We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Excellent experience. Staff unbelievably helpful and efficient. Allocated sunbeds a great idea, together with the half board option of dining in two out of three other restaurants. The breakfasts were superb although felt sorry for the egg/pancake fryer.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Des25102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 817 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

Had a week here in May in a sea view room on B & B basis - the hotel is in a great location in the centre of the Strip right on the beach front.The sunbed allocation is really helpful especially if you can manage to get one by the pool! All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was first class with plenty of choice,both hot and cold.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff_H1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Sunrise Beach Hotel. All the staff were very amiable and respectful. The highlight of our stay were the great afternoons spent relaxing at the Beach Bar with two exceptionally welcoming and efficient barmen, Yiannis and George, who both gave 100% to ensure our comfort and enjoyment for the afternoon. We will be back! Mel and Jan

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just returned from a 2 weeks stay at the Sunrise Beach, well what can I say it was are 3rd visit and the service and quality of this hotel is still outstanding. All the staff are friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble, the food is excellent and a good variety to choose from. I really enjoyed the choice of eating in the hotel or choosing one of the outside restaurants to dine of an evening. All you have to do is go to the reservation booth in reception swipe your card and reserve a time you wish to eat, 24hrs before. Great idea, loved it !!!!!!! The maitra'd Neo and all the staff in the dinning area really attend to your needs, nothing is to much trouble. Justine is warm and welcoming she works in the Othello bar and made us feel right at home. The rooms are large and spacious and clean to a high standard. I also liked the idea of having your own sunbeds for the duration of your stay ( no fighting for beds) they put your room number on the umberella were you decide to reside. The location of this hotel could not be better, 2 minutes and your on the main street for all the bars, restaurants and shops. Will definitely be going back next year !!!!!!! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tattoo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had the best time at this hotel, nothing was too much trouble. We were half board, the restaurant was lovely, food was very good, it felt like we were eating in a top restaurant every night. The rooms were very clean. The staff were amazing, all of them! I just can't praise it enough. Only one thing I could say is we did have some late night into the early hours noise from a local bar, what I suggest is pay extra for a sea facing room, well worth it. Just loved every minute.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 691lyn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My friend and i stayed here for 5 days last month. As expected, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are pretty decent and clean. We took the side sea view room and it was worth it, the ocean view is just breathtaking! If you can splurge for the front sea-view rooms, then it would be better. Although, if you stay on the lower floors specially right down the reception/hotel entrance, you would hear the noise/music from the bars on the street. Good thing i requested for rooms on the high floors. We had the half-board, breakfast and dinner at Levanda and Panorama Restaurants respectively. They have themed-nights at Panorama so it was an added value to the dining experience. Food is decent, but not spectacular.

They will provide your own sunbeds and towels, if you're lucky enough to get a good spot by the pool or in the garden/beach, you can stay there for the rest of your holiday. It's a first-come first-serve basis.

The wifi is weak inside the rooms, had to go to the balcony and/or down by the hotel grounds to use it.

This is a family-friendly hotel, most of the guests are elder couples or families. If you wanna have a relaxing and quite time, then stay here. Otherwise, go to Ayia Nappa if you are into partying/clubbing, a bit busy and loud for our taste.

Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay at Sunrise Beach! Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Upper floors, it gets loud in the night because of the bars/clubs on the main street. Sea-View rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam_Martin-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have just returned from a week here.
We booked the sunrise pearl hotel, but upon arrival late at night found that we were in a room at the back of the hotel near the Main Street. The loud music from a couple of bars was intolerable and continued until 2am, I am a light sleeper and was kept awake by the noise. We therefore asked to be moved and as the Pearl was very full we were offered a room the next day in their sister hotel the sunrise beach next door.
Our new room was great, on the 5th floor with wonderful views and away from the noise of the bars, One bar in particular that is open air, plays loud club music until 2am, I found this unbelievable as it is surrounded by hotels and apartments and it must disturb loads of people. We never saw more than a handful of people in the bar and this seems crazy to me, to disturb so many for so few!!! The bar should either become a chill out bar, which would actually probably pull more people in, or get a goddamn roof!

Our stay at the sunrise beach was great, it is a more friendly laid back hotel than the Pearl and a bit more traditional being the older one of the two, however we much preferred it. All of the staff here are fantastic, in particular Maria and her team on reception. They are the nicest team I have ever come across on a hotel reception abroad and they work hard to make everyone's stay as good as they can. Justine and Sophia and the team in the bar area are also very friendly and efficient, as are the entertainment team. They also have a pretty good gym here.

With regard to the reserving of sun beds this was a bit frustrating. We couldn't get beds by the pool for the first couple of days which was disappointing, although all of the areas in the gardens and towards the beach are very nice we tend to use the pools a lot and like to be near one. Once we got beds by the pools this was better. However then the frustration is that the umbrellas are fixed and can't be moved. We like a bit off shade as well as sun and therefore found we had to keep moving the beds and sometimes it was impossible for both of us to get in the shade. And because all the beds are allocated you can't just change beds or pull another umbrella over as they are all fixed. Sounds weird I know but it was just a bit frustrating and I do feel that if they do have this system of fixed umbrellas and reserved beds then there should be a few mobile umbrellas around that people can use if necessary.

We were on half board and the dine around option with this is absolutely brilliant. We would normally go B and B as we like to eat out in restaurants, so doing it this way you get the best of both worlds. We ate in the Greek, Italian and Indian/Asian on the dine around and the food and service were excellent. We also ate in the hotel and again the food and service were great. I therefore highly recommend this option.

The evening entertainment in the hotel is very low key and not great, but most people seem to go out anyway. Protaras itself is busier and noisier than I was expecting from reading the Thomson info, and we were put off a bit by how many English bars and karaoke nights there were, not to mention the clubby bars. But there are also some nicer bars and lovely restaurants to balance it out.

The beach is gorgeous and right by the hotel, and the walkway along the front is lovely. Make sure you turn right along the front and go and see the Coy Carp at the hotel about 4 hotels up from the Sunrise Beach, I have never seen so many fish!!

We had a great week and I would go back to this hotel, providing I wasn't put in a room anywhere near the open air bar! Very clean, wonderful staff, lovely views and gorgeous food...go for it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,134 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Louis Infinity Blu
Louis Infinity Blu
#15 of 65 in Protaras
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Hotel

Address: Hotels Ave | P.O. Box 33043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#3 Family Hotel in Protaras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: $173 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Protaras
Hotel Sunrise Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing