We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastisk stay :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Grimstad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Grimstad
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grimstad
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastisk stay :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been to this hotel 2 times now and both times have been absolutly fantastik. The stafe Are ausom, food, great and the rooms are really nice and clean. The breakfest area and the food is amaising, i normaly dont eat in the morning, but at Rica i eat a great breakfest every morning :) I will defenatly be back next summer :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonetcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin S, Reception at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you want to visit us again. Hope you have had a pleasant summer and that we will se you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    57
    23
    4
    5
See reviews for
30
61
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have stayed in Grimstad Hotel for a few fantastic days in July for the since 2002. Last year we were most pleased with the room we had, and actually asked to get the same this year, and we actually got it ! You can imagine we were pleased ! The staff is really charming and helpful , and the hotel is just fantastic, a white wooden building which falls exactly in with the architecture of Grimstad, very nice clean room, airy with an excellent choice of materials and a wonderful view and lovely bathroom with all amenities. We also do appreciate the possibility for making coffee and tea in the room. There is also always coffee and water free in the reception. The breakfast was also excellent, with a wide range of hot and cold dishes. The staff were quick to replenish if some dishes run out, they did a superb job, it was actually really peak season. We can really recommend this hotel, every visit is an amazing,enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Would recommend a superior room in the old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imsowich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin S, Reception at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for these great comments and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate it and are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during a transit trip (between houses) and Its an Amazing hotel. Just no more words.

Its a bit costly If you compare to other hotels, but Its 'the' best. Food is awesome and perfectly cleaned rooms.

In-front of Rica you can find the asian store, where you can get all the asian stuff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravindran2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a great place to stay in the center of Grimstad. Very intimate and interesting interior.
We sure was treated good by a very service minded and friendly staff.
Nothing much to put our fingers on, apart from a bad experience with the restaurant. This was fixed at once in a nice and professional way. Many thanks to the lovely lady at sales that took care of everything for us.
Next time we are in Grimstad, we are sure that this hotel will be our “home” Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin S, Reception at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Tom, thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you want to visit us again. We hope to see you again soon, have a nice summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a great hotel. The staff always greet you, the rooms are clean and nice. Excellent beds. Nice ambiance in the lobby and dining room. Good breakfast, fresh smoothies. The staff always asks if you need more coffee. The ony negative thing was that they serve a small bacon slice on top of a fried egg. With a buffet like that this was a let down. But it's a great hotel! We will visit this hotel again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shibbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin S, Reception at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are glad to hear that you want to visit us again here in Grimstad, you are always welcome! We appreciate your kind words and we hope it won't be too long before you want to visit us again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in the middle of town, with walking distance to many of the towns restaurants. Rooms are nice and staff are always smiling and helpful. Great breakfast with lots of dishes, meat and fish, to choose from. Looking forward to the next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aukanaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin S, Reception at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and kind words. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us in Grimstad and we are hoping to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and the first room I had was clean, compact with a smart shower room and lovely view. My experience of the hotel was marred by a combination of extremely inexperienced staff, faulty wiring and a truly awful evening meal in the restaurant.
On arrival there was only one member of staff who was completely overwhelmed by a party of around 6-7 people who had already checked in but were asking for help/directions. So I waited a pretty long time to be checked in - I would have had a drink in the tiny bar beside reception but there was no-one available to serve.
I found my room, there was no-one to help with luggage, and unpacked. I then called reception and requested the use of an iron. The girl asked me to come down for it. Anyone else would have brought it to my room but no, so I collected the iron and the iron board and carried it upstairs. There was only one plug in my room immediately behind the door so had no choice but to put the ironing board up there. I no sooner plugged it in than it blew the lights in the room. I'm now in the pitch black unable to get to the door. I call reception and explain the situation. They leave me there in the pitch black for 20mins while trying to find someone to fix the lights. This person never materialises, so I call back and suggest they might need to move me to another room - the receptionist was clearly put out by this. She asked me to come back down to reception and I explained again that I couldn't get out the room and was reluctant to try to move a faulty electrical appliance in the dark.
She eventually came, with no light or torch as might have been helpful and I had to traipse down to reception to get a fresh room key. I then went through the trying process of getting another iron - which she asked me not to plug in, in the hallway as it might blow the lights in the whole hotel!
I eventually made it to the restaurant for something to eat and ordered the burger as I thought it was a safe choice. It was eventually served to me raw by a girl who clearly hadn't even looked at what was on the plate. When I sent it back she exclaimed 'oh not again'. She did not in the meantime offer me bread or anything as a substitute.
On checking out the following morning I explained my disappointing experience but was offered no reduction to my bill, they even insisted I pay for the peanuts I was forced to eat from the room after the appalling meal.
In short this hotel has nice rooms and a wonderful breakfast but the service left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddy352001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rannveig J, Front Office Manager at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback - we appreciate this!

Sorry to hear that you are not completely satisfied with our hotel and service. As we strive to improve on a daily basis, we depend on your feedback. I am sorry that we did not receive your complaint earlier, so that we could more easily address the issues of concern, however we will do our best to fix this now.

We hope to see you again in Grimstad some day in the future, and that we can live up to our standards then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimstad
3.4 mi away
Strand Hotel Fevik
Strand Hotel Fevik
#1 of 4 in Grimstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
10.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
#1 of 5 in Arendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
10.3 mi away
Arendal Maritime Hotel
Arendal Maritime Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Lillesand Hotel Norge
Lillesand Hotel Norge
#1 of 1 in Lillesand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
19.3 mi away
Dyreparken Hotell
Dyreparken Hotell
#6 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
10.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Arendal
Thon Hotel Arendal
#2 of 5 in Arendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grimstad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grimstad

Property: Scandic Grimstad
Address: Kirkegaten 3, Grimstad 4878, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Grimstad)
Location: Norway > Southern Norway > Aust-Agder > Grimstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grimstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Grimstad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the market in Grimstad our cosy hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting this charming town. We have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. Get a good nights sleep in one of our comfortable rooms, eat a hearty breakfast, borrow a bike and go for a ride. Come back and enjoy a nice dinner in our popular restaurant Kjeller'n in the evening. Our hotel also offer you various meeting rooms in different sizes as well as our own garage and free WiFi in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Grimstad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing