartments
#45 of 66 in Protaras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
#22 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seagull Apartments
Seagull Apartments
#39 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anais Bay Hotel
Anais Bay Hotel
#20 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alva Hotel Apartments
Alva Hotel Apartments
#25 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Memories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Memories

Property: Sweet Memories
Address: Protaras Road, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Protaras
#25 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sweet Memories 2*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sweet Memories reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Memories Protaras
Sweet Memories Cyprus
Sweet Memories Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing