We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English people do not come here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“English people do not come here”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I came to this hotel last year and although the pool area is lovely and the hotel is in a good location. The hotel is primarily full off Russian people whom are rude and they cater mainly to them. There is one night off entertainment which was in Russian.

The food is average but mainly for Russians

The worst bit about the hotel was the weekends, the pool is inundated by Cypriot children that come up off the beach take over the pool. I was pregnant on the holiday and had a ball thrown at my face and I complained to the manager and they were not guests and not removed even when I was verbally abused by the group off boys because I complained. Also one day the pool boy removed our belongings from our sun beds to accommodate local friends.

Do not waste your money. There is nothing wrong with the hotel or staff but its not good for English people or families. It's boring and dull and I wish we never went

The cleaners were useless too they left a glass in our room for the whole 2weeks we were there

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank portsmouth135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    211
    122
    61
    30
See reviews for
211
397
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

me and my family stayed here end of august 2013 for two weeks and we totally loved it.we go every year to cyprus and it matches all other stays in protaras .only bad thing here was entertainment it was watervolley ball every day the russians loved it but they should change back to premier entertainment as onestop are useless sorry but true . hotel right on beach and 2 minute walk up little road to the strip which has plenty of lovely bars and resturants .try the brewery bar its fab good beers and nice atmoshpere with locals here .and cheers bar .yiamas bar .marcellos italian is lush ...we met loads of nice people in hotel all good memories .we would dfo stay here again only has halfboard again as to many lovely eateries outside hotel ..we already booked protaras again aug 2014 to another tssokkos hotel nearby ..enjoy cyprus its lovely .mark renee and ashley from wrexham x

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank wxmmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We got married on the Silver Sands balcony on 14th October and enjoyed every minute of our big day and stay in general!

Staff were always really friendly and went out of their way to help. The food was always plentiful and really tasty and the location is perfect for both the Protaras 'strip' and the beach. The pool area was clean and comfortable and although I'm more a beach lover than pool, lying by this pool was enjoyable.

We had our reception in a private area outside and were treated like royalty.

The only things that bothered us about this hotel were that the cleaners repeatedly banged on the doors from early morning (8am) and they seemed to have a shortage of towels during our stay and we had to request fresh towels on several occasions when we had been left with none.
Also we requested an room upgrade when we booked the holiday but didn't receive one. The room was comfortable, view was lovely but walls needed repainted - they were quite grubby.

We would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend to others. It really is a lovely, welcoming location for a wedding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Food Great, Rooms Great, The staff were fabulous everything else GREAT!!! I spent two weeks at Silver sands and I want to go back!!! It has the best hotel ever we were all inclusive and loved every minuet of it!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cosalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed for a week in October. Our first impressions of the hotel were very good. Excellent location, lovely welcome, nice bar and foyer area. However, on leaving the lift to get to our room, the corridors looked depressing, long and shabby. Don't think the corridor carpet was vacuumed the whole of our stay. We stayed on the third floor and it was much better condition than previous reviewers room on the fourth floor. We had new pillows. The sheets and towels were changed regularly, the bed was comfortable and the decor generally clean and bright. We had a newer fridge in room. Wasn't the best room we've ever had, basic, but clean and comfortable, which were our priorities. Our cleaner came every day and was very pleasant. She seemed to have the whole hotel to clean, from outside entrance, around pool area, all ground floor areas and rooms. She was busy all day. We were half board and breakfast and evening meals were good - plenty choice. Staff pleasant and helpful. Only other thing was the sauna/jacuzzi/gym was not open during our stay. Receptionist first denied there was one, then admitted it was closed - odd?

Room Tip: Our third floor room seemed much better than fourth floor. We had a side view of the sea, but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were on holiday as a family of five adults and had booked the Hotel as part of a Jet2 holidays.
The Hotel was in a perfect location with the beach a stones throw away. One just stepped out of the pool area and you were on the beach.
The facilities were excellent and the meals were also excellent and all of the party enjoyed the food.
A promenade approximately 6 foot wide consisting of wooden decking linked the various beach hotels for about 10 miles east and about 2 miles west.
The main resort area was only 3 minutes walk from the hotel and was clean and contained a large number of bars, shops and restaurants.
Rooms were clean and linen was changed daily especially towels and one needed to make sure that you had showered before the staff changed the towels as the replacement ones were not returned until the afternoon.
All of the staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The only downside was that as we were there in the last week of October the resort and the hotel were in the process of closing at the season end.

Room Tip: The hotel has only a few actual sea view rooms and all of the others have a side view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papaquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is in desperate need of full renovation. The hotel brochure states it was last refurbished in 1996! The hotel reception is ok but then you get to your room. We stayed on the fourth floor and the corridor was dismall, with wallpaper coming off the walls and brown stained net curtains hanging off the windows. The room itself was no better. It had not been cleaned for our arrival and the bedlinen was old and stained, although the bed itself was very comfortable. The furniture is very dated and damaged, in need of replacement. Again the wallpaper in the room was coming away. The lampshades on the light fittings were mis-matched and covered in stains (see photo). The TV and fridge were ancient and not what would be expected in a 3* hotel (see photo). We stayed for 10 nights and the sheets were changed once. The cleaning service leaves a lot to be desired. The floor was not swept and the bathroom, which was very shabby, not cleaned. The shower curtain was covered in brown stains and the base of the toilet bowl dirty with stains and hairs. It appeared the most the cleaners did was empty the bathroom bin. There was a big gap above the door to the room with woodwork completely unfinished. We too were called into the back office by the reservations manager and asked if we would move hotel due to the Silver Sands overbooking, but we declined. This seems to be a common occurrence at this hotel. On our last day we were packing to check out when the cleaner asked to come in and strangely she removed all the pillowcases from the bed. We wish she hadn't as this exposed the disgusting pillows that we had slept on during our stay...please see the photo of this, it is truly apalling. Outside the sunbeds around the pool were in a bad state, stained with the wooden bases rotting and paint peeling off. We did not eat at the hotel, even though we were half board as the restaurant just didn't look clean. We walked past the same two bowls of what looked liked pureed fruit on a display cabinet, for the whole time we were there. We have stayed here in the past and wanted to give it one more try purely due to it's excellent location. Protaras itself is as lovely as ever, but sadly we will not stay at this hotel again, unless it is completely refurbished and the cleaning standards raised to accomodate humans.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cypruslover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.0 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#47 of 65 in Protaras
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#34 of 65 in Protaras
1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#28 of 65 in Protaras
1,265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Hotel

Property: Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Address: Dimokritou 3, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Sands is superbly located in the heart of Protaras center and primly set directly on one of the most beautiful crystal clear sandy beaches of Protaras. The hotel appeals to families and couples who seek a cozy, contemporary, stylish hotel, offering a relaxing retreat by the beach in a hospitable and welcoming atmosphere. The plunge pool with its private cabanas and the popular beach bar are the ideal spots for the ultimate relaxation. Enjoy from the lobby bar terrace the beautiful sunsets and magnificent views of the Mediterranean Sea, along with your favorite cocktail. The ideal choice for a truly memorable beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silver Sands Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Protaras
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing