We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean accommadation”
Review of Sweet Memories

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweet Memories
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Very clean accommadation, basic but couldnt fault the cleanliness of these apartment we had a 1 bed apartment which was very spacious, good view over pool and up to church, view from back out to sea (room333) Food in complex very good and very competative on price of supermarkets. excellent location only 10 min walk to strip. Would definatly go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank elliebelly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 381 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

stayed here 1/10/2011-15/10/2011 large clean basic room no tv or microwave but i can live without both 10 min walk to main strip in protaras found staff to be very helpful and friendly lovely little night porter handed our keys over in the early hours every morning really nice inviting pool area great for a basic place to base yourself

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d-k-milton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Clean apartments with proper bathrooms that don’t flood.
When you arrive in your room there is a bag of essentials such as tea, coffee, cereal, milk, water etc which you can buy or give back (toilet roll is included in the price of your stay); the items are reasonably priced. The rooms are cleaned regularly and the towels are changed 2/3 times in a week.
The staff are friendly and always willing to help. The food menu at the bar is good and very reasonably priced. The Sunday roast is great value with a dessert and drink included.
The sun beds are free to use and the pool was very clean. The beach is a 10 minute walk from the apartments; Ayia Napa is about a 20 minute bus ride away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cleo3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We went to Sweet Memories on the 29th Aug 2011 for 10 nights, I know a lot of people who had been there in the past, So i was well prepared, THIS SAVED ME TIME AND A LOT OF MONEY
For those people who have not been to Protaras or to Sweet memories, here are so tips and things you might find usefull, hopefully saving you time and money

The pool and pool area is great and clean and big enough for the hotel, plenty of sun loungers and tables with umberellas. great sun trap all day

The rooms are Clean and basic, NO TV, NO OVEN OR GRILL, kitchen appliences in most rooms are past there sell by date, fridges, freezer's, toasters etc but just about do the trick

Lifts are small and for those with pushchairs/buggys, you may struggle to get them in the lift if they are of a big size or twin. Also be prepared to be on the top floor, even though we have a 3 year old "who thinks he's spiderman!" and a baby, we were put on the top floor, Our 3 year old almost went over due to climbing. And its high, very high!

Entertainment in the hotel is not very good, odd bingo/karaoke (WORSTE KARAOKE EVER) night and bbq night (RIP OFF), none of which i would reccomend. better on the strip just a 10 min walk away (out of the hotel and walk left) but if you fancy a quiet 1 in the hotel then id go for bingo night as the prizes are high,, 300 euros jackpot. There is a childrens play area and a few electronic games (SOMETIMES WORKING, SOMETIMES NOT) for toddlers and 2 pool tables (NO CHALK AND ONLY 1 QUE WITH A TIP!),, all are ok i suppose, keep the kids occupied for an hour or 2.

FOOD

The food in the hotel is lovely, lovely english sausages and bacon, food is very nice and priced fairly, BIG Breakfasts 6 Euros, Chips and Chicken/BEEF Burger 7 Euros,, although i would reccomend taking a trip to the large supermarket about 10 mins away (directions i will put at the end of this review), this sells food VERY CHEAP, so we got a few tins of HEINZ baked beans (1 euro each) and some bread (1 Euro) and some other bits and pieces, butter, milk, drinks, cheese, ham, etc and saved ourselvs a fortune by cooking breakfast ourselvs, REMEMBER, dont buy any food what needs the oven or microwave or grill (there is none). and the freezer is TINY, We would make beans on toast and then go to the bar and order 10 cooked sausages for us all to share (7 EUROS FOR THEM ALL) and then add them to our breakfast,, Also as i said, stock up on fizzy drinks from the large supermarket if you intend to drink a lot of them, We bought about 40 little bottles of diet coke and kept them in the fridge, we also got 10 large bottles of water, again stick them in the fridge, AGAIN THIS WILL SAVE YOU A FORTUNE

FAST FOOD
There is a (KFC TURN LEFT 5 min walk), and MCdonalds (TURN LEFT10 min walk) and pizza hut (20 mins walk half way down the strip), all are priced fairly.. pizza hut do give you 50% off on your second visit, so look out for a voucher to take on your first visit!

There are lots and lots of lovely resteraunts all within 30 mins walk, fish n chips, sunday roasts, italian, indain, chinese (bottom of the strip, best chinese resteraunt you will ever see!!), Greek, Steaks, you name it, you can eat it, great for kids, lots of resteraunts have play areas for the kids and bouncing castles
Drinks at the hotel are expensive if you drink branded alcahol, drink there own brands KEO Lager - 2 euros 80 etc. even cheaper on the strip,, 2 euros some places, 1 euro 50 at the odd bar a pint.

THINGS YOU MAY FIND USEFULL

to the left of the hotel, 3 min walk, best crazy golf you will ever play, childrens go karts, childrens electronic boats, trampoline with harnes for children, lots and lots of slot machines/ electronic games,

to the left of the hotel 5 min walk you hot the resteraunts and a few bars, you pass KFC and then more bars resteraunts, then you hit mcdonalds after 15 mins and that is the top of the strip, then its none stop bars, resteraunts, tribute shows, lady gaga's amy winehouses, elvis, neil diamond, blues brothers, comedians, karaokes, discos,, etc,, THERE ARE NO STAG PARTS, NO HEN PARTYS,, it is FAMILY FAMILY FAMILY, every place is designed for familys, they dont have fighting, drugs, you feel 100% safe

to the right of the hotel is nothing for about 20 mins, and then after 20 mins there still isnt much, your in pernena, a few bars and resteraunts, not worth going to, turn left instaed, Although there is a small water park in pernena, PERFECT for small children and toddlers, lots of small slides and the odd bigger slide for adults and children,, I would reccomend this to anyone with small childrem, very very cheap to get in 2,, if walking there is a short cut to cut through, saving you walking all the way round to it, you will most likely only realize this like me untill after. hopefully you will find it, it makes your walk 10 mins instaed of 25 mins in 38 degrees!,, ask in the first shop you come to as you turn right out of the hotel for the water park in pernana and they might point the shortcut out to you. if you cant find the shortcut going. ask the lady at the pay station on your way out of the water park and tell her your staying at sweet memories and she will show you.

if changing your money, change it in hotels, they offer the best rate, sweet memories is ok, if you need a bank, the best bank, turn left out of hotel and keep walking, dont turn down on to strip, carry strreight on for 2 mins and its there, CITY BANK,

ayenappa in a taxi should cost no more than 20 euros,, there is a large waterpark there which is out of this world but not much for small children,, its more for adults and children 6 years + and is expensive, some taxi companys give you money off vouchers,, try to get these for waterpark, save you £££££

Transfers to and from airport 70 euros AND ABOUT 45 MINS unless your on a coach and may take longer due to drop offs etc,, "go transfer" are very cheap, thats who we used, and they are english and drive safe and are one of only a few who use baby seats and booster seats,, google them "GO TRANSFER PROTARAS" they also do a supermarket trip, they take you to the large CHEAP supermarket, leave you an hour and come back and get you,, DO THIS ASAP, or get a taxi, but just go and stock up ASAP

CLOSEST MINI SUPERMARKET, AGAIN NOT AS CHEAP AS THE LARGE ONE, streight accross the road from sweet memories to the right at the side of the snooker/pool hall, the old lady is lovely, she gave us free ice for our drinks and gave my son a free toy car, very friendly,

AIR CON - AIR CON IS CHARGED AT 5 EUROS PER DAY FOR YOUR ROOM, BUT........
THERE ARE 2 AIR CONDITIONING UNITS IN YOUR ROOM, ITS 5 EUROS "PER UNIT", SO IF YOU WANT BOTH UNITS ON IN YOUR ROOM, IE IN YOUR BEDROOM AND LIVING ROOM, ITS 10 EUROS PER DAY

Reception staff can be rude at times, try to get Caroline, she is a lovely English lady who will do her best to help you, the young cyprus girl may not be so friendly!

The food and drink they leave you when you arrive, You must take this back down to reception within 24 hours of your arrival otherwise they will charge you, we added the BAGS of shopping up and we would have blown 150 euros By keeping it,, its about 5 euros per bottle of water, and there is everything but the kitchen sink that they leave you, in hope you buy,, or forget OR DONT REALIZE, they will be funny when you give it them back but unless you have money to burn i would advise you take it back as its 10 times the cost of the large supermarket, and half of it is what guest have left behind!.,, also BE AWARE- its hard work if your on the top floor like us,, carrying bags upon bags of shopping down in 38 degrees, hard work

be carefull of the cats, they are everywhere around the sweet memories complex, i dont know why but everywhere you look, theres a cat!, even more so if you eat around the bar area.

ALSO - dont leave any money or valuble itmes in your room AT ANY TIME, ill leave it at that,

best resteraunt in protaras, turn left out of hotel walk 5 mins, look for the resteraunt that is always busy, its busy because the food id out of this world and fair priced, you will know which resteraunt it is, its busy every single night, and the is usualy a man outside inviting you in, its well worth it,. also let you use there WIFI free of charge... perfect for IPHONERS's or other mobiles which have internet,,

the fobs on your room keys are welded on, this is to stop you leaving your aircon on as when you take the fob out of the insert point in your room it cust the electric,, we got lucky and was able to take the fob off the keys so we could leave the aircon on all the time,, i would advise you to do the same if you are lucky enough to get a detachable fob!.,, but like i say they are usualy WELDED ON with the hardest metel you have ever seen,

LOOK OUT FOR THE MICHAEL JACKSON TRIBUTE - 1 WORD - AMAZING

there is also the dancing waters (on the strip) and small sea life place (dont know where that was),, we didnt go but heard they wernt worth the money

you do get a better rate of exchange when your there, back home it was 1.11 over in cyprus we got 1.15 exchange rate,, (IN THE HOTELS)

if wanting to hire a car,, they drive on same side of road, you can hire bikes, scooters, cars, open top quads thingys!,, all caan be hired locally

TO SUM UP!

if you are a picky or fussy person then the sweet memories is not for you,, It isnt the best hotel and is only 2 stars, but we paid £300 for 10 days self catering, but what more could you expect, our rooms were clean and cleaned every 2 days, The location is perfect, quiet at nights so you can sleep but only 10 mins from the action, Protaras is FAMILY FAMILY FAMILY, and we love that, no idiots, no drugs, no fighting, a great atmosphere, full of like minded families like us, we are not posh, we are very down to earth, our kids loved it, and we would return to sweet memoiries over and over again, we loved it, obviosly there are better hotels ie, "capo bay£ but this hotel about £2000 per week, if you want a good base, and are a down to earth family, couple or person and can make do and ignore the little things then you will love SWEET MEMORIES

Room Tip: try your upmost to get a ground floor room, beg, plead, lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank adtuk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

visited sweet memories in July 2011. booked alocation on arrival and was allocated this hotel self catering. Arrived Late and we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who guided us to our ground floor apartment overlooking the pool.This is a small friendly hotel. The apartment was clean and a bag of essential items were on the table. Tea, coffee,milk, bread, jam, cornflakes ect. Any of the items cold be returned and we were charged for the items we used. Air conditoning was extra and charged per room. We just paid for the bedroom. Safety boxes are in the reception charged weekly. Nearly all guests at the hotel had been there before and most were British. The pool was very nice, lots of sun loungers so no need for reserving with towels. We had the full breakfast in the hotel (£4 each) and ate out every evening. Protaris has excellent resturants and an average meal for 2 adults and a 9 year old came to £35 including 1 round of drinks. Great loacation! short walk to the main strip and to Fig Tree Bay( an amazing beach).
Entertainment at the hotel was Bingo!! followed by karekoke 3 days a week.
Suited us as we like clean accomadation, friendly staff, pool, and good location. We will go back

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrythekangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

me and my husband, stayed at sweet memories ,first holiday in cyprus ,sweet memories apartments were brilliant ,not a bad word to say . spotlessly cleand ,friendly and close to the main street ,just a short walk away .went to the malmia pub most nights on the way back to the apartments, lovelly friendley bar ,and then on to te bar in sweet memories for cocktails . lovely place ,coming again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliebilly1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

i just recently came back from sweet memories apartments augu 2011 wit my partner, the hotel was very basic but it was nice place to stay, the pool was very clean and nice and cool, the staff are very friendly, we didnt sit around there much because we had family else where but we had a meal an it was really nice food, the rep was friendly and are rooms was clean, there is alot of resturants an shops near but if u want the bars an pubs its about 10 min walk but a lovley walk, theres a nice little baby pool and a small arcade and a little slide an play area under shelter so good for children. would stay again

Room Tip: room 153 was very cool witout air con because theres a window an door at each end of apartment so wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.2 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#22 of 65 in Protaras
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artemis Hotel Apartments
Artemis Hotel Apartments
#47 of 65 in Protaras
359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seagull Apartments
Seagull Apartments
#45 of 65 in Protaras
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
#30 of 65 in Protaras
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Evalena Beach Hotel Apartments
3.1 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#50 of 65 in Protaras
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Memories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Memories

Address: Protaras Road, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Hotel Class:2 star — Sweet Memories 2*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Sweet Memories reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Memories Protaras
Sweet Memories Cyprus
Sweet Memories Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing