We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent value for money B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Derrin Guest House B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Larne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2011

A well located B&B for those wanting to catch the ferry to or from Northern Ireland and Scotland. It is less than 5 minutes from the ferry and is very easy to find in Larne. It has plenty on street safe car parking. The rooms are very comfortable, well decorated and furnished, all with ensuite facilities and tvs. There is also a very nice residents lounge with a tv. We loved the personal service and the friendliness of the owners Ivy Chalmers and Siebe Wynberg. We have been there twice and they have made us very welcome. They also provide excellent information on local attractions and pubs, restaurants and cafes. This is very useful when visiting a new town. A very enjoyable stay and highly recommendede to others visiting the area for the ferry or to see the Giants Causeway and other scenery around the Antrim Coast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 228 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2011

Due to an overbooking, I was actually unable to stay at the Derrin House; however, I wanted to share what wonderful care Ivy and Siebe took to make sure I was comfortable lodged elsewhere. Siebe even drove me to the Seaview Inn himself, and offered to pick me up the next day in order to utilize their lounge. The alternative accommodations they arranged for me were absolutely lovely, and Marianne at the Seaview could not have been sweeter. I had a wonderful weekend in Larne, and would certainly book at the Derrin House or the Seaview again.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
Thank Moonery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

My husband John and I were part of a group staying at "Derrin House" and what an enjoyable stay we had from our arrival to our leaving every thing was first class.
Friendly,excellent breakfasts,spotless comfortable what more can I say.Would recommend with no hesitation. out of 10-....11........

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

On a recent trip up the scenic Antrim coastline in Northern Ireland, I found myself stranded with a flat tire on a dark, sleeting night with no place to stay. Passersby pointed me to the Derrin Guest House. They were my pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

The host and hostess welcomed me in and made restaurant recommendations. I found the room to be very clean and comfortable in all regards. The breakfast provided wholesome options and eggs cooked to order.

Without even my asking, they called around to find a place that would fix my flat. It was just a short walk from the B&B, but I sense they would have driven me if it was too far away. They even helped me take off the tire!

Ivy and Siebe are the most pleasant and accommodating people I encountered on the trip. I highly recommend the Derrin Guest House for anyone looking for a reasonably priced, warm, welcoming place to stay in the western part of Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

As mentioned in most of the other reviews we found the hosts very friendly and helpful. They recommend a nice place for a meal and gave us directions to get there. We had a problem with our hire care and Ivy assited us (after many attempts) to contact the hire company (they had given us the wrong phone numbers). She even suggested that we take a walk and visit the sights in Larne whilst we were waiting for the repairman to come and she would call us when he arrived. Siebe even cooked me porridge for my breakfast which was delicious. The only negative I have is that my husband found the bed to be too hard for him, and he did not sleep well (we were on the ground floor at the rear). If was fine for me! Having Wifi was great (or you could use their computer for a small fee) Lovely Lounge area for guests. I would definitedly recommend Derrin Guest House.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Lovely place to stay, nice room, comfy bed, great breakfast, very helpful owners.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibinere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Everything you could ask for to make your stay in N.Ireland,The manager of the STATION BAR in Larne "Steven",phoned and booked my wife and I,into The Derrin and we found it to be of an excellent home from home,breakfast was very good,and the owners were very nice and helpful.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank rizzlabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larne
0.5 mi away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
300 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,413 reviews
13.9 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
305 reviews
15.4 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
14.9 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrin Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrin Guest House B&B

Address: 2 Princes Gardens, Larne BT40 1RQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Larne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Larne
Price Range: $82 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derrin Guest House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derrin House is a beautifully appointed, award winning Bed and Breakfast (B & B) offering four star accommodation in a quiet residential area close to the bustling town centre of Larne and the ferry terminal. Free WiFi available in all rooms. "One of our favourite places to stay in Northern Ireland" by the Routard Guide.We are also very close to trains and buses to Belfast. We can arrange pick up from near our house for tours to the Giant's Causeway! Please contact us for discounted ferry fares to and from Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Derrin Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derrin Guest House B&B Larne, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing