We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Iliada Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iliada Beach Hotel
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Caerphilly
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

What a fantastic hotel!!!!! Great location, in the centre of everything, and the beach is practically at the end of the garden. The pool was lovely, not freezing cold, you could jump straight in, and there were plenty of sunbeds around the pool and in the garden area. We found all the staff friendly and very helpful. We paid the extra to have a room with a sea view, well worth the money in our opinion. We booked with Direct Holidays and Our holiday rep. Luke provided an excellent service, and was always around if you needed him. We went half board and the food was fabulous.There was an excellent choice for breakfast. Christina would make fresh omellettes with the fillings of yoir choice. There was also fried, scrambled or boiled eggs, bacon, english sausages, beans, tomatoes etc. Also a good selection of cereals, yoghurts, toast , marmalade, jams, cakes, fresh fruit and fruit juices. The beds were a bit hard, but other than that everthing was perfect. Towels and bedding were changed daily. I cannot comment on the fitness equipment, pool tables or table tennis as we did not use them. Don't listen to the moaners, you just cannot please some people. We were so impressed and had such a fantastic holiday that we are going back next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    181
    104
    55
    30
See reviews for
203
231
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed at this hotel again ( 6th time ), we just think this hotel is great,the staff are great and even remember us,thay are so friendly and will do there best to get you what you want,the reception staff are so helpful,andraus,ken,and meikas,are good at the jobs thay do, the hotel as built a new decking area outside the dinning area,which is realy nice to sit having breakfast,and dinner at night. I would like the hotel to make customers to adere to the dress code in the dining room at nite as some people just do not bother with the notice, and wear shorts,which we did see some of the staff refuse them entry untill thay change,well done to them,we noticed that people that did not stay in hotel that used the sunbeds in the hotel which we were told was going to stop thid july as security was being put in to stop this,well done to hotel if this goes ahead,hope to see all the staff next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotsGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This was our 2nd visit to the hotel having originally stayed May 2010 and will definately be back. Everything and everyone is great. All meals are excellent. The staff are all happy will do anything to help. Makis in the bar makes everyone welcome especially with his happy-hour prices that lasted all night! We have been to the Protaras area many times and we are going again in July. We have been to many other places but there is no comparison to Protaras in our eyes.We like it so much we got married here in the town hall. People say Cyprus is too expensive but I think the prices are reasonable, the food & drinks in the restaurants are around the same price as at home but you are in a warm place where everyone is happy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProtarasFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Having stayed at the Iliada before, we knew we would have an enjoyable holiday. Same this year, clean, food good, staff helpful. But angry because having paid quite a lot of money to stay there, this year the wi-fi was not free, 4 euros an hour or 15 euros all day, most local bars offer free wi-fi. so why is the hotel charging now?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMLGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Great food, our first visit in May/June and a already looking to go back next year. Friendly staff, great location right in the resort centre, rooms comfy (we had a sea view). Do not understand poor reviews on here, we had a great time and can highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schooldaysholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. The standard of food was awful and over priced. I ordered a hamburger and it came to me cold and pink in the middle. I booked a double room so I didn't expect two single beds to be pushed together and having stayed at the hotel for a week they didn't changed the bedsheets once. I had to go to the bar every night to collect milk for my coffee as these were never replenished during the day. The gym was stuck in the 80's, four weight machines, one stepper that did not work and dumbells that only went upto 2 kgs, yes 2 kgs, sauna and steam room did not work and the tennis court was a joke. Having been unable to use the gym I decided I on a game of pool but was told by the staff that three balls and two cues were missing. This hotel was rated as a 4* but whoever was assigned to rate this hotel must have had extremely low standards or very poor levels of training. I would not be complaining had this been rated a 2* hotel. I paid well over the odds for such a poor level of service and comfort. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gavsmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Just returned from a one week visit with friends. We stayed at the Iliada as one of our party had been before a few years ago.

My partner and I were quite disappointed with the accommodation, it was ok but not what we have previously experienced in 4* hotels abroad. We booked a double room and got two uncomfortable single beds pushed together with separate duvets. It was also dirty - the carpet in the hall way was stained, the hoover was left on the landing all week, the carpet didnt meet the threshold of our door, coffee and milk not replaced when used, cups not washed etc. Not terrible, but not 4*

The other facilities of the hotel are not 4* either, we had looked forward to using the 'fitness suite', tennis courts and even table tennis, they were all a complete joke. The 'fitness suite' hasnt been touched since the 80s and there was no usable equipment for table tennis or tennis.

We found that the level of service in the hotel was also poor, particularly at reception where we were often left standing for 5 minutes whilst they tapped away on the computer having blatantly seen us. When we went on a trip with a local guide and compared experiences with others, we found that poor service and food was a common complaint. In fact the guide even recommended the Tsokkos Gardens to us as a much better 4* alternative.

The food wasn't great either edible but not an enjoyable experience. We went half board and to eat lunch or even just have drinks by the pool was very pricey which put us off sitting by the pool during the day, which was a shame.

The pool area was nice, it was clean and backs straight onto the beach, which has a variety of water sports available.

Having stayed in 3 and 4 * hotels in Spain, Greece and Turkey I can definitely say that in out opinion Iliada is not a 4* hotel and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cambs_Traveller1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#19 of 66 in Protaras
798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#36 of 66 in Protaras
1,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 66 in Protaras
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#27 of 66 in Protaras
1,281 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#15 of 66 in Protaras
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iliada Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iliada Beach Hotel

Property: Iliada Beach Hotel
Address: 21 Protaras Avenue | Protaras, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iliada Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iliada Beach Hotel combines comfortable accommodation with one of the finest golden beaches in Cyprus in the heart of Protaras center. A wide choice of restaurants, bars, shops and water sports will ensure an unforgettable holiday for the most discerning traveler and families alike. Our beachfront location will enhance even more this perfect holiday under the sun and the crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean Sea. Iliada Beach Hotel is an excellent choice for guests seeking quality accommodation and excellent service along with a wide range of facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iliada Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iliada Beach
Iliada Beach Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing