We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Flokkas Hotel Apts.(Protaras)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mandalena ApartHotel(Protaras)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Livas Hotel Apartments(Protaras)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$130
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapetanios Bay Hotel(Protaras)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Astreas Beach Hotel Apartments(Protaras)(Great Value!)
$324
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$239
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capo Bay Hotel(Protaras)
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Antigoni Hotel(Protaras)
$178
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (941)
Filter reviews
941 results
Traveler rating
524
277
93
35
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
277
93
35
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoral barsirena poolfree drinking waternext yearprivate beachayia napasea viewbunk bedspublic areaskids clubfamily roomplenty of sunbedsclose to the hotelprotaras townhotel is spotlessly cleanbit datedper day
Filter
Updating list...
455 - 460 of 941 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in September 2012 on a all inclusive basis. Myself, my fiance and my two boys aged 4 & 10.
I have never written a review on any hotel before and feel guilty about leaving it so late before writing this one.
I have to say that this is a fantastic hotel in a perfect location and we had a perfect holiday.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. They made a real fuss of my 2 boys and were genuinely friendly and not being falsely friendly. The food is excellent and varied. The hotel is spotlessly clean and is constantly being cleaned throughout the day. My inlaws were staying in a different hotel in Protaras and called in to see us for the day and claimed that the toilets in the hotel were cleaner than the room in their hotel.
We will definitely be returning to this hotel (this year if I can afford it) :-)
The pool area and location right on the beach and close to beautiful nearby coves are perfect.
The entertainment at night was not always to our liking but that can be expected as you can never please everyone and we enjoyed the majority of it.
I can't understand some of the negative reviews I have read on here as they must have been staying at a different hotel to the one we stayed at. We had the mispleasure of witnessing one guest complaining to staff about the fact that his towel had blown off the balcony at 11pm and on another occasion he was kept waiting for 5 minutes for a table at the evening meal. The staff remained polite and courteous while this ignorant numpty appeared determined to complain about anything and everything.
Sergio made a real effort to get guests involved with the poolside entertainment and my boys thought he was brilliant.
I spoke to many guests who have returned to this hotel, some guests have returned more than 10 times and I can understand why.
I am usualy someone who likes to do different hotels and destinations but can understand why guests keep returning to Cavo Maris.
I am not exagerating with this review and feel very strongly about the fact that the hotel, staff and location were perfect for us and fantastic value for money
I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone related to the Cavo Maris for a fantastic 2 weeks.
A* rating from the 4 of us.

Room Tip: The four of us stayed in a basic room which included 2 camp beds and 2 singles. Although slightly cramped it was what we expected. We weren't overlooking the pool/sea and although it was nice the pool/sea views are stunning.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Darran S,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay in our Hotel for your holiday in September 2012 as well as for your TripAdvisor review on 14/01/2013.

We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and specifically that:
-you consider our hotel to be in a perfect location
-our staff are very friendly and helpful
-our food is excellent and varied
-the hotel is spotlessly clean

It is very difficult to please all our guests regarding food and entertainment as we have multinational guests. However, we do try to offer a variety so that there is something for everyone. Dealing with so many nationalities and guests is part of the job and rest assured we always treat our guests courteously and with a smile.

Indeed we have many Repeater guests who visit us every season. It will be our great pleasure to welcome you back again to our hotel where we will happily introduce you to our Happy Repeaters Program.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again, if not this year, then whenever you are able to come.

Best regards

The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Firstly I wanted to write a very impartial review about this hotel as a few seem to be trying to damage the hotels reputation. The hotel is good not great however you get what you pay for. If you want a beach hotel in Cyprus in August for a family of 4 for less than 3k then here you go.
I have been twice to the Cavo and get what I pay for 3* in a mature hotel. If you want luxury then try the Sunrise Beach in town at double the price.
The Staff, like anywhere else you have excellent, average and poor I recommend being polite and we found the service was ok.
The rooms, are fine. They are a bit aged but nothing to bad they are clean and the maids do a good job. My only real problem was with the aged Air Con, it just doesn't cut it in August.
The Pool, was very nice. The entertainment can be a bit too loud but there are plenty of gardens to retreat to if it gets too much.

All in all if you go with the expectation of a 3* mature hotel at very reasonable prices you won't be disappointed.

Can I also give a shout out to, Romeos, Nicolas Tavern & Palladella restaurants in town. They are excellent quality and value.

Having been to Cyprus 25 plus time and returning next year my advise is get booked at the Cavo B&B enjoy the sun by day and go out at night and sample the excellent food and hospitality the locals can offer.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrFairandhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your Holidays in August 2012 as well as for your TripAdvisor review on 30/12/2012. We take this opportunity to wish to you and your family, a happy and prosperous New Year.

We noted with pleasure that in the contents of your review you noted:
-Great value for money,
-The hotel is good
-You have been twice to the Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
-The rooms are fine and clean
-The maids do a good job
-The service was ok
-The Pool, was very nice

Also we noted very carefully your headline comment that our hotel "could be so much better with just a few minor tweeks...” Our aim for our hotel is not only to be "good - not great" but "really fantastic". We wish to assure you that we are always working hard as a team to fully satisfy our guests. Hospitality and constant improvement will continue to be our way of life. In this respect, we shall highly appreciate it if we could have your personal suggestions regarding what "few minor tweeks...” are considered necessary to make our hotel to "be so much better". A brief letter or e-mail from you will be really greatly appreciated.

Rest assured that we are taking into serious consideration our guests’ suggestions for improvement and adjust our plans accordingly. Constructive criticism is by all means welcomed and encouraged, being the only way to help us to improve our future plans.
Our main concern is to cater to the needs of our guests, which is quite difficult due to the nature of our visitors belonging to various different nationalities, different age groups and/or family status and mainly having different tastes or habits especially concerning food and entertainment.

Your comments about our staff & entertainment are seriously noted and have been passed to all department heads for evaluation and action.

Our hotel carried out all necessary, major renovations, in all public areas and in all rooms. The only element not renovated was the Air Conditioning system and equipment which is now under renovation and replacement, hopefully to your full satisfaction.

Please note that our Hotel is widely accepted (by our guests and our Co-operators), as one of the best 3* hotels, comparing favourably with many 4* hotels. A lot of our guests are pleasantly surprised and are asking us, wondering why our hotel is only a 3 star hotel.

Assuring you of our best attention.

The Cavo Maris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

before entering november and december 2012 which are the most demanding times of the year at my workplace, i decided to have a vacation prior to this period. i booked a weeks vacation at the cavo maris in cyprus. i was not disappointed, the hotel is of high standard, the staff competent,courteous, motivated, and enthusiastic. rooms ample, spacious, and kept clean and fresh. food had variety,taste, the dining room comfortable and well managed. reception staffed 24hours, any queries, issues dealt with promptly and politely. pool and access to beach excellent, outside showers prominent and placed conveniently. inside rooms easy to find, lifts in good working order, and the days themes and agendas for the day kept up to date. in conclusion, a hotel so hospitable and organised, with such hedonistic sea view rooms, will have my euros next time i visit cyprus. d.l.baker.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tismoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear d.l.baker,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your holiday in October 2012 as well as for your TripAdvisor review on 21/12/2012. We apologise for taking so long to reply but due to the Christmas Holidays, we are still trying to catch up with correspondence and messages from our friends all over the world.

We are very glad that you consider our hotel to be of a "high standard" particularly mentioning:
- "staff competent, courteous, motivated, and enthusiastic"
- "rooms ample, spacious, and kept clean and fresh"
- "food had variety,taste"
-" the dining room comfortable and well managed"
- our Reception and "issues dealt with promptly and politely"
-"pool and access to beach excellent"
-"lifts in good working order"
-"days themes and agendas for the day kept up to date"
-"hedonistic sea view rooms"

It really is very rewarding for us when our guests take the time and trouble to acknowledge our efforts and regard us as "a hotel so hospitable and organised". We do try our very best to have a smoothly operating hotel.

We are very pleased that you would consider staying with us again the next time you visit Cyprus. We look forward to the very great pleasure of having you again.

Best regards

The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We go to Cavo Maris Beach Hotel every year , and the fact that it has hundreds of repeaters every year speaks for itself! We love staying there it,s like Home from Home but with all the fabulous sunshine caring staff and good food what more could you want on holiday! My advice is to try it for yourself ! I,m sure you will be joining the repeaters club with us !,,,, Maureen Lee. Lincolnshire, u.k.

Room Tip: Any view from this hotel is good but the sea view is fantastic! Well worth the little bit extra !
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Minniemo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Mrs. Lee,
Many thanks for your review posted on TripAdvisor following your stay with us in October. We greatly appreciate it when our guests and Repeaters take the time and effort to comment on their stays with us and truly describe the experience of having a Cavo Maris holiday. It is very reassuring for us when our Repeaters regard the Cavo Maris as their home.
Indeed, our Repeaters are increasing in numbers year after year from countries all over the world and it is wonderful to see the Cavo Maris family growing.

It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us this year and of course look forward to having you with us again next year.

Thanking you again for your great review.
Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just got back from the cavo maris hotel, really really nice time had by all, staff very friendly, very helpful, food was decent every day, cleaniest hotel you will find, room could have been a bigger and weather a little warmer perhaps, also protaras very quiet this time of the year (but we liked that)

would probably go back in a few years time

Room Tip: sea view would be nice,
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tmcmanus321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Tmcmanus321
Please accept our sincerest thanks for your excellent review after your recent family holiday with us. It is really amazing how in such a short script you managed to cover the main management principles of our hotel which are: FRIENDLINESS – CLEANLINESS – GOOD FOOD
What more can a hotel expect from its guests than the wonderful and very comprehensive comments you so nicely mention in your review, i.e.
--had really, really nice time
--all staff very friendly, very helpful
--cleanest hotel you will find
--decent food every day
Thanking you once again and hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future where, with great pleasure, you will be amongst the thousands of our “happy repeaters” guests.
Sincerely yours
The Cavo Maris Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews