We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another year, still fab”

Hippocampus Lounge Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 160 Restaurants in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hippocampus Lounge Restaurant located in Protaras, which is a famous tourist area in Cyprus. Serves great, simple dishes in a modern and stylish environment. The Lounge Cafe Restaurant is the ideal setting for any occasion. Eclectic dishes, all of which are made on the premises by the restaurant's chef, range from chicken, pork, beef plates to the more traditional Greek Mousaka, delectable seafood plates, ensuring there is something to tempt everyone, while the wines and cocktails provide the perfect accompaniment to any dish. The service is always professional and attentive, while the atmosphere informal and relaxed.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Another year, still fab”
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Been twice again this year, really enjoyed both nights. Food good, cocktails fine enough, but one of best places in Protaras to eat. It a lovely place and you are looked after by staff. Frappe's are superb! If ordering sea bass fillets, get sauce seperate as it is not right for serving with fish (honey type sauce!) staff lovely and recognised us from last year. Def worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DarkandStormy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    112
    32
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good value”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Good menu, with good selection of food, generous portions and good value for money. The pizzas are enormous, usually enough for 2 people and not 1.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Went here 3 times!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We came here 3 times throughout out stay and excellent service every time (the 2nd time we went the dessert and bill came a bit slow that is all) and extremely yummy food. I had the special hippo penne first time which was delicious and the lasagne was also delicious. The pizza was good but was thin (i personally prefer deep pan) The english waiter was very funny and kept us updated when we had to wait for a table, and kept apologizing that we had to wait.

Good range of food, delicious desserts!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BernieLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just returned from holiday and we had a lovely meal in the Hippocampus. I had tzatziki with pitta which was very tasty, then chicken in peppercorn sauce and I have to say it was ne of the best peppercorn sauces I have ever eaten. The chicken was cooked lovely too. My daughter had gammon which has succulent and a good size portion. Would defo visit this place again, staff were very nice too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank difah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“5* nom nom nom”
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We found this place 4 days before returning home and ate there every night. Staff fantastic, food perfect and top quality meat cooked to perfection, 2 course meal for 9 euros. Highly recommend eating here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippocampus Lounge Restaurant also viewed

 
Protaras, Paralimni
 
Protaras, Paralimni
 

Been to Hippocampus Lounge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing