We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Holiday in Cyprus” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Holiday in Cyprus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

-Location = Close to bars and restaurants but set back on to the beach so not too noisy.. couldn't ask for anything better
-Rooms = Sea view room with electric blind so you can see the stunning blue ocean after you wake up
-Resort = lots of bars and restaurants although food is pretty average (lots of sushi)
-Attractions = Beautiful beaches. Fig Tree Bay is a MUST!!!!!
-Activities = Snorkeling and feeding fish (stealing bread from breakfast :D)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Beach are stunning!! what a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark_Pilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    326
    88
    26
    16
See reviews for
579
897
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have been meaning to write this review for months as we stayed in October 2012, but we still havent forgotten what a fantastic holiday we had!

Just a few things.. Spotlessly clean, fantastic variety of food, brilliant location, excellent staff. What more can we say?

We want to give a massive mention to Tassos the head bar manager who became a friendly face over our holiday and spent every evening making us feel welcome. As we work in hospitality ourselves we spent many hours talking to Tassos, who deserves a medal for his hard work and customer service! A big big thank you Tassos and we wish you all the best!

If we visit Cyprus again we will deffinitely come back!

Thanks

Charlie and Matt ( the youngest couple there!)

Room Tip: 2nd floor and one of the end corridor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharLN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

stayed here for a week in July 2012. Stunning 4 star hotel right on the beach. Really lovely. We paid extra for a balcony view and this was well worth it, could sit there for hours.
fabulous location, fabulous staff and well worth the money
Food was brilliant and particularly liked the Reef.
Would go back again!

Room Tip: you need to pay extra to get a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank grantstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Everyone even down to the manager was brilliant we got married here and had a problem with the menu before we got there when we did arrive we spoke with the assistant manager they couldn't do enough to help sort the problem they even threw in some extras for our lovely day this is a fantastic hotel and would definitely be going back I can't really put into words how good it was all I can say is its a must go and check it out for yourself.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stendebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We needed a good short break as it has been a real hard year for us (Annus horribilis comes to mind). We do not usually stay at hotels but decided that we really just wanted to be 'pampered' so we searched for week long holidays in Cyprus as we had not been to this island. Good old Tripadvisor came into play and armed with the recommendations and also the internet we went searching. The Sunrise beach had good comments and a good feedback so we went for that. It was going to be practically the last week of the season that they were open so we were a little worried that the service might be a bit more lax than during the busy period. W
We should not have worried. When we arrived, late at night, were greeted with friendly smiles and shown to our room. There was even a bottle of fiz waiting for us. The room was beautiful with great views of the sea (as stated in the web description).
We had booked half board (we usuallygo B&B or self catering but this was the only option provided by the travel company Olympic). So we were not sure how good the food would be. The breakfast was excellent with a superb buffet choice that catered for healthy living or healthy appetites! Food was constantly being replenished and the service was swift, friendly and relaxed.
The main dining room evenng meal was of good quality but even though they had 'world themes', the food was great quality but not really spiced or flavoured enough to warrant being labelled as being from the different parts of the world.
We tried the 'Reef' bar menu on tow evenings and the food was excellent and right on target. For lunch we either had a snack from the pool bar (also good quality) or got some from a local beach bar etc.
The allocation of sunloungers are organised with a military precision so that there are no fisticuffs between guests or early morning towel baggers (if you know what I mean).
The outside pool water was a bit chilly but if the weather had turned cold (which it didn't even at the end of October) there was an indoor pool which was great for the kids.
We sampled the entertainment in passing as the foyer bar was near to the where the entertainment took place and the kids sessions were really enjoyable (for kids and associated adults of course). The adult entertainment (what we actually saw) was also interesting.

All of the staff are very friendly and ready to talk at length providing they do not have things to attend to immediately. Some of them go further than the extra mile like George on reception.

As to Protaras itself. Well the 'strip', behind the hotels, was beginning to down during the week that we were there but I can imagine it being very 'lively' in full season. There are good restaurants and some slick bars amongst what you would normally expect. BUT walk along the whole seafront and you would think that you were in a different place. Laid back bars and cafes intermixed with hotels running down to the beachfront. Really pleasant.

We hired a car and drove to Larnaca seafront and old town and that was rewarding as was a visit to the local town of Paralimni, a sleepy little place but pleasant to walk around and again some slick bar/cafes as well as a couple of traditional ones.

Although hotel holidays are not our usual preference, if any other hotel was as welcoming and as fulfilling as Sunrise then we would also go there. Sunrise has an amazing percentage of returnees and we can now see why. It is not 5 star but a darned good 4.5! We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike_Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Elexcellent hotel ,went in June and September. Staff great very helpful and Angelo for fun in the sun and Justine in Othello bar. Rooms excellent clean and tidy pool area fantastic. Holiday great for everyone

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank porkpiechapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

chose this hotel for our silver wedding. This turned out to be a great choice. Fantastic location right on the beach. all the staff very friendly. breakfast excellent and food choice was good. the service in the panoramic restaurant was excellent which had nao in charge. Justine was lovely at the top bar and service in the reef bar excellent and all staff were great. the allocation of your own sunbeds was a great idea as it meant we could relax and enjoy the holiday without the fight for a sunbed. the strip had a great choice of bars and restaurants. we chose a room with a side sea view and this again gave us an excellent sea view. Entertainment was low key but this was what we wanted as we like to venture out in the evenings. We would not hesitate to return again to this hotel

Room Tip: side sea view gives a great view .half board upgrade is a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#11 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
2.3 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#14 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Hotel

Property: Sunrise Beach Hotel
Address: Hotels Ave | P.O. Box 33043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Protaras
#3 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sunrise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Protaras
Hotel Sunrise Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing