We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cyprus beautiful, Elamaris Hotel was not...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Resorts Elamaris
Ranked #65 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I had booked this holiday as a surprise for my husbands 40th birthday and had read the reviews prior to us leaving the UK and was extremely worried about the hotel. On arrival at 1am in the morning we went to our apartment and I was horrified, to the point where I cried. The hotel has not been updated for at least 20-30 years. The tiles in the bathroom were mouldy and I cringed everytime I had a shower, the carpet in the bedroom was dirty. I am not a fussy person and can do basic accommodation however this was not acceptable. Some of the staff we found to be lovely, the food was fine and the pool bar was great. They also had evening entertainment which was OK, however I am not a bingo person and they did this every night! We had concerns that 11 children (my son included) during the 2 week period we were there got an ear infection from the water in the pool. The chemist did a roaring trade!! On the day of departure we were not leaving until the evening and we had been asking all week if we could pay the 30 euros to extend our stay in our room, the staff kept replying to ask on the morning of our last day so we did as advised and were told that they were fully booked!! surely they must have known about it earlier in the week? We asked if we could be moved to another room, which they would not allow. They advised there was a courtesy shower room that we could use, but you needed to book it the day prior, at no time did anyone inform us of this. In the end we used the courtesy room, one of the shower heads was broken and the hairdryer didn't work. We asked it we could have another hairdryer and they said they didn't have one, they advised us to go outside as it was warm and our hair would soon be dry! Not good customer service, they just wanted us out of the room end of! The hotel is not based in Protaras please be aware of this.

Room Tip: pool view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 390 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here august 2011 and it was ok, not as bad as it made out in some reviews on here but certainly not the best hotel. The rooms were fairly spacious and had everything you needed in them. The bath was filthy though and rooms weren't cleaned or the towels/sheets changed all week, the maids did come in 6 days (they had sundays off which meant the bins in the bathroom wasnt emptied) a week though but all they did was make the bed. The staff weren't very friendly but whenever we asked them anything they tried to sort it out. When we checked in we were told they were upgrading us to all inclusive free of charge for the first week but then half way through the week they tried to charge us for it an vitually accused us of stealing the wrist bands in the middle of the restaurant in front of everybody which was a bit embarressing! All in all the hotel was ok to stay in but its a very tired and in need of a lick of paint and is a bit expensive for what it is at the minute but with a bit of work could be a really nice hotel. They did have entertainment on every day and night which all the kids seemed to enjoy. The bar near the entrance to the hotel called bennigans was great - more expensive than most in the area but was really nice and the staff were great

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma0622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

i have been to plenty 3 star hotels b4 and this is ment to b a 4 yet this is defo a 2 star. not fussy at all bt this hotel is defo the worst i have ever been. me n my boyfriend went with 4 friends n 3 young children n n the breaky was ok the dinners was fine bt the tea there was no choice for them at all n us, n they lived off chicken nuggets n chips for a week from the snack menu. same deserts every day aswel. drinks menu was fine n the pool area n rooms were ok bt the staff were the worst i have ever com across very ignorant n never smiled at us and was rude!!! never will return.......

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaza2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

me & better half have just got back from staying here @ elamaris

having read numerous reviews on this gaff , we gave it a try & to be very honest we thought it was the bees knees !!!
we were all inclusive with a pool view (which was a bonus)
having read other reviews we would disagree with the comments that the hotel was bad
we were very surprised how big the room was , more like an apartment with kitchen/fridge plus air con & a great balcony
the other room the bedroom was huge too , plenty of room for your holiday bits&bobs

the food was the typical all inclusive fayre breakfast/lunch & dinner (with snacks inbetween) were sound

if you dont like it dont eat it !!!!!!!

the staff were great (but give em a tip & they will look after you)

the drink/booze flowed all day long , but hey there is only so much LOCAL gear you can sup as it gets boring & it just makes you wee !!!!!

overall we would recommend the elamaris but on an all in basis
as you wil!l get your pants pulled down by going OUT !!!!!!

Room Tip: request a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BUGSY39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I advise u that if u work hard all year 4 a holiday do not book this hotel its a shambles the food is crap the rooms are a disgrace n the staff r ignorant i would describe it as a hostel not a hotel my dog kennel has a better interior than the hotel room

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jackjomick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

As soon as we turned the corner and our hotel came into view I could see what it was going to be like and I wasn't wrong. Paint hanging off walls, filthy carpets (I didn't take my shoes off), poor food choice, need I go on..... We decided we would make the most of it as we were only staying one week but after we were shouted at across the restaurant by one of the 'guests' we decided enough was enough.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NannieNuisance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I went to this hotel with my family we arrived quite late and we had had no food after a long day of traveling we got our keys and we went to our room as soon as we walked in it looked ok but the balcony was loose it contained wasps nests bat poo all over toilet didn't flush ithe food was horrific I would not have fed it to the dog there was no plates at dinner or any meal time we got STUCK in the lift for 20 mins with children there was no air con we used the emergency telephone she answerd and said how can I help we said were stuck in lift B2 she said someone will be over now we tried again and she said how can I help I said the same and she said he working the bar then on the 3rd try she ignored we tried the 4th time and after 13 rings she said what's up now so we said there's no air con we got children in the lift she said he coming over he got us out with a screwdriver and 3 paint brushes we got out 10 mins after he got us out 3 got out and the doors slammed shut then we all got out he was laughing cos we were soaking in sweat and cos we were stuck also when we got over to the reastraunt it was empty no food discusting never again don't even book it

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anomiusperson2k11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.7 mi away
Artemis Hotel Apartments
Artemis Hotel Apartments
#47 of 65 in Protaras
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#23 of 65 in Protaras
427 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alva Hotel Apartments
Alva Hotel Apartments
#21 of 65 in Protaras
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments
2.6 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
922 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#49 of 65 in Protaras
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Resorts Elamaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Resorts Elamaris

Address: Cape Greco Avenue, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: $36 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Resorts Elamaris 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown Resorts Elamaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel Protaras
Crown Resort Elamaris
Crown Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing