We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food lets it down” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tsokkos Silver Sands Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tsokkos Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Food lets it down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just had a week all inclusive at this hotel. The hotel is not bad, if a little tired. Spotlessly clean. If you go B&B then not a problem as location is great, right on the beach although you will need to put your towels down on the sun beds. What lets it down is the food. We went all inclusive and they are not really geared up for this. Not much variety and what there was, was not very good. We do not eat meat, which did not help matters. I eat fish but that was mushy and had a strange taste. We were told stuffed mushrooms had no meat in them, just cheese, but they had ham in them. Seasonal vegetables served one day were brussels, but most days they were either tinned carrots or tinned diced mixed veg. Don't eat the so called fish fingers. After the first day there was no butter available, only a runny margarine which was horrible. When we asked for more butter we were told they were not ordering any more. It wasn't just us complaining, others were as well. I could go on about the food but think you may get the impression. It's such a shame as the hotel is good and most of the staff lovely, but would not recommend as all inclusive. If we go all inclusive again we will only go to a hotel that only does all inclusive. Unfortunately we would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    188
    117
    61
    39
See reviews for
174
356
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

we arrived at this hotel at 2.30 in the morning and received a swift check in although there was only the two of us, the next morning we found our way to the restaurant for breakfast where most of the seating was outside, there was a larger eating area but this was never set up so i presume it only opens when the season picks up, the food was nice & variable the staff were very welcoming & helpful, the rooms are dated & dark but we dont go on holiday to sit in our room which was number 134 so it wasnt the end of the world, the only big gripe about the room would be the loud music from the bar over the road but it was only on friday & saturday night until 2pm, so no real drama there & you cant blame the hotel in fact nearly all the hotels are located in close proximity to the many bars of protaras, we were AI but found it really strange that hardly anyone used the bars in the evening although the outside eating area seemed to double as the bar area, there are two bars the one outside is open all day until 10pm then the inside bar opens at 10pm until 12am we never stayed beyond 12 so dont know if it stays open for cash purchases, however if you are in the outside bar at 10pm be prepared to be left in the dark because once 10oclock comes the bar is closed & the lights are switched off, The location was fantastic one end of the hotel is on the beach the other end is close to the strip so brilliant for bathers & shoppers alike, speaking of bathing the sun beds do get the usual towels on early routine but there are that many we never had trouble getting any no matter what time of day it was & the beauty of being so close to the beach means you dont have to pay 7.50 euros for two sun loungers & a parasol on the sand yes dont be fooled you have to pay to hire them, Anyway we were booked into this hotel for 14 nights but five days in we got a letter saying to get in touch with the reception manager, when we did she asked us if we had put a complaint in about the noise, we said no not us! she went on to say well we can give you an upgrade to the Vrissianna hotel about four hotels up & it is a four star plus, we couldnt believe our ears & asked if we could go veiw it before making our minds up, she said yes of course but come straight back as other people have been offered it too, she phoned the Vrissianna to let them know we were going, my partner asked her the real reason for offering us this move & she replied simply we have over booked, hench to say we were packed up & gone within an hour of finding our note, dont get me wrong we would of been happy to remain at the silver sands for the remainder of our hols but would of been fools not to take the upgrade, overall a good basic 3 star hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaz-nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

beautifull views. excellent room, staff very helpful and friendly.a very relaxed holiday. food ! presentation of some dishes could be improved, salad bar great but needs more protection from flys.more snack options for lunch. breakfast great, deserts were perfect lots of choice, would definitely stay again,

Room Tip: we took a chance and didn't book a sea view we had a side sea view which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our 3rd year at Silver Sands Hotel so we emailed them with room request and omg wow, the room allocated was amazing (thankyou George). The hotel staff are all very friendly and polite, the hotel is clean and tidy at all times. The ladies who clean your room are lovely always have a smile to share with you. You have free a/c in your room balconies do give some privacy ours was very private (room 306). The lobby bar has an outside veranda with stunning views,the bar has special offers between 8pm and midnight where the drinks were half price.
Perfect location, a mere footstep away from the beautiul sandy beach and the strip is a 2 minute walk away.
We were half board (This year it seems to have changed to half board) but we didnt use the dining facilities as we have our favourite restuarants in protaras. Breakfasts and the best cup of tea I have had in Protaras has to go to Happy Days restuarant.
Would we return... hopefully soon, do we recommend this hotel... definately.
I'll upload some more pics when ive sorted through them.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are odd numbered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank mary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our first time at this hotel although we have been to Protaras three times before so knew the location. On arrival we were pleasantly supprised at how nice the hotel was for a 3* rating.The fact that this hotel is beach front made it all the more special and every room has a sea view. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.We were half board and the choice and quality of food was very good and was also hot.All areas of the hotel were kept clean ,with maid service and clean towels in your room on a daily basic.I would definatly recomend this hotel and would stay there again.If i did have to find any fault with this hotel it would only be that the rooms could probably do with a bit of TLC the decoration in the rooms and landings are looking a bit tired.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank lorraine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Silver Sands hotel is right on the beach of Fig Tree Bay. The main Protaras strip with loads of restaurants and bars is just a 5 minute walk. The hotel itself could do with a coat of paint but clean and tidy. The food is pretty good, lots of choice but watch out for the sparrows, leave your food unattended and they will land on your plate and steal it! There isn't much in the way of entertainment but being so close to all the action its not necessary. Hotel staff are quite friendly and we didn't have any issues at all. Water sports located on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from silversands... Hotel location was fantastic few steps from the beautiful beach. Meals were all buffet style which isn't my thing but plenty of choice for all. Rooms were fine clean towels daily and bed changed 3x in 1week. All areas were always clean and tidy would definitely return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Glen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.0 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#48 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#15 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#21 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#34 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
#12 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alva Hotel Apartments
Alva Hotel Apartments
#25 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsokkos Silver Sands Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsokkos Silver Sands Beach Hotel

Property: Tsokkos Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Address: Dimokritou 3, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsokkos Silver Sands Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Sands is superbly located in the heart of Protaras center and primly set directly on one of the most beautiful crystal clear sandy beaches of Protaras. The hotel appeals to families and couples who seek a cozy, contemporary, stylish hotel, offering a relaxing retreat by the beach in a hospitable and welcoming atmosphere. The plunge pool with its private cabanas and the popular beach bar are the ideal spots for the ultimate relaxation. Enjoy from the lobby bar terrace the beautiful sunsets and magnificent views of the Mediterranean Sea, along with your favorite cocktail. The ideal choice for a truly memorable beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tsokkos Silver Sands Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Protaras
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing