We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, fine restaurant, nice owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Appenzell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Appenzell
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, fine restaurant, nice owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, right on the Landsgemeindeplatz, with excellent rail connections to the whole of Canton Appenzell. Nice room (nothing fancy) with helpful owners (Shout-out to Stephan Sutter) and staff (who were nice enough to let me use a brush and rag for cleaning hiking boots).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgpboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    33
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
52
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

In the center of town and boasting an excellent bakery and a good if not great restaurant, this pretty and well-run property offers a good location, generally good service, and a nice base for visiting Appenzell. The Appenzell card gets you free train, cable car, and museum admissions and is a great asset in visiting the region with a minimum of fuss, particularly if you are not driving. We found Appenzell, as is true of Switzerland, overpriced for what it offers, but that is hardly the fault of the Hotel whose charges are consistent with the going rates in this area. If noise is a consideration and given that there can be heat spells here and there is no air conditioning, consider a room in the back of the hotel that doesn't face the square. The hotel rooms do show signs of aging (spotting on the rugs and some of the chairs in our room for example) but they also have some of the charm of old friends, with oversize old-fashioned furniture and spotless maintenance. Breakfast is fine, if not inspiring, and the bakery and gelato really are stellar. I wouldn't take half-board, however, as the menu is somewhat static and there are other very good restaurants in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the square and facing the back are quieter, particularly if you like to open your wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
373 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Free parking behind the hotel - the desk clerk will help you find it. Lovely rooms with windows opening onto the busy town square. Quiet at night. Very nice breakfast buffet. Great location.
Excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcgannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
169 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

First it should be noted that the hotel picture Tripadvisor has is of the Hotel Santis not the Appenzell. Anyway we had a terrific stay here. The staff are as helpful and friendly as one could hope for. We had a room facing the side street and noise was not an issue at all for us. We had half board for dinner which worked quite well and all of our meals were delicious. As with the rest of the staff the waitstaff was as friendly as could be. If one is staying more that three days I would suggest occasionally going out to another restaurant only because the menu does not change very often. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avidhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the beginning of our trip after driving from Zurich. Appenzell is a charming village and we booked this hotel off the recommendations off Tripadvisor and were not disappointed! we had a large room at the front of the hotel - light and bright with lots of windows overlooking the main square. This family run hotel is clean and comfortable - the beds are large and very comfy after a long trip from Australia. The staff are very helpful and welcoming and everyone spoke english which was really helpful as my swiss-german is very poor!! Breakfast, lunch or dinner are available at the cafe below the hotel which is run by the same family and you are in for a treat! The meals are generous and delicious and they have a seasonal menu using local produce. The pastries at the cafe can be purchased with a tea or coffee and eaten outside under umbrellas whilst watching the passing parade on the square - very relaxing and great fun.

Room Tip: We had a large corner suite which was light and sunny overlooking the square. It was on the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel Appensell, Appensell Switzerland

Wow!! What a charming, clean, functional, beautiful place to rest my head. The hotel is wonderful, the staff very pleasant and helpful. I spent two nights In a single room. It was classy and had so many nice touches. A real shower, tile in the bathroom, lush carpets, great feather pillows, a nice armoire, all made for an excellent stay. The windows block out the sound outside and are large and easy to operate. The location was perfect, I spent my days hiking the valley and mountain trails. The town itself was cute and had lots of great shops and restaurants. But the hotel's restaurant was great! I had amazing soups and a delicious chicken dinner. The morning breakfast was great too, lots of cereals and freshly baked goods, fruit and cheese. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and the best thing was the price was very reasonable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaEddieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 17th and 18th July 2013. Fabulous hotel, beautiful room and excellent food. The staff are charming, helpful and very friendly. The scenery in the area is just spectacular and one feels transported to another world. The overall experience was incredible - you must go there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redstickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appenzell
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Santis
Romantik Hotel Santis
#2 of 16 in Appenzell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
#1 of 16 in Appenzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#4 of 16 in Appenzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hof Weissbad
Hotel Hof Weissbad
#1 of 7 in Weissbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
5.6 mi away
Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof
0.5 mi away
Freudenberg Hotel
Freudenberg Hotel
#5 of 16 in Appenzell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Appenzell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Appenzell

Property: Hotel Appenzell
Address: Am Landgemeindeplatz, Appenzell 9050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Appenzell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Appenzell 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Appenzell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing