We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cyprus sep 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marlita Beach Hotel Apartments
Reviewed October 24, 2012

the marlita beach hotel appartments is a nice hotel,r room was lovely and clean,have to say the staff at the hotel could do with a kick up the backside,really not on this planet at all,sometimes very rude and not willing to help or go out of there way,the cleaners were very nice and came everyday to clean the rooms,i also like the fact that a 2 min walk took u onto the beach,but walking to protaras its self was a good half an hours walk but with the weather u get in cyprus you really dont mind,im already looking to book another hol to cyprus next sep.. will&lynsey newtownabbey,belfast

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank will_and_lynsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 929 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

When my husband myself and teenage son arrived at this hotel at midnight we were pointed in the direction of room A3 as soon as we opened the door the smell was revolting of mould and damp and urine and the hall was in a disguting mess, their was hairs on the dirty soiled sheets and the toilet was covered in black mould and a fur coat the toilet seat was stained with urine my husband went straight to reception and they came and looked at room and agreed it was disgusting but no other room was available until later the next day we didn't sleep at all that night as the smell and filth was so bad it almost made us sick all night it was worse than a cheap hostel.
The next morning head of housekeeping came and also agreed it was disgusting and gave us room B12 this was slightly cleaner but still filthy we had to scrub the toilet ourselves so we could use it their was no towels and after 4hours waiting we went to the lining cupboard and got our own, other people told us they had waited upto 5days for towels, bed lining not changed and threadbare definatley not 4star maybe 2 Thomas Cook what you thinking off promoting this hotel!! The same day it was given to another couple they are just tyring their luck putting people in hoping they wont complain.
Reception staff very rude,ignorant,unhelpful and have no manners what so ever bar staff nicer as with the diningroom staff. Meals very basic and not much choice and repeated over from lunch to tea and next day. Food was cold no matter what time you went for it flies and cats all over the place.
Maids spend all their time chatting to each other and eating food instead of cleaning, floors not brushed from beginning to end of the week . Pool area not cleaned for the whole week we were there.
Manager needs to look at the running of this hotel and follow all the issues instead of worrying what he looks like. What a shame could be a good hotel if run properly.
Thomas Cook entertainers Claire,Danni,Helana and Pete were great with the kids and were very energetic and planned lots of activities and were all really friendly maybe the staff could get tips from them.
Delayed with Thomas Cook over 2hrs on way back seems like a pattern here reading others reports.
Where has all the good customer service went? you look forward to your holidays and get bad service like this its disgusting please dont waste your money going there look elsewhere!!

Room Tip: Dont bother booking one go somewhere else or go to the YMCA it will be nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grant m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

reception staff need manors,stayed in room b14 first night ,awful full of ants and crotty,paid extra 180euros to upgrade to b05,no ants just cocroaches and damp please dont bother,very expensive resort,beach is a small bay,dont be fooled,entertainment all night whether you want it or not.thomas cook we went with told on coach when returning home that we had a5 hour delay turned out it was 7 hours.but they did give us 10 euro voucher,but no meal on plane even though it was paid for,land at manchester 14 hours after leaving resort stuck on tarmack for 1 hour,no one knows why,then another hour waiting for baggage cause plane hold wouldnt open,finaly left airport 16 hours later,never again

Room Tip: there isnt any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived at 2.30am & were sent to room C42, walking to the apartment i felt utter despair, the block was filthy even in the dark & it got worse with each footstep, on exiting the lift there looked like there had been a fire outside our room.
On opening our door the smell of urine knocked us back to the lift & it got worse once inside, the coving was half ripped off in the filthy lounge, the paint on the walls was flaking off in huge patches & the furniture was very dated. The bedroom had filthy bedding including a used tissue between the sheets, big black marks all over the walls with fist sized holes.The bathroom was floor to celing thick mould & the source of the welcoming aroma. we went straight back to reception to be told by the receptionist there were no other rooms so we got straight on the phone to the thomas cook emergency line to be told they couldn't do anything & we had to wait to see the rep at 9 so to go back to the room, as it was now nearly 6am & we'd been traveling for 24hrs & my husband was ill we reluctantly went back, he got an hour while i sat on the balcony refusing to stay for 1 second in that room.
We went back to reception just after 8, and headed straight to the gentlemen who the staff looked scared of, assuming he was the boss, we were correct & he resolved the issue instantly by asking us to return at 12 to choose from 2 available rooms, the first in A block was refused & we were taken to F block, what a difference, everything was new & modern as advertised.
The only issue was the patio windows wouldn't lock, maintenence were called & they fixed the problem, which was they were fitted incorrectly & nobody had noticed before us, also the front railings weren't screwed in and anyone leaning on it would go straight over & onto the tiles below, we told the cleaner & she just shrugged & laughed. this issue remains in F16 so beware, you have been warned!
This was our 3rd time in cyprus & it never disappoints
However It was our first time with Thomas Cook & Tsokkos & never again with either.

Room Tip: If your allocated any room in C block, refuse to move from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L00_Bee_L00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just back from staying in marlita beach 2 adults and 2 children. We stayed in D01 maid service was great clean towels everyday and sheets changed every other day we never ate at the hotel so cant comment on that but ALL the staff were great very helpfull. We went to the pool behind d block found it clean so no complaints. As for the road and paths yes some off them where bad but you go anywhere in spain or portugal etc they are all like that so deal with it.thats are first time in cyprus and will defo be goin back and stayin at marlita beach.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just back from the Marlita Beach. We were given an apartment in F block thanks to our travel agent who requested this on our behalf as when I tried to contact Tsokkos customer services and the hotel via the email addresses on their web page both emails were returned.
Apartment - clean and tidy. No drawer space which was a bit annoying but we overcame it. Cleaner came in every day and changed towels. Bedding was changed half way through the week. The external area around F block ie the pool. pathways and kids playground are shabby and in need of immediate attention. There was very little lighting on the pathways at night which could be very dangerous, due to broken pathways and pipes trailing across the paths. Around the reception and restaurant things are better, however the entrance pathway to the hotel is rubble and broken pavement with a No Parking sign blocking the pathway.
Reception - the reception staff with the exception of Loukia are rude and unhelpful. Regardless of what we asked for they were not interested and I witnessed them behaving in the same way with many guests.
Public Areas - could do with a good clean!! We watched the cleaners mop floors with dirty mops daily. We were four flights up in our apartment block and preferred to use the stairs. Food dropped on the stairs when we got there was still there when we left one week later. Toilets at the reception were disgusting. To get into the ladies toilet you had to pass the gents and the door was alway lodged open with urinals in full view - my 12 year old daughter refused to go in on her own. The smell on occasion was awful.
Restaurant - we were all inclusive and found the food to be reasonable. A couple of times we felt limited in choice but on the whole all was good. The restaurant staff were great, always helpful, pleasant and welcoming.
Thomas Cook staff - excellent. Not pushy in any way, did there best to include everybody but didnt make you feel awkward if you didnt want to join in. Despite a previous review they were not all Scottish. Claire is Scottish and was very easy to understand.
Location - good, and ideal for walking into Protaras. We didnt like Pernera. Found it to be shabby particularly the road up to the village from our hotel. Protaras was a bit better but not really our type of place.
Wouldnt recommend this hotel unless you are happy with 2 - 3 star accomodation. We noticed that Tsokkos group own many hotels around Pernera and Protaras and would think that they would improve the ongoing problems at the Marlita. The management were visible daily but did not appear to chat to guests, maybe they were worried about what they would hear.

Room Tip: Ask for block F
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jojopoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is my 3rd stay at the Marlita and the location is now even better thanks to the completion of the walkway which takes you from Perena to Fig Tree Bay fantastic walk every morning.

On our previous stays we were able to secure rooms 46 & 45 in A block by emailing in advance. These rooms have fab views we were advised at check in the apartments were full.(we understood) The next morning they did offer my friend one of these rooms but she decided to stay put.

Although the reception staff did try to help it was always a negative before a positive. You would arrive at reception and as many as four staff would ignore you and when you were acknowledged the impression was you were a nuisance.

The manager was very visible around the hotel but really needs to be a fly on the wall to address the front of house which are his customrs first and last impression.

The cleaning staff were excellent and the gardens, pool areas beautifully maintained, we ate once at the fast food van which was spotless and the food was good for the price. (lovely chap) Eating out was once again wonderful, Mojitos amazing, Il Cavalierre wonderful, Knight Bar great food, Spectrum/Piggies wonderful pub grub and hubbys kept amused by footie. Worst experience Wan Chai terrible chinese ever tasted not sure what meat was in the chicken chow mein!! waste of money.

Overall great holiday but did notice major change in clientel lots of Russian visitors who did kept themselves to themselves.

Oh and bootleggers for change of money best rate and really cheap whiskey, gin and vodka which kept us in good sprits for a fortnight.

Hope this helps other visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor block A was fine for us although D look good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brad123186554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#37 of 65 in Protaras
1,489 reviews
1.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
#38 of 65 in Protaras
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
1,195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#31 of 65 in Protaras
1,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#40 of 65 in Protaras
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlita Beach Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlita Beach Hotel Apartments

Address: 26 Afroditis Street | Pernera, Paralimni, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Protaras
Price Range: $131 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlita Beach Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlita Hotel Apartments is a cozy and fresh hotel apartment complex located on the peaceful and golden sandy beach of Marlita Bay and is just a short stroll from the lively area of Pernera. It is the perfect retreat for relaxation, lazy days by the lagoon shaped pool and perfectly suits guests seeking quality facilities and excellent service. A few meters away you will find the brand new coastal pedestrian footpath, which leads to Protaras center, a great opportunity for an afternoon walk. Next to the hotel the famous Anastasia Aquamania Waterpark offers exciting rides and splashing fun for all ages. A star choice for families that seek peacefulness along with a friendly and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marlita Beach Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlita Beach Apartments Hotel Protaras
Marlita Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing