We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tsokkos Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nice hotel needs refurb badly pool huge hotel right on beach . Bars and resturants all round hotel go to waves bar nice pint there and big screens tv . Giorgios resturant gorgeus loved steaks there . We going back next august cyprus is a must been there 12 times now love it . Roll on august 2013

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wxmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsokkosCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at Tsokkos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your holiday. Yes indeed we have renovated most of our rooms plus the pool area during last winter and we are now ready for the Summer 2013 season commencing in a few days! Hope to welcome you once more at the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    258
    136
    62
    45
See reviews for
500
360
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
dudley
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Well where do i start on this one ?.I call this a Could Be Hotel.
It could be a better hotel if a few things changed.
The Staff,
Well most of the staff were rude,arrogant,spoke in there own language obviously making snide comments.This was particularly relevant in the Restaurant.The restaurant staff were the rudest most arrogant staff i have ever come across,I found the daytime Bar staff to be better than the evening staff,although at times during the day staff seemed to disappear.The staff in the bar and restaurant didn't seem to be interested in wether people had a good holiday.I travelled to this hotel about 17 years ago and i think all of the staff then were Cypriots,this time nearly all of the staff except cleaners and management were Eastern Europeans.Perhaps when the refurb is completed the hotel should employ Cypriot staff,as after all its there country and i would think they would take more pride in the hotel than the current influx of Eastern Europeans do.
Food
Well i have to say that there was always a good selection of food to choose from,now for the bad part,it was mostly always cold,the meat was always overcooked and dry,nothing was ever wasted as it always seemed to be used up the next way in one form or another.If the food could be served hot it would make a big difference.
The menu that was available was very similar to what i got served 17 years ago.
The Rooms
As other people have said the rooms were in need of refurbishment,it wasn't really a problem to me as i only used the room to sleep in.
Entertainment
Well what can i say about this,typical Butlin style entertainment with the usual mix of Killer Pool,Killer Darts,Daily Quiz,Bingo,Play Your Cards Right.Typical Brits Abroad Type Entertainment,Maybe this could be changed next year with more professional type entertainment
A decent Singer at night without the Bingo and Tackiness will make it better
Hopefully once the much needed refurbishment has taken place things will imporove if the management addressed these issues
As i said earlier this hotel could be a great place to visit once the refurb has taken place.
I am not saying i would not reccommend this hotel as overall i was not expecting a 5 star experience,I do not think there are any really good 5 star hotels in Protaras.So hopefully the reviews on the Tsokkos Beach will vastly improve if the much needed refurbishment takes place as promised.
It is in a great location it just needs sorting out and gets a good reputation
So don't be put off by the mixed reviews if you look ahead and remember the hotel is going to get a much needed refurbishment it will be a good hotel to visit in 2013

Room Tip: The Rooms at the front of the hotel were much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whisper019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsokkosCyprus, Public Relations Manager at Tsokkos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding our hotel. Kindly note that the hotel employees people not only from Cyprus but also from EU countries. We generally have a non-racist approach regarding of who we employ as long as we obey the country regulations and the actual person being employed is having all the prerequisites for the actual job description irrelevant of country of origin, language, colour or sex. In Cyprus, English is not the mother tongue in this country and employees might sometimes speak to each other in their own language in order to speed up the process of work and understanding - definitely I wouldn't be expecting coming ie for holidays in UK people to speak between them in Greek language as the country I am in is having obviously its own language.... We receive a large amount of excellent comments regarding the courteousness and friendliness of our staff we are sorry to hear that you have a different opinion. Regarding the food, we review our menus on a yearly basis in order to keep up with the current trends and of course quality. Please note that most of the rooms and pool area have been refurbished this year in time for Summer 2013 opening. Also I would like to bring into your attention that this hotel is not a 5star hotel and officially a 4star hotel... all tour operators, brochures etc do not advertise this hotel as a 5star. Of course if you compare a 5star hotel with a 4star hotel or if you are booking a 4star hotel thinking it is a 5star you will be disappointed once at the resort.... Thank you again for your comments, we always take into account our client's opinions which help us further improve our facilities and services. We do hope to welcome you once more in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good things about this holiday were .
..1 The entertainment staff were great made our holiday
..2 Did,nt think the food was too bad - staff in restaurant were very helpful
..3 Beautiful Weather lovely resort
NOW the down side
..1 The Hotel is a disgrace , glass in childrens pool
..2 The management not interested .. made several complaints before they acted to clean pool
..3 The 2 swimming pools falling to bits missing tiles and dirty all in all falling to bits comes to mind

Room Tip: when entering the hotel ask for room on left hand side or your out look is lots of rubbish
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay and loved it. I will get the bad points out the way with first.

Hotel really does need the refurb which has been planned at the end of the season. Corridors where rooms are very outdated and what looks like damp on the wall in places too.

The efficiency of the waiters/waitresses needs looking at. Breakfast and dinner time they took a while to clean tables.

The snack buffet i thought was a waste. They had 5 trays of food for people and i didnt see more than 10 people go in everyday. Thought this was a waste of food and could easy have had to order from a snack menu at this time. So was cooked to order.

Well thats the bad points out the way.

The location of the hotel is great. 2 mins walk from the beach and right on the main drag. With it being so close to the sea i noticed it had one of the biggest pools. All the others seemed to have small pools. The pool area is brilliant for sunbathers as it has sun on it all day. It may have been the te of year but we didnt have any problems with reserved sun beds and having to get up early. As there was 5 of us we always managed to get 5 together after 9am! You could also rent towels which we did. Wud use them during the day and hand them back at night and have fresh ones for the next day

The entertainment team was great and all very approachable

Alot of people are moaning about the food but we as a family couldn't grumble. We thought there was a lot of choice.

Drinks been watered down. I saw on many occasions the bar men opening new bottles. I just think its not as strong as the sprits we have back home

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would go back again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aulty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Tsokkos Beach Hotel, now known as Tsokkos Protaras Hotel. The rooms were clean but a bit tatty - Wallpaper coming off and the bathroom needed regrouting. Apparently they are closing until July for re-furb. The worst was the food. At breakfast there was always a shortage of crockery the food was cold and the coffee machine never worked properly. The staff in the pool bar were never particularly friendly - mostly eastern european so didn'y understand much english. No two drinks ever tasted the same! Towels were left round the pool the whole week we were there. The brochure rates this hotel as 4* I would say it was more 2*.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel will be less noisy from the bar and entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a disappointment this hotel was. The only plus side was that the maids kept the rooms clean and that finding a sunbed was relatively easy. The restaurant was a disaster! Supposedly 'hot' food was lukewarm at the best and there was little change in the daily menu offered. Fruit at breakfast was largely of the tinned variety. More often that not, crockery and glasses were not always available and on a couple of occasions the tea/coffee machine broke down and there was none available. The tables were not always cleared as should be and food that had been dropped on the floor was often left for a considerable amount of time before being cleared and was a potential hazard for guests.
In general the staff were surly and on many occasions the pool bar staff would deliberately ignore requests to be served. Around the pool many of the sunbeds and umbrellas were in a poor state of repair and outdoor cleanliness was not of that expected of a four star hotel. I definitely won't be returning here again and it appears, after speaking to local restaurant owners, that many of the Tsokkos hotels are of a similar standard.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool can be noisier owing to late night disco and rowdy guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennoxtown, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

just back from a week at tsokko beach hotel in desperate need of repair breakfast frozen rest of meals not bad if you like salads bar staff very nice maids kept rooms very clean entertainers very friendly but entertainment very poor receptions staff not very helpful could not supply us with a room to change in the day we left we found a lot of new friends if hotel was renovated and food improved we would return pool realy nice plenty of sun loungers just a short walk to all the shops

Room Tip: room 401 had front view but you could see the sea and could go out onto the roof what a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#34 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
#44 of 66 in Protaras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tsokkos Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#15 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#48 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#14 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsokkos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsokkos Beach Hotel

Property: Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Address: Lefkollas 8 | Protaras Beach, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Protaras
#16 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#19 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tsokkos Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tsokkos Beach Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Protaras center and within walking distance you may find one of the best golden sandy beaches of Cyprus, Protaras Bay. From guests to team members, Tsokkos Beach Hotel is all about providing a place where you can truly be yourself. Recently refurbished, the hotel has a welcoming and lively atmosphere with a wide array of facilities, daytime activities and evening entertainment. Soak up the sun by the lagoon shaped pool and relax by the raw beauty around it. The spacious accommodation, friendly staff, and relaxed ambiance make it an all round appeal for a perfect beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Tsokkos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsokkos Hotel Protaras
Protaras Tsokkos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing