We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Santis
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Romantik Hotel Santis, is situated very centrally. The rooms are big and really well appointed. The bathroom large and lovely and light. The restauarant was really super, the breakfast was great, plenty of choice, and it just kept coming, no worry of running out. The dinner restauarant is on the front of the hotel, super views, lovely to sit for a coffee, beer, then have dinner. Can really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room over looking the square, i loved it because we had 6 windows across the room...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Romantik Hotel Santis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 171 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days for a company trainingcourse. The hotelroom was very large, well equiped and comfortable and good size beds. Staff was very friendly, pure and attentive. Also the restaurant quality is above par for this type of hotel! I had a very good stay here, and would book this hotel privately without a single second of doubt!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoostWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Clean, lovely. large rooms especially those fronting the town square. Exceptionally good food in the hotel restauarant, with very good service.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmotg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Pros: the building looks lovely, the lobby, bar and restaurant look nice and feel comfortable with this warm chalet feeling.
It is fairly easy to find
The room was large and warm.
There was a "toys corner" in one corridor with lots of nice wooden toys to entertain our daughter.
They have good cots for rent
The staff was neither particularly friendly nor unfriendly, just polite and doing their job.
Our room was located on the side just above the private parking spaces and the road. it was however fairly quiet, we did not hear any noise.

Cons:The hotel has only 3 or 4 space for cars, which seemed to be occasionnally used by locals to park for a quick stop... not veyr convenient. There is however a paying car park just in front of the hotel
The room we stayed in was nowhere as beautiful as the common areas. In fact it was quite old looking, old fashioned. yet it was comfortable (good bed, warm in winter)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinesharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We chose the Hotel Säntis because of its location, right on the Landesgemeindeplatz, in the town of Appenzell. Although we have lived in Switzerland for many years, we had never been to Appenzell and wanted to be right in the centre of town. The hotel - the only 4 star one I could find in Appenzell - is OK and the staff very nice. It is not what one might call a "memorable" place.

To start with and this has nothing to do with the hotel, we were very disappointed in the appearance of the Landesgemeindeplatz. we had envisaged something far more attractive than what is really a large parking lot! Given the historic importance of this platz it is strange that it has not been made more attractive! The hotel is right on the square and has a large terrace. Although it was late November at the time of our visit, at 3pm the terrace was crammed with people enjoying the afternoon sun on a warm day. I can only imagine what it must be like in summer - at least once the sun went down when we were there the crowd left and with them the noise and bustle. In summer I would not want to have a room overlooking the square as it must be very noisy late into the evening.

The hotel is a very old, wooden building - in fact two joined together - and picturesque from the outside. It is well maintained on the inside and our room was quite large and reasonably comfortable. I would have preferred heavier curtains or shutters to keep out the light at night as the hotel's façade is lit quite brightly. The beds were comfortable with nice fluffy duvets. The bathroom was adequate though it had a linoleum floor, which I personally do not like. But to be fair, in an old wooden building it is probable that a tile floor would be too heavy for the structure. On thing that surprised us was the sound-proofing inside the hotel which was excellent. There was a jazz concert in the bar the night we were there and we heard absolutely nothing from our room, nor from the dining room below us.

Speaking of the bar we were shocked to see that smoking was permitted there. Switzerland has for some time banned smoking in public places and we have not experienced any smoking in bars and restaurants in the canton we live in. Apparently in Appenzell smoking is allowed in bars. We wanted to have a drink in the bar but rather than risk smelling smoke we decided to have it in the dining room.

We had originally planned to eat in the hotel's second restaurant which specializes in local dishes. This was not possible as it was closed the night we were there. So we ate in the main restaurant. The menu choices were pretty standard international dishes, with no local things at all which was too bad. The food was OK, no more no less. But quite expensive for what it was, I thought.

Breakfast was in the same restaurant and was the usual hotel buffet with some very nice breads.

I think this hotel is most likely the best there is in the canton and certainly in the town of Appenzell. It was not amazing but it was not bad either. I would not compare it to a four star hotel here in the Valais but all the cantons are different and approach things differently! On the whole I would say it is average, and for the cost perhaps a little disappointing...

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask if one is available away from the main square.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hambagahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Everything went perfectly. The staff at the front desk was very helpful with directions, maps, and suggestions. The bar staff was very nice as was the restaurant staff. The food was wonderful and the restaurant very pretty. We were able to dine while overlooking the main square. Our room was very pretty and the bath was spacious. The hotel kept our bags while we were on the trail hiking and had them waiting in our room upon our return. For a fee we were able to leave the car while we hiked. The hotel was expensive but then everything is expensive in Switzerland these days. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SharonJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks traveling Switzerland, Santis was our first stop and favorite. The hotel was lovely and traditional, the town quaint and genuine. Room was terrific, lots of space for a family of 4 in the junior suite with a terrific view of the town square and all that passes in the town. Unfortunately our son got ill just as we arrived and we needed medical attention, the staff was extremely helpful in finding a local doctor and helping with setting up appointments and translations for medication, I cannot imagine what we would have done without this gracious help. Such a wonderful Swiss experience, we enjoyed it immensely. Stayed 2 nights/3 days, probably would have added an additional day to explore the area a bit more.

Room Tip: Junior Suite with the spiral staircase was lovely, lots of room, light and airy
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJacklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appenzell
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
#1 of 16 in Appenzell
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Appenzell
Hotel Appenzell
#3 of 16 in Appenzell
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#4 of 16 in Appenzell
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hof Weissbad
Hotel Hof Weissbad
#1 of 7 in Weissbad
192 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Heiden
Hotel Heiden
#1 of 1 in Heiden
176 reviews
5.6 mi away
Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Santis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Santis

Address: Landsgemeindeplatz 3 | 9050 Appenzell, Appenzell 9050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Appenzell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Price Range: $211 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Santis 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appenzeller hospitality is preserved and nurtured in the ROMANTIK HOTEL SANTIS. It's grand facade faces onto the Landsgemeindeplatz and offers a magnificent view of the surrounding hills and mountains. The interesting region Appenzellerland entertains all ages with it's history and traditions. A visit to the charming village of Appenzell with it's original boutiques is an absolute must while in Switzerland. The Heeb family and their team are happy to pamper their guests when they return to the cosy hotel from hikes, excursions, winter ski tours or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Romantik Hotel Santis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Appenzell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing