We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brilliant Hotel Apartments
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Returned back from Protaras yeasterday and felt compelled to write a review straight away! The hotel was just as it is named.... Brilliant. We have stayed at the hotel four times before, however our last visit was in 2006 so we were intrigued to see what changes had been made. Before we arrived i emailed the hotel to request a high floor and sea/pool view as it was our first wedding anniversary, they did not disappoint, they gave us a third floor room on the corner of the building giving us a panoramic view of the sea and we also overlooked the pool bar area. The room was spacious as we remembered, however all furnishings had been replaced, a spuced up bathroom and kitchen area and a huge, very comfortable double bed as well as a large flatscreen tv had been added. The kitchen was well equipped with a kettle, toaster, microwave etc. The rooms were very clean and air conditioning was great. We did find the bath a little tight to stand in to shower and the water temperature was a little temperamental on occasion, but this did not bother us too much. We ate at the hotel most lunch times and one evening, the food and price was really good as was the service. The pool area is the most improved area of the hotel, it is fantastic, large with features such as jacuzzi etc and a paddle up pool bar where that barman ( not sure of his name) works so hard all day. The hotel also has a childrens pool which was great for parents with small children. Whilst we were there we did encounter a couple of over enthusiastic teenagers in the pool which did get a bit annoying, however the hotel cannot be held accountable for this, the parents really should have stepped in, and you get this everywhere. We did witness hotel staff taking towels off sunbeds which had been reserved before nine, we thought this was a good idea and led to everyone having a bed at different times, we didn't struggle at all to find a bed at any time of day. The location of the hotel is perfect, two minutes from the strip and about five minutes from the beach. There is something for everyone in Protaras, we would reccomend a night at Romeos on a Wednesday or Friday for the Cypriot night, it is really great entertainment, food and a fantastic atmosphere, we also really enjoyed Andama restaurant. Drinks and food were relatively cheap depending on which bar you were in, the newer trendy bars were double in price. The weather was hot hot hot everyday, we would perhaps return a bit earlier or later in the year as we have previously but if you like the heat you will not be disappointed! The beaches as always were great, especially fig tree however i would avoid Saturday and Sunday as all the Cypriots visit and although this is not a problem, there is literally no room on the beach and bats and balls everywhere, we have never seen anything like it, but hey they live there they are entitled! Back to the hotel, it is spotless, rooms are cleaned to a high standard daily as are pool areas etc. The hotel now has a kids club which seemed to keep the little ones very entertained and gave mum and dad a bit of a break, Jane also holds daily events such as competitions, volleyball, darts etc, i think an intorduction of water aerobics etc could be added but thats just me. We didn't really see the hotel entrtainment but a lot of what was on seemed to be the same performers from the strip, we did see the parrot show which many children loved. One other point the hotel seemed to play music quite loud around the pool area late into the night we were not sure why, and we didn't mind but families with children might, to be fair once we closed the balcony door and put the aircon on we couldn't hear it. I'm sure if someone mentioned it they would turn it down it just seemed a bit odd given the hotel is quite family oriented, we did wonder if they even realised? All in all we had the best time at the hotel, we would highly recommend it, and will definately return, anyone who stays here will have a great holiday!

Room Tip: ground floor rooms with terrace to the pool seemed great for families, and rooms on the corner of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dag758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    207
    47
    8
    6
See reviews for
390
212
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stopped at these apartments in June they were fantastic - Staff very friendly and nice and clean just hope the holiday makers respect them and treat them like they would their own homes which will keep them up to this standard. On returning from Ayia Napa after a historical visit to the square the bus stops outside so at 6am it is great to fall off the bus and into the apartments ! Plenty of sunbeds and not having to get up and leave towels on beds was a pleasure (Not sure what this would be like later on in the season) Swimming pool was lovely and clean. Understand the hotel has just been refurbished so hope everything stays at this high standard. Hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steph-Ade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel is absolutely fabulous the beds are enormous and the apartment were spotless the pool and surrounding areas were great the restaurant bar was very reasonable overall the hotel pats lived up to it's name. The only thing the entertainment was not up too much but you are only a short walk down to the strip overall I would rate it a 9

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was my 7th year running in Protaras & 1st time in Brilliant apts. In short, I would not advise anything but self catering or b&b. There are so many nice resturants in Protaras and you will never have a bad meal anywhere, so I would avoid half board as evening entertainment is quiet at hotel and most of the best tribute acts are on all along the strip at different bars. Main venues are Loveboat, Rockerfellas, Ghetto Bar & Sphinx. Also TJ's have a bit more laid back entertainment with an achustic band on Tue & Thur's.
The rooms are spacious & we were only in a studio, you get flat screen tv with music channels and FOX movies which is a bonus. Lidl over the road which is cheapest place for Keo beer and food. However, go to Happy Days supermarket on strip for branded drinks, a litre of smirnoff costs only £7.50!!
Pool is great with nice grass area which we used most days. Nice and relaxed and never had a problem with sun beds.
If you want a brekky, a quick walk to Rives Bar and you can get one for 3 euro excluding drink. Cheaper than hotel. As everyone says, ideal location, just walk down steps on to Eden Square and you are on the main strip.
Ignore any comments about expensive, cheaper than back home. Pint of Keo you can get for 1.70 euro, Carling 2.90 euro, bottle magners 3.50 euro. Was getting rate of 1.21 to £1 out there. Great snack meals in cheers and only fools & horses, and everywhere does some good 3 course options. Did boat trip Captain Panikos, leaves 11 am from Jetti with all other boats. Great value. 2 and a half hours, free kids & just 10 euro per adult. You get Wine or Juice, meatball (homemade), crisps etc and juicy melon. Travel to Famugusta line and then to Cape Greco for swim.
I've stayed at the Sunrise Beach hotel, Silver Sands hotel, Sandra Apts and now the Brilliant. The brilliant represent best VFM!!
If you want to sit in the hotel all night, then this is not the resort for you. All the entertainment is on the strip and the bars are much cheaper than hotel prices.
You will not be disappointed if you like relaxing in the day, average temp 35c each day when we were there, June 17th- July 1st.
I wouldnt worry about review with water problem, that has now been resolved, we had no probs with shower, as showered before 8pm.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ground floor 1 bed apts have big balcony's so good for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank w88mjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just got back from a weeks stay at the Brilliant. The Hotel is spotless. We stayed in a one bed appartment, plent of space, bed huge and very comfy. lots off storage space, kitchen was modern and had all you required kettle,toaster,microwave ect. The Pool was large and not overcrouded, plenty of loungers even if you didn't arrive by the pool till lunch time,great for all ages. The onsite restraunt served breakfast from 8-30am till 11-30 am, then a full menu from snacks to meals. We ate here for breakfast and snacks and all the food was very good.For guest on BB basis the breakfast isn't buffet style, you choose from the menu so freshly prepared. The Breakfast menu had a good choice to pick from would probably choose this on our return. The Hotel has day activities include- darts, bowls,water games and kids clubs. In the evening greek night,Elvis,Robbie plus others. If you enjoy a great meal out you must visit PALADELA RESTRAUNT! facing the Paladela is the LOVE BOAT BAR, this also has lots going on.One last thing, all the staff are very frienly and welcoming! Hope to see you all soon. Angie,keith,Cam and Ellie.

Room Tip: rooms 4 and 6 are ground floor and the balcony goes straight onto the pool area. Balcony shaded in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel has a nice appearance, first impressions were good. Reception looks great, rooms did too at 1st glance.


The pool area is good, however people don't tend to use the kids pool round the corner because it has inferior sun beds to the one in the main pool. Not a big deal though.


There was a big problem with a lack of water in between the hours of 19:00 and 02:00 in the morning 3 nights out of our 10. It affected our plans massively as it was unexpected and we couldn't shower in order to try the clubs on the saturday night, we ended up going down to the strip for a few drinks but didn't bother dressing up in our nice clean clothes and decided to try the clubs on a less busier day (unfortunately).

It also affected our plans because on subsequent dates we left the pool area or the beach early so we could catch a shower in case it went off again.

We weren't happy with how the water situation was dealt with, the hotel didn't exactly apologise or try to sweeten the guests with at least something free from the bar which would've been a good start.


The water problem, made us more annoyed about things that probably would've been a bit more trivial, for example:

• The rooms were nice but the tiles in the bathroom of our room looked rushed.
• The bath was small making turning around in the shower with your eyes closed (due to shampoo) difficult and semi-dangerous, had to be very careful,.
• Toilet was close the bath so you end up scraping your leg on it by accident when getting out the shower
• The beds were two singles pushed together rather than a double, usually I'm fine with this but they came apart easier, it was made easier once the housekeepers had made it up with a double sheet which helped keep them together.


The WiFi reception was strange, you could pick it up by the pool and the rooms as well as reception but you could only actually JOIN it in reception. I would've expected it to have been free in reception but charged if you needed it in your room, bit of a rip off considering they charge 2 euros for books that people leave at the hotel too.

One final negative is that the animation lady was rubbish, daytime entertainment consisted of killer pool or a quiz, I would've liked to have had more of a variety with things such as bingo and football, which is what you can expect at the Penera Beach Hotel in nearby Penera.

Non of this ruined our holiday but it only the water situation was handled better other things might not have got my goat.

Finally some positives:

• The hotel is quite near the beach and very close to the strip.
• There is a lovely church lit up nicely at night on the way down to Eden Square, makes for some nice photographs.
• Along the strip I would recommend finding the Mini golf and taking part in that - it was only 2.50 euros and very enjoyable.
• Also I'd recommend renting a Segway from the Segway Station near McDonalds, we wanted 30 mins each and the man said if we had an hour he'd let us have an extra 15 mins, but then actually gave us 30 extra minutes so we had 1.5 hours for the price of 1 hour.
• Also near McDonalds is the Magic Dancing Waters which is essential, I would thoroughly recommend it. Get there for 8:20pm as that's when the seats start to really fill up and when the buffet gets busy. The food is very good fr a buffet.
• Eden Square was great, loved the electric violinist they had that played over some dance music.
• Bliss Bar is nice too, great cocktails
• For food we liked Don Corelone's (on the strip) and La Cultura De Gusto (which is half an hour walk away in nearby Penera). Olympus is well overrated.
• Bus is 1 euro each to Ayia Napa, incredible
• Try and find where the Michael Jackson impersonator is playing at, he's brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mitch1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We travelled to this hotel from 6th June 2012 for 2 weeks. It was lovely & clean and the staff were very friendly. Our children who are 5 & 6 loved the kids club and the staff in there were very friendly. We ate here a few times & it was very nice and quite a lot of choice, however it was quite expensive but then again all of cyprus sems very expensive now compared tp 2 years ago. There is a few negatives however every single day they put a volleyball net up in the shallow end of the pool which restricted my children from playing in the shallow end. Some days no one even used the net at all which was a bit annoying. Also the entertainment on a nite is TERRIBLE! They advertised the same act for 3 nights running so we came back in time to watch it & it never happened. While we were ther they had a parrot show which lasted about 20 minutes and then that was it, they did bingo on a Tuesday night but there were only about 3 familys playing, on a Monday night they had a clown/magician and he was brilliant but didn't start till 9:15 and went on till 11:30 which is quiet late for children. That was the whole entertainment for 2 weeks so was very disappointed with it. Also while we there we knew 4 children who got bad ear infections & my youngest son complained of ear ache for several days but was luckily ok, so just be aware of the pool. All in all the apartments are nice but just not where i would go again. Hope this review helps.

Room Tip: All rooms have air con so nice. Pool facing rooms are nicer we ended up overlooking Lidl but could s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sair03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.4 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 65 in Protaras
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#8 of 65 in Protaras
1,834 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brilliant Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brilliant Hotel Apartments

Property: Brilliant Hotel Apartments
Address: Cavo Greco Avenue | P.O.B. 3043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Protaras
#7 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Hotel Class:1 star — Brilliant Hotel Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brilliant Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilliant Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing