We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Derrin Guest House B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Larne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My partner, our step-daughter & myself stayed at Derrin for a week in the middle of August. First impressions were fantastic, lovely tiled floor in hallway. We were welcomed immediately by Ivy & Siebe who were very friendly. We were shown to our room which was very tastefully decorated. We also had a lovely view of Agnew's Hill from one of the windows. The room & en-suite bathroom were spotlessly clean and remained that way for our entire stay. All three of us had breakfast every morning, some of us eating various things, these were perfectly presented and cooked. We had a wonderful holiday which was complimented by our stay at Derrin. We would recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Larne. We will definately be back to stay at Derrin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OptimisticLarne, Owner at Derrin Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Hi Derek, Ann and Laura
Thank you for your review and for staying with us for a week. We always enjoy having guests who stay for a while as it gives us a chance to get to know them. Glad you enjoyed the breakfasts. We try to introduce a bit of variety as people do not want to eat the same thing every day.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes.
Ivy and Siebe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Derrin Guest House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 226 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed at the property for 2 nights before travelling to Troon on the Ferry. Property is well located just a short walk to the town centre and is a 15 minute walk to the Ferry Port. The property does not suffer from any excess noise and contains all appointments that guests would be seeking. more importantly, all appointments worked. Whilst the room we had was a little cramped, the owners advised that they were planning to rearrange the room to provide a little more space. The owners are very helpful in suggesting places to see and places to dine. Breakfast is more than acceptable and during our stay the room was full of guests each day. Would have no problem in recommending the property as an appropriate place to stay when visiting Larne

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkyposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

this Bed and Breakfast was 1st class.The room was comfortable and clean .Proprietor was very helpfI..ul .Breakfast lovely.I didn't feel rushed at breakfast and enjoyed my food better.I actually stayed about 3 years ago

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent one might at Derrin House, and would definitely recommend. Lovely and friendly hosts, and a lovely breakfast in the morning, can see why rated no. 1 in Larne. Nice quiet location, and well equipped rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here at end of an end to end Ireland cyle in the stifling heatwave. Beautifully appointed room to rear of house, quiet and very clean. Nice lounge with fantastic map of Ireland and comfy sofa and chairs. Excellent wi-fi. Owner gave us great recommendation for restaurant above wine bar in town. Does not look much but great place. Can't really comment on breakfast although we were left what we needed in readiness for early departure from ferry terminal which was only a 2 minute cycle. Just the job.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are in rear of house, probably quieter but to be honest it was a pretty quiet location
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahestephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Derrin Guest House. It is at the top of our list of B & B's we stayed at in Ireland. This was a family trip and we appreciated being given rooms on the lower floor so my mother didn't need to climb stairs. The rooms were appealing with lots of extra amenities. The lounge, with computer available and a "book trade" area was very comfortable .One big plus was how easy it was to locate. Siebe and Ivy couldn't have been nicer.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Margie780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Efficient welcome, great value for lovely clean B and B. we stayed 1 night as we were getting early ferry home to Scotland. The proprietor kindly left us a continental breakfast as we were leaving early. Would definitely use in future again. Had. Nice meal in "carriages" restaurant on main street just round corner from guest house, again helpful waiters, plentiful food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlsroadtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larne
3.8 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
297 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaview Guest House
Seaview Guest House
#4 of 7 in Larne
49 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halfway House Hotel
Halfway House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Ballygally
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrin Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrin Guest House B&B

Address: 2 Princes Gardens, Larne BT40 1RQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Larne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Larne
Price Range: $83 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derrin Guest House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derrin House is a beautifully appointed, award winning Bed and Breakfast (B & B) offering four star accommodation in a quiet residential area close to the bustling town centre of Larne and the ferry terminal. Free WiFi available in all rooms. "One of our favourite places to stay in Northern Ireland" by the Routard Guide.We are also very close to trains and buses to Belfast. We can arrange pick up from near our house for tours to the Giant's Causeway! Please contact us for discounted ferry fares to and from Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Derrin Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derrin Guest House B&B Larne, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing