We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont be going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wont be going back”
Reviewed October 7, 2008

I am a firm believer in you get what you pay for so i wasnt expecting a grand hotel but i definately would have expected more. The hotel was OK, just OK - nothing special at all about it. The rooms were basic but we did have a good layout - had 2 beds downstairs and 2 upstairs with the bathroom for just me and my boyfriend. View was over looking the tired tennis courts though - couldnt see the swiming pool or sea. The pool was freezing but clean, we werent all inclusive and the drinks and food around the pool were not cheap compared to in the town. The is a small beach you can go to past the swimming pool which is really nice - quieter than Fig Tree Bay but i was a little disgusted that we still had to pay for sun loungers! The food was basic - just what you would expect from a B&B package - had toast most days as the cooked food was very plasticy. The main problem with the hotel was the staff - Bear in mind i travel at least once a month for work so have a lot of experience in hotels - i have never been somewhere where they are so RUDE!!! they all look liike the have been eating wasps - are not helpful at all when trying to get any informaiton etc and the main problem we had was on the last day. They wouldnt let us check out at 2pm, wouldnt let us use a room to get ready for the return flight in but said we could borrow the swimming pool showers and towel. When i came to doing so they said we had to rent the towels!! It wasnt the money but the principle - staying in your hotel for 10 nights and then being asked to pay for something as simple as a towel - i was disgusted - anyway they left the situation as - 'you checked out at 12, you are no longer our problem' - charming!!
it is also about 15 minutes out from town, and we are quick walkers. it got a bit boring having to do that walk once or twice a day towards the end and wouldnt recommend for people who struggle with walking or have small children not in pushchairs
Well we had a good holiday regardless, after all it the company and what you make it at the end of the day
but i woudnt recommend Cavo Maris - one of the worst i have stayed in with regards to comments above - happy to answer any queries!!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tansy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    252
    83
    35
    11
See reviews for
396
262
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

We have been to the Cavo Maris on many occasions in the past but we hadn't been since 2000. We decided to book a return trip again this year hoping things were as good as they had been previously and we weren't disappointed !

A late arrival on the first night was greeted by friendly reception staff where we were given a room on the third floor with (side) sea views and overlooking the pool.

As "repeater clients" with several previous visits, there was a bottle of Champagne waiting for us in our room along with a lovely bowl of mixed fruits. These are the sort of little touches that epitomise this hotel. The room was spotless as ever as was the toilet, bath and shower. We had taken a double room which comes with air-conditioning (on a P.I.R movement sensor & timer) sliding doors to a balcony with table and chairs and an en suite bathroom with a bath and overhead shower. Also in the room is a wardrobe with good hanging space, a fridge (2 Euros a day & extra to stock as a mini bar), dressing table, mirror, hairdryer, double bed (to singles moved together) with overhead lights, telephone and two bed side tables, a kettle & a flask for cool or hot drinks were also provided. All in all we were perfectly comfortable there during our stay. There was some noise from the entertainment in the evening due to the location of our room to the rear of the hotel & being virtually above the entertainment area (other rooms are much quieter) but it wasn't really excessive and it didn't stop me managing to get to sleep if I chose to have an early night !

Breakfast is served buffet style in the large air-conditioned dining room or on the outside terrace and there is everything from a cooked breakfast bacon, egg, mushrooms, tomato etc to continental style, fruit, cheese, ham, cereal etc together with a good selection of fruit juices and tea, coffee etc...something for everyone !

Although the hotel discourages booking sun beds by placing towels on them and it's stated on notices everywhere, unfortunately it still goes on and the best positioned beds seem to get "booked" very early. Fortunately though there are a sufficient number of sun beds& sunshades to accommodate all the hotels guests and so you will get a sun bed but maybe just not one of the the best positioned ones unless you are up very early.


If you are looking for a relaxing time lazing in the sun this is the hotel for you with lovely grass terraces sloping down to the beach you'll find it a lovely place to sunbathe looking out over the blue Mediterranean Sea.

On the other hand if you are looking for something livelier there is a range of water sports available right off the beach at the hotel. water ski-ing, scuba diving, paracending, jet skis, pedalos etc. Add to that the hotel entertainment for kids and adults alike, organised water polo, volleyball, pool aerobics, football, tennis, table tennis and more .... you won't be bored !

There is a great swimming pool with swim up bar where you can sit in the pool and enjoy a cool drink. Also there is a shaded snack area beside the pool where various cooked meals & drinks can be obtained and you cans it in the shade in your swimming gear to consume them. Alittle further down the grass terraces towards the beach there is a small sitting area where bottled and canned drinks & crisps etc can be purchased when you need to cool off ! These can be taken to your sunloungers and consumed there if you want

There's also a kids club run by the hotel where groups of smiling young faces trot off every day to do the sort of stuff they seem to love in the organised play area leaving the adults free to get on with the serious business of sunbathing !

There are a selection of bars and two supermarkets within 400 metres of the hotel and also hotel shop selling beach ware, souvenirs, daily newspapers from various countries including the U.K etc.

Dinner at the hotel is buffet style where whilst not in any way formal you are are expected not to dress in shorts and beach ware type attire in the dining room. Guests are shown to a table on arrival and a drink order taken. From there it's self service from the buffet where a good selection of food is available although some dishes can be repeated over a two week period. The standard of food though is very good !

We noticed that many of the staff are "old faces" that had been there for years, all very friendly and greeted us like long lost friends ! We found all the staff to be very friendly and welcoming even though they seem to work long 12hr shifts it's amazing that they manage to remain so cheerful and courteous throughout !

We had a fantastic holiday at the Cavo Maris, we noticed a few changes (all to the good) and were delighted to find that the same high standards we experienced on our last stays there were still being achieved. Speaking to other guests during our stay we found many other "repeater clients" and all the others we spoke to whether first time guests or repeat visitors thought the hotel was great !

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as a holiday destination for couples or families, young or old it's a great place for a holiday !

Well done Cavo Maris we WILL be back again !

  • Liked — The welcome and friendly staff !
  • Disliked — Very little if anything !
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EdinburghBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

A large group of us stayed for an Aug 8 2008 wedding (all ages), we traveled from America others from Germany & England. I guess I would say it is an average property, although I have never been to Cyprus before I have traveled alot around the world. We stayed peak season so you did need to get up reasonably early if you wanted to reserve a sun lounger. We stayed on the all inclusive plan, all meals are served in the one restaurant and all are buffet, although it was an extensive buffet. Some guests had been there 2 weeks and many dishes repeat themselves so they found they had to go off property for a change of food. We stayed in a premiere family room which was adequate with nice sea view and very clean (if you like a hard bed you will be all set here!); the kids had 2 sofas in a separate room made into beds without another piece of furniture/closet or lamp in the room (rather odd). It did seem as if the all inclusive guests had to follow lots of rules for fear of them passing food/drink to the non-inclusive guests. No bringing restaurant food (lunch) outside to eat on the deck or by the pool, this was a pain if you were by the pool because you would have to get changed or skip lunch as of course "all inclusive" guests cannot order from the snack list whenever the restaurant is open ie. until 3pm at lunch time. A lot of people in our group had issues with certain staff (especially the restaurant manager who had numerous run ins with many members in our group, he also covered the bar and is well to be candid rude) but other staff like Tea at the pool were fantastic. Not all drinks are inclusive so watch for the symbol on the drink menu and they will not be as strong if you are on the inclusive plan versus paying. The entertainment was rather tame (magician was fun for kids), and make sure you read the rule book upon arrival! All in all we had a great time but I think they create lots of rules that have no value and are punitive to the all inclusive guests (why can't all inclusive guests still eat from the snack menu when the restaurant is open, the other "paying" guests can!). You can order a picnic in advance if you plan to go out which is nice (maybe you could eat that by the pool?). Protarus is a fun night spot for the fun loving (18-35 year olds & young at heart loved it, cab is 8-20 Euros - highest at night, bus about 2 Euros),. The younger kids had the nice beach, pool, small game room and kids club. It is probably more suited to families; teens and singles would I imagine get bored, bars all close at midnight and there is no entertainment for them. Great shooting stars can be seen from the beach!

  • Liked — Nice beach. Very clean. Some really nice staff.
  • Disliked — Rules & more rules. Some VERY rude staff. All buffet food. Entertainment very lame.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shazt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We have just returned from the Cavo Maris Hotel with our girls age 13 & 8, and had a very enjoyable holiday! This is our third holiday to Cyprus. Having previously stayed at Olympic Laggon,Nissi Beach and last year on Fig Tree Bay at Capo Bay both of which were 4*. But we would thoroughly recommend this excellent 3* hotel for families. It is in a quiet location 20 mins walk from the centre of Protaras.It is clean,has spacious gardens,nice pool and we had a Std family side sea view room (large room!)overlooking the tennis courts which was very quiet( Yes we could see the sea!) And for the first time ever the girls had PROPER BEDS!! We stayed B & B. Restaurant was self service & fine with the usual choices. We had an evening meal at the hotel which was good too and very reasonably priced. Staff are friendly too. The sandy beach is a step away from the hotel grounds . Restaurants we recommend in Protaras-The Corner,Olympic,Andama,Promises.

  • Liked — Room size and proper beds for children.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BathFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

My Partner and I have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Cavo Maris Beach Hotel and we both thoroughly enjoyed it and didnt want to come home :-(. The Hotel is lovely and is situated right on the Beach. There are plenty of sunbeds so you do not have to get up at the crack of dawn and reserve one! The Hotel has big grounds with lots of garden space so you can either choose to sunbathe around the pool or on the grass overlooking the beach - the latter was definitely our choice every day! Try the Watersports on the Beach too - the prices are very reasonable and owners are really friendly. The Hotel was exceptionally clean and the maids cleaned your room and changed your towels every day. The reception staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much of a problem. We stayed Bed & Breakfast and ate lunch at the Snack Bar, the Breakfast was fine and lunch nice too. The centre of Protaras is a 15-20 leisurely walk which was fine and has plenty of nice Bars and Restaurants....I would recommend trying the Olympus Steak House Restaurant as the food was delicious and service really good. All in all, I didnt want to come home, enjoyed every day and will definitely go back to the Cavo Maris in the future.

  • Liked — Beach and Pool area
  • Disliked — Shower in the room slow and not very powerful
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sjcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Myself and my partner have just arrived back from 2 weeks all inclusive, Before leaving I was a little aprehensive as there were hardly no reviews for this year, although I think this is because there is a mixture of every nationality. During our stay we met Cypriots, Germans, Swedish, Czech and Russian!
Our room overlooked the pool and the sea which was perfect, the gardens and the beach are both lovely and the sunbeds confortable.
The Kids entertainer Sergio was fantastic and Very enthusiastic and also the lady at the counter at the Coral bar (cannot remember her name) and Tea at the poolbar, although she could definately do with some help.
Food is also fantastic, but agree with the last review in being seated for lunch/dinner and that the rules and regulations in the restaurant could be relaxed a little. (My boyf got told off for wearing shorts)
All in all we had an amazing holiday and would definately go back.
:)
P.S If you decide to back you get a special repeater dinner and a present apparantly!

  • Liked — Location of a pool and beach
  • Disliked — hard beds
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank melow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Decided to try the CAVO as we had earlier stayed across the road on our first visit to Cyprus.

Really good Hotel, clean with friendly staff. Food is buffet style and plenty of choice. Lovely location with either the Pool or Sea to swim in.

AI could be extended to the Pool Bar for Meals & Ice Creams.

Management needs to be more proactive with Parents as loads of under 12's running around Hotel not under parental supervision although notices throughout Hotel advising Parents to keep them under control.

Finally being seated for Lunch & Dinner seems to be out dated nowadays and could be done away with, not everyone likes to sit in a dormitory seating arrangement.

Adrian & Kim

  • Liked — Outside areas
  • Disliked — Being Seated for Lunch & Dinner
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Homer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.9 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,646 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,035 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#11 of 65 in Protaras
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 65 in Protaras
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavo Maris Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavo Maris Beach Hotel

Property: Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Address: Protaras, Paralimni 5313, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#12 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#14 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavo Maris Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Priceline, Bookcyprus.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cavo Maris Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavo Maris Beach Protaras
Hotel Cavo Maris Beach
Cavo Maris Cyprus
Cavo Maris Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing