We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable base for hiking”
Review of Hotel Appenzell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Appenzell
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable base for hiking”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My three days at Hotel Appenzell were perfect, despite rain. My room overlooked the little square in front of the hotel and was quite roomy and comfortable. I ate dinner twice in the hotel's restaurant and was impressed by fresh and delicious food, and the breakfast was also impressive. The hotel is easy to find and the staff are helpful. I was there to hike, and because I stayed three nights, the hotel provided a pass covering all transportation and all mountain lifts. There was either rain or fog or drizzle, but I went hiking anyway, and it was spectacular. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    35
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
57
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I made a special trip by train for several hours just to sit and enjoy lunch at this wonderful location. We had dinner at the Hotel Appenzell during the summer when we were camping in this magical location. This weekend we did a day trip just for the joy of enjoying autumn here.

The food was outstanding and the service excellent despite the fact that all the tables were full. We sat at an outside table and enjoyed the ambience until it was time to catch the train.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeyaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived in the afternoon by train. After walking into town wheeling our bags into the hotel the front desk person told us our rooms were not ready. Thus, we were asked to leave our bags in the lobby (not behing the counter) until our room was ready, we were not offered a secure place to put our bags. Other reviewers raved about the service they received at this hotel, however, it seems several times that we were an inconvenience. We asked for ice in the restaurant for our room, and the waitress was horribly inconvenienced as was the girl behind the counter to scoop some ice into a cup for us. That afternoon on my second ice "run" I asked the female owner if I could pay for our room. She said that it was too busy in the restaurant for me to pay then and asked if I could come back. When I came back she ran my card through about 5 times before we were finally paid and done (she apologized). That afternoon there was a tractor parade through town and later that evening we found the tractor collectors, their music and met the Hotel Appenzell's neice who was serving at the tractor event. She seriously needs to be working for her aunt and uncle at the hotel, she would be a welcome addition. She was kind, outgoing, and friendly and waited on us bringing beer and served as a translator for us! We loved her! The redeeming factor came when the female owner made arrangements for us to have a very early breakfast in their beautiful breakfast room. The hostess that morning made us feel welcome and certaintly not an imposition at 5:30 a.m. That hostess and that breakfast are really the only good memories we took home with us. I was so determined to visit Appenzell, but now, I really wish we'd just have gone directly to Innsbruck instead. Sorry Appenzell....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sursee, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in a beautiful room that had a great view overlooking the plaza. We were in the heart of shopping and a carnival the second we walked out of the door. The room was big, with a nice, large bathroom and soaker tub. The linens and bed were soft and comfortable, the art was local, old and gorgeous, the crystal chandeliers were lovely and the furniture had a built in a radio that played lovely, classical music. The bright, big windows all opened and allowed a gentle breeze in at all times. The breakfast was wonderful and service was great. Thank you Hotel Appenzell, we will be back!

Room Tip: The view overlooking the plaza is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmriJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Even if this were a terrible hotel ( it isn't terrible at all!) , the warm and charming welcome would mahe it worth visiting. The reception. Was so warm and pleasing, so helpful, so accommodating .... A sheer delight. Our room was clean and comfortable, and our little requests for were met at once. The friendly helpfulness was apparent throughout our stay. Dinner in the restaurant was ok, the breakfast in the morning was excellent. Recommended.

Room Tip: I clicked on swimming pool and fitness center by mistake. I dont think the hotel has either
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jon-dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanSutter, Manager at Hotel Appenzell, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Gentleman

We hope you had a good journey back home.

We want to thank you for your entry on TRIPADVISOR.COM.
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time at Hotel Appenzell.

We would love to see you soon again in our beautiful Appenzellerland.
In the meantime, we wish you all the best.

Best regards from sunny Appenzell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

On our summer holiday to Europe in July, we enjoyed our 4th visit to Hotel Appenzell. While the rooms were as clean as ever, the meals and breakfast most enjoyable and the staff most helpful and attentive, there was one new element that added to another satisfying stay at this wonderful hotel; the addition of Stephan, son of owners Margrit and Leo, who told us that he had joined the business since our last visit. Stephan greeted us upon arrival and his gleeming smile and outgoing personality were always evident during our stay. He is a great addition to an establishment that will only get better as he guides and influences its ditection in the future. Good luck to you Stephan!

Room Tip: Upper floors on the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWPfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very nice hotel perched right on the main square. Large rooms with very nice bathrooms. Close to the train station. Great bakery on the first floor. Very helpful staff. Not specific to this hotel but the church clock chimes all night.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the town square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCHoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appenzell
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Santis
Romantik Hotel Santis
#2 of 16 in Appenzell
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
#1 of 16 in Appenzell
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Landgasthaus Neues Bild
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof
2.5 mi away
Hotel Frohe Aussicht
Hotel Frohe Aussicht
#2 of 7 in Weissbad
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stossplatz Hotel
Stossplatz Hotel
#10 of 16 in Appenzell
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Appenzell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Appenzell

Property: Hotel Appenzell
Address: Am Landgemeindeplatz, Appenzell 9050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Appenzell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Appenzell 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Appenzell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing