We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed June 17, 2011

went 24may for 2wks excellent hotel, staff brilliant nothing was too much trouble for them rooms spotless,pleanty of choice at mealtimes, staff at reception & bar excellent going back in august & cant wait Linda& Tony moore south wales

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda18646029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
There are newer reviews for Silver Sands Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 821 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

just got back from 2weeks holiday at silver sands loved it.we went with friends.we were booked in at the iliada hotel next door on a half board basis.they had a special offer on.we were up graded to all inclusive for free if we moved to the silver sands.which we did.we then had the choice of useing both hotels.both hotels were great.food was very good we struggeld every lunchtime you order from menu very large portions we often shared a meal ANDREAS GEOGIOU is the restaurant manager he spoke to us everydayhe has lovely staff at silver sands he is very keen that everything is ok for you if not he would like to hear about it to put it riight.both hotels were great i would find it hard to choose when we return.thereis a lot of work going on in protaras.but we would love to see it when its finished.

Room Tip: we had side view room got to see pool beach and fg
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymakers047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We booked this hotel because of the reviews on Trip advisor and other sites.
First impression was disappointing because all the pictures we had seen on various web sites including Thomas Cook showed a grassy pool area tumbling down to the beach. This was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel because of having 2 small children in our party. Unfortunately, there was extensive work being carried out all along the beachfront of Protaras. The access to the beach was difficult and extremely hazardous. Admittedly, this was not the hotel's fault and all the beach front hotels were affected in the same way. There was also extensive work going on just past the hotel on the beach front and large dumper lorries, cement mixers and diggers were driving past our room at 6am. This also caused lots of noise and there was a smell of diesel fumes around the pool area most days. This is on going work and is nowhere near finished although I heard that the work was being suspended for the main season.
Many of the interior photos of the hotel were also out of date. The lounge and bar had been refurbished but was too modern and uninviting. There was never more than a few people in there and it had no atmosphere. The seating area outside was
better and had excellent views. Happy hour was from 8 til 12pm. Trouble was the drinks were so weak you couldn't taste any alcohol!
The rooms we had were tired and apparently had been refurbished in 1996. There had been an attempt to 'tart them up' a bit by putting in a shiny headboard and purple velour chairs. Not very practical if you have been at the beach or pool and are covered in sun cream. The storage was very poor. A very small wardrobe and two tiny drawers. Most of our clothes stayed in the suitcase. The bathroom was in need of refurbishment.
There was a large hole in the ceiling, chips on the bath and mirror and very poorly painted with old runs and drips on the door and floor. Even the (very cheap) pedal bin was broken. This must have been noticed as it was emptied every day.
Our party had three rooms and none of us had a full compiment of bath towels, hand towels and bath mat on most of the days. The room and bathroom was in need of a good clean as there was always water marks around the sink area and the floors were always gritty and were obviously not cleaned properly. There was also pillowcases missing from the pillows and the beds were not changed very often( if at all). The patio door in our room was very hard to open as the runners had gone. One of the main things about the room where children are concerned was the balcony. It was very small and had 2 chairs and a small table. A small child (which we had in our party) could easily climb on a chair and his next foothold would be the top of the balcony wall. There were rails but these were not safe enough. Also the lock on the room door was not child proof. You could lock it from the inside by turning a knob but this was cancelled as soon as you pulled the handle down. Easy for a 2 year old. The door had to be blocked by the buggy. The extra bed in that room was a campbed and was put right across the patio doors so that you could hardly get out on the balcony. Admittedly it was the only place to put it because of how the room was laid out. The rooms are not suitable for 3 beds.
The doors to the lifts were too quick to close and trapped our buggies in them numerous times.
The '4 poster' beds around the pool were hardly used and the space could have been put to better use. The sunbeds on the grassy area were fine and plentiful but I wish the hotel implemented their policy of no towels on the sunbeds before 8.30am.
While we were there the hotel installed more metal bases for parasols at the front of the grass. These were round and stuck out of the ground by about 2-3 inches. There was no safety guard around them and were very dangerous.
The kiosk prices were expensive as mentioned in other reviews. Beer was 3.80euros, frappe 4euros and a toastie was 8euros! In Cheers up the road 2 large beers and 2 toasties was 9.70euros. The music from the kiosk also drove you mad. The same 2 cds repeating all day. This was especially annoying when the Activity co-ordinator started playing very loud music to denote 'fun time' and you could hear both at the same time.
She even called us lazy for not joining in even though we had 2 young children in our party that needed constant looking after. This was exercise enough. Holidays are for relaxing and recharging your batteries not being badgered into doing 'fun activities' like quoits and water volleyball. Fine if you want to join in but you should be left in peace if you don't want to.
I know this all sounds very negative but I actually really enjoyed the holiday. On a positive note the beds were comfy, the shower was powerful enough and was always hot enough. There was a very good choice at breakfast although I agree that the fried sausages were often underdone. The hotel could be so much better with very little effort or cost.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same as far as I can tell
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carron96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Location
Great location in the centre just off the main strip, but its not directly on fig tree bay it’s a few minutes walk, but its on the beach and its still nice.

Rooms
Our room was a side sea view, but very basic with twin beds a couple of chairs and a table. You have to pay for the TV and the fridge but our fridge was not locked and we could use the TV without the remote. The bathrooms are old fashioned and could do with some modernising and a good clean. The beds were very comfortable. Rooms are too small for 3 people and the balcony is tiny unless you get a room at the very front.

Food
The food is average but gets boring same sort of things everyday, the drinks are really expensive at dinner time and charge more than the bar upstairs, we just took down bottled water to dinner each day.

Pool Area
The pool area was very good, and clean. The best sunbeds are around the pool we always managed to get a bed but the hotel wasn’t that busy. The entertainment is not very good and the music blasts out the same CD when its Aqua aerobics and volley ball etc.

We enjoyed the holiday, but the hotel rooms could do with some updating.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoobysue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here from the 5th of june for a week . The hotel is in a very good location right in the heart of protatras and on the beach. The hotel is very modern in the lobby and round the pool area. Our room was very nice not old looking like some people say on here it was very clean and the beds were probably the most comfiest ive ever been in! Lg flat screen tv and an amazing sea view! We stayed bed and breakfast only had the breakfast once, personally it didnt float my boat so we ate out. The only thing would say is that the weekends its full of cypriots round the pool and beach so it gets very busy! But had a really good time and would go back again

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Arrived on 4th May in the evening about 8pm, and was pleasantly surprised with a lovely room with the biggest most comfortable bed! It was two singles together but locked together well so that they dont drift apart like in other hotels I've stayed in, also a completely full width top mattress was laid on top of the original ones - Sooooooooooooo comfortable.
Got showered and went straight to dinner before we missed last service. We were half board and enjoyed an extensive range of main courses which were laid out in separate heated dishes. The Breakfast was as good as you can get with many choices of hot and cold foods. The service was excellent which was thanks to Andreas (Andrew) the manager who was training all new staff for this season and ensured they was very efficient and friendly!
Andreas was such a friendly man who always had time to talk and check if we were happy with our meals and he did this without neglecting other diners. The barmaid called Linda was also a very nice person who did her job extremely well and had been there for years. Its nice to have such friendly staff who seem to care about your enjoyment in the hotel and even though the hotel was not so busy, I would be confident that in the high season they will cope in the same proffessional manner.
The hotel is very nicely located on the beach and it has a lovely pool area with a range of comfy sunbeds and also has lovely grassed areas to sunbathe between the pool and the beach which is only 2 or 3 steps away!
It also has a nice bar in the pool and restaurant area for the daytime when in need of refreshments.
The restaurant area in the evening was nicely laid out in the outside area of an evening for dinner which in the warmer months will be lovely and cool. The great thing about this hotel was that if you are half board but on some evenings you may wish to go elsewhere for dinner then you can change your evening meal for a lunch cooked for you off the menu that day, just tell them when ordering.
The entertainment was just getting underway for the season and Sylvia was enthuisiasticly promoting games and events for people during the day and the evening. There was also a very good dance troupe who were brilliant and apparently were going to be regularly performing there through the season.
I believe that the hotel is more like a 4 star, (its officially a 3 star), and the only let down was that the bathrooms were slightly tired although having said that the shower worked perfectly well and would be happy to use it again but I would imagine it would be in the interest of the hotel to update the bathrooms in an attempt to be recognised more as a 4 star!
The hotel was right in the middle of the main strip of Protaras so when venturing out to the bars in the evening you can go left or right to a variety of good ones. I liked the rockafellas for entertainment but the drinks were slightly more expensive than the others. I would always recommend cheers bar, the loveboat and only fools and horses for more reasonably priced drinks especially the latter who had pints of keo beer for 1.50e all day and night and they had at least 5 tv screens for any sport although rockafellas had the most so the drink prices pay for them I suppose.
As it was May and early season there were lots of happy hour deals in the bars but they may change in high season so I like the bars I mentioned because the prices are the same all the time whether happy hour or not. The sphinx bar at the top near mcdonalds was good with all cocktails averaging 2'50 - 3.00e.
So, I can confidently recommend the Silver Sands, It was very clean had lovely food had great staff and lovely facilities in such a beautiful location.
Cant wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0hnny1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Our room was a side sea view, but very basic with twin beds a couple of chairs and a table. We didn't use the TV or fridge, but paid to use the safe. The bathroom was a bit tatty, and could have done with a deep clean. The beds were very comfortable, but no pillow cases on the pillows, so who had slept on them before??? The breakfast was ok but not brilliant, and bacon and sausage undercooked. The coffe machine was good until the milk ran out and they did not refill it. The salt on the tables was verey damp, so couldn't get any out (so take your own) The dinner was not very good.The soup was watery, the salad poor, and main meals not very varied. The meat was always tough. There was not much choice on pudding and the icecream was very limited.
The pool area was very good, and clean. The best sunbeds around the pool were always taken very early with towels on them but not many people. The sun beds on the grassed area were plentyful so we always got a couple of beds and an umbrella. The sea is beautiful, warm and clear.
The drinks from the bar are very expensive, so we drank out on all nights.
The entertainment was none to speak of at night.
If you need entertainment there was loads on the strip to choose from.

We caught the little red bus one day on a tour of villages, which was very interesting and informative especially about the Turkish invasion in 1974.

We enjoyed the holiday, but the hotel could do with some updating and a more adventurous cook

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hobby16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.2 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#17 of 65 in Protaras
971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#5 of 65 in Protaras
1,962 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#37 of 65 in Protaras
1,291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#48 of 65 in Protaras
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Hotel

Address: Dimokritou 3, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range: $96 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Sands is superbly located in the heart of Protaras center and primly set directly on one of the most beautiful crystal clear sandy beaches of Protaras. The hotel appeals to families and couples who seek a cozy, contemporary, stylish hotel, offering a relaxing retreat by the beach in a hospitable and welcoming atmosphere. The plunge pool with its private cabanas and the popular beach bar are the ideal spots for the ultimate relaxation. Enjoy from the lobby bar terrace the beautiful sunsets and magnificent views of the Mediterranean Sea, along with your favorite cocktail. The ideal choice for a truly memorable beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Silver Sands Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Protaras
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing