We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The russians are coming ( with the kids )” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cavo Maris Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The russians are coming ( with the kids )”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at the Cavo Maris for 10 days (may end to first week in june), the rooms are spacious and bathroom is fine, we had a sea view room on second floor.The hotel is a 20 min walk from the busy town that looks like Blackpool with sun, bars & more bars, shops & more shops.

The hotel food is great no doubt about that however,the wine (we were AI) was undrinkable, red in particular.

We do not have a maid at home and we always make sure that any hotel maid is given alternative days off as they work hard enough,its just our thing we do and we did it here.

The hotel staff are 100% focused on their job and help you as much as they can,a big thanks to Angela ( Angel face ) & the young gentleman Alisa ( did I spell that correct ) at the front desk.

People still reserving sunbeds and diving into the pool and wearing shorts (above the knee) at lunch and dinner, a notice is useless if people do not abide by the rules, they have to be told.

I understand it's about a three hour flight from Moscow to Cyprus and I estimate 70% of the hotel guests were Russian all with kids who loved to play on the balconies and move chairs about at 5 am !! great stuff !! ---Cyprus might expect a money bail out on their EU woes from Russia and if you Google Russia /Cyprus you'l get the picture ----but that's not the hotels problem .

No toilets at poolside or ground floor and this means a fair walk for people (it won't happen if your in the pool----hello !) and the new kiosk even further away .

Conclusion: The Carvo Maris is more a 'Family ' hotel and great if you have kids,
looks like I won't be getting a T shirt as a repeat guest---sorry.

Room Tip: choose a top floor ( if possible) with sea view to try and eliminate noise from kids and late bands...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanzbradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear scotskilt

Many thanks for your very good review following your recent stay with us in May/June 2013.

We noted with pleasure your very nice comments regarding
- our spacious rooms
- the food
- our 100% staff.

However, it seems we did not manage on this holiday to meet your full expectations of which we apologise. We have noted your comments concerning having toilets on the ground floor and poolside, that guests are reserving sunbeds and the dress code we have for the main restaurant. We assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. We do indeed tell our guests about our dress codes and reserving sunbeds by the pool, however, we cannot act like policemen!

We thank you again for your kind comments and we will nevertheless look forward to welcoming you on any future occasion.

Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    233
    73
    33
    12
See reviews for
358
220
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HULL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We returned for our 3rd visit to Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, and once again it was wonderfull...... Love the location, just far enough from the main strip, but near enough to get a taxi or bus downtown.... Pristeenly clean, food varied, and wonderfully cooked , different themed menu's every day, breakfeast was always, ''fit for a king'', Myself , my daughter, and grandson, had a wonderfull week, kids entertainment was great, pool fabulous, love everything about this family run hotel, don't want to go anywhere else on holiday, just keep doing what you do best, making people feel welcome, and giving us what we need, a great great holiday..... we will be back.....

Room Tip: all rooms are good rooms........
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MONAHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear MONAHull

Many thanks for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your comments regarding:
- our location
- the pristine cleanliness
- the variety of food
- breakfast "fit for a king"
- the childrens entertainment and
- our fabulous pool.

It really is very rewarding to receive comments such as yours and that our efforts are acknowledged, particularly by our Repeater guests. Indeed, making our guests feel welcome is what hospitality is all about.

Many thanks again for your very kind comments and we look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards

The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just got back (25/5/13) First the good stuff - Hotel very clean and rooms excellent - cleaned every day. Waitress service all day/night - even for a cup of tea! I am a very fussy eater but can honestly say I ate 3 good meals every day. Staff extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Entertainment was OK (the magician was very good) Beautiful tiered terraces leading to lovely beach (but too many steps for my poor legs) There is a sloped way down but coming up again is tiring if you are bad on your feet. Hotel a bit remote but then there is a good bus service where 1 euro will take you anywhere (though buses do get very crowded)
Not so good stuff - there are no toilets in reception area or around the pool/terraces - you have to go down to basement level in the hotel. There are no fridges in the room - only mini bars which are expensive. You cannot take a beer into the restaurant but if you want one you will be charged 3 euros (still can't get my head around this) All inclusive finishes at mid-day (you are given a "credit card" which is stopped at mid-day) We did not arrive until midnight Saturday and were not getting picked up till 8.45pm the following Saturday so we potentially missed out on lunch/dinner on day of departure. However when we made enquiries we were told we could have lunch - but no alcohol
All in all I would recommend this hotel to families and older people who want to relax by the pool for 7 days

Room Tip: I asked for lower floor and was put on the 4th!! but after asking for a lower room the hotel duly ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pewee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear pewee1,

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your very nice comments regarding:
- our cleanliness
- our waiter service throughout the day
- the food
- our friendly staff
- the beautiful tiered terraces leading to the beach.

Please note that all rooms have a Minibar where the guest is asked to order a minimum of EUR 3.00 per day of drinks. There is no rental charge for the fridge. The charge incurred is obviously just for the drinks that the guest wishes to consume for the duration of requiring this facility.

Indeed, guests on All Inclusive who miss their Lunch or Dinner on the day of arrival are entitled to have these meals on their day of departure together with a drink. Regarding your comment on having beer in the Restaurant, guests can enjoy as many beers as they wish just a few metres away on the terrace until 12 midnight.

We thank you again for your very kind comments and your recommendations of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards

The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester Park, Surrey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have just got back from a week B&B at the Cavo Maris. First impression was that we may have been bit too far away from town, but soon realised the Cavo Maris is ideally located - just a short bus ride away from the main strip of Protaras, with an excellent bus service but still far enough away to enjoy some peace and quiet. It was a joy to sit around the pool, with many sunbeds to chose from either poolside/on the lawn or on the beach and just take in the sun. You can easily take a boat trip from the hotel. The sea is lovely and clean. There are loads of excellent restaurants in Protaras and if you go all inclusive it is a shame to miss out on trying them. The hotel is lovely and clean in all areas and is obviously very well maintained. If you are not all inclusive the drinks are quite pricey in comparision to the numerous bars in town, you do get the offer of going all inclusive for 4 days if you wish, which could be an option to consider. Breakfast was fine, normal pastries/cooked breakfast/fruit and always freshly cooked. We hired a car which was great for going that bit further, Famagusta, crazy golf, Ayia Napa. Our first time in Cyprus and was really impressed, loved it. Would recommend the Cavo Maris - lovely for young families, they have a really good childrens play are and club. Went late may weather fabulous !!

Room Tip: Paid little for sea view and was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Gill050,

Many thanks for your very good review posted on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are particularly pleased that:
- you were pleasantly surprised by our location
- you enjoyed sitting around the pool with plenty of sunbeds
- you commented on our high standards of cleanliness
- you enjoyed our freshly cooked breakfasts

We noted your comments regarding the price of drinks however, our prices compare favourably with other 3 star hotels in our area.

Our sincere thanks that you would recommend our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends to our hotel in the future.

Best regards

The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed in Cavo Maris for 2 weeks (12.05.13 – 26.05.13) with my wife and 2-year old daughter. In our opinion this hotel deserves 4 stars. The pool area is lovely and large, with a lot of flowers, palm trees, deep pool (3 m) and, which was a surprise, big pool for children (depth 75 cm). Beach is nice, not very big but also not so crowded and used mainly by hotel guests. Staff at the reception is very nice and helpful, we requested room change and we received new room immediately! (big plus). Rooms are big and spacey, cleaned every day, Housekeeping respects "Do Not Disturb" sign and comes later. My wife had a birthday during a stay in this hotel and she received flowers and a cake from the staff ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pawel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Pawel K

Many thanks for your excellent review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are particularly pleased that you liked:
- our large pool area
- our large childrens pool
- the nice beach
- the nice and helpful Reception staff
-our large and spacious rooms

Furthermore, we are glad that your wife enjoyed the small surprise for her birthday.

Once again we thank you for your very kind comments and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to our Cavo Maris Beach Hotel.

Best regards

The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 3 days with a group of friends. The hotel is huge a bit old fashion but very well maintained. The rooms where excellent with wifi and perfectly cleaned as all the facilities of the hotel (lobby,pool ). Very seldom i have seen in an hotel so much attention to the cleaning and i consider it a real plus for the hotel. The pool was great and sufficiently deep. In front of the hotel the coast was sandy and there where two beautiful beaches. The sea is clean and protected from waves and currents. The buffet breakfast was ok. We never used the hotel restaurant.Prices where very competitive.
The hotel is some km away from downtown proteras wher you can find all restaurants and attractions so you have to use your car.
In conclusion an hotel to be recommended but you need a car if you want to go to to Proteras.

Room Tip: If you are an early sleeper avoid rooms directly on the pool as the hotel organize evening shows so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilanoSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear MilanoSwimmer,
Thank you very much indeed for your very good review.

Your very nice comments are noted with great pleasure and they are of course in line with the comments of almost all of our guests and shared by the vast majority of the Trip Advisor reviews.

We noted with pleasure your comments such as
- The hotel is very well maintained
- The rooms are excellent
- The rooms and all the facilities of the Hotel are perfectly cleaned
- You consider our cleanliness as a real plus, rarely found
- The pool is great
- The sea is clean and protected from waves
- Prices are very competitive
- The hotel is to be recommended

We take this opportunity to advise you that it is within our basic policies to always offer a change of room (higher floor, quiet room, away from entrance, away from the lifts etc.), to everybody that requests it (justified or unjustified) and we do not relax until we are sure of our guests full satisfaction.

Once again please accept our sincerest thanks for your GENUINE and CORRECT very good review.

The Cavo Maris team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on at least six other occasions but never all inclusive, trust me it's not what it says on the tin to take this option , basically you are told when, where, and how you can eat.
Drinks are really limited, ice creams you can only get from certain points and not the logical ones and food you cannot get from outdoor areas.
We stayed in room 181 /182 on first floor level, big mistake as they are just above reception and you can hear coaches come and go all night long, and am quite sure the drivers take privelage in leaving there engines running for the length of time it takes to drop the passengers and get their luggage, if you want sleep avoid these rooms, and dare say there are also a couple of more as well.
On the bright side hotel is clean tidy and disable friendly, entertainment as most hotels is poor, food is okay but repetitive, however there are some excellent restaurants within walking distance or Protaras town centre. Dont let this review put you off generally what is a good hotel but avoid all inclusive like the plague.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 170 - 190 at least you will think your stuck in the middle of the M25 all night long
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Terry E,
Many thanks for your review regarding your holiday earlier this month.
We noted with great pleasure that:
- You have visited our hotel at least 6 more times
- Our Hotel is generally a good Hotel
- Our Hotel is clean and tidy
- The Hotel is disabled friendly
With disappointment we realised that our All Inclusive system did not meet your expectations. Pity indeed that following six visits to our Hotel, our all-inclusive system was not known to you. You certainly could request further information from us before taking “what it says on the tin”. Clarifications, extra information and special requests are something that we constantly encourage our repeat guests to do.

We consider it our obligation (like all good hotels) to advise our guests about meals times and where they are taken. However, on top of the buffet style lunches and dinners, more meals can be taken (within the All Inclusive package), throughout the day in THE OUTDOOR AREAS OF OUR RESTAURANT AND BAR, until 23.00hrs. However we do not understand the statement that we tell people … “HOW THEY CAN EAT”…

Our meals are based on a 14 day rotation with different dishes, except breakfast that may look a little repeated (simply because it almost contains everything).

Drinks in our all inclusive are not at all limited. The selection is very rich and there is almost nothing missing. Of course you cannot expect from a very reasonably priced package to include very expensive items like “Don Perignon” French Champagne or “Chivas Regal” Scotch whisky.

Ice creams are offered in the Restaurant, the Bar, the open air area of the Restaurant and the outdoor area of the bar. Therefore, we do not agree that ice cream is not offered in LOGICAL points. Are these really considered not logical points to serve a rich variety of ice creams?
Indeed exclusive a la carte menus containing fillet steaks, lobsters etc are not included in the All-inclusive package and so is the small Barbecue Snack Restaurant of the Pool (due to space and equipment limitations).

We are surprised that after 6 visits you did not notice that it is within our basic policies to always change rooms (higher floor, away from entrance, away from the lifts etc.), to guests that initially are not happy with their rooms and it is not unusual to offer free upgrades of room types. All our normal rooms are exactly the same, but if booking the lowest available price option, there is always the risk not to get the best located, the quietest room or the nicest view. However free upgrades, or other offers and benefits, ARE NOT OFFERED TO PEOPLE PROMISING AN EXCELLENT (OR OTHERWISE NEGATIVE) TRIP ADVISOR review.

Once again thank you very much for your repeated visits and your review.

The Cavo Maris team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.9 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 67 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 stars 1,456 reviews
4.6 mi away
Malama Beach Holiday Village
3.5 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#13 of 67 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#10 of 67 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavo Maris Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavo Maris Beach Hotel

Property: Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Address: Protaras, Paralimni 5313 , Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#11 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#14 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavo Maris Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cavo Maris Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavo Maris Beach Protaras
Hotel Cavo Maris Beach
Cavo Maris Cyprus
Cavo Maris Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing