We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Traditional Swiss Accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gasthaus Hof

Gasthaus Hof
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Appenzell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gasthaus Hof
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Dalian, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Traditional Swiss Accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel four two nights. We ate dinner at the hotel both nights and enjoyed both cheesy meals. We appreciated that it seemed to be a favorite for the locals. The staff was very friendly. The rooms clean and quaint, but be careful if you're over 6 foot. The ceilings are very low in the hallways and rooms. Also, the walls are pretty thin. We could hear our neighbors walking in the unit above us and hear the couple next to us talking. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJBB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
14
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We checked out every hotel in Appenzell and far preferred this to the more expensive, flasher places. Staff made us feel incredibly welcome - and even gave us a present when we left, even though we'd only been there one night. Beautiful view of mountains and roof tops from our room on top floor. Cosy, very popular restaurant with classic local, cheesy dishes

Room Tip: Ask for top floor so you can see the mountains, as well as watch what's going on in the town squ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

My husband and I had a six day walking holiday in the Hof, we loved our stay the staff were very friendly and helpful, we were greeted by Theres, who was very warm and showed us to our room, the rooms were clean and comfortable. We could not fault the hotel food was good and always served to us in a friendly way, Theres and Nurgul were most helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We would love to return for another holiday......The whole area is easily reached by train and if you stay more than three nights you receive a gift card which is a travel card for the public transport. The train station was very close just a five minute walk. There is a lovely little shop at the station if you need to buy drinks or food for you walk. Thank you to Theres and Nurgul for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: five minutes walk from the station,very central
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

Check in is in the restaurant. Walk in, when they come to seat you, tell them you are looking for a room. The staff was VERY helpful. They speak almost no English, and we speak no German, but it was not a problem.

We stayed in a room for four people. It was good sized, with two single beds and two more that folded out of the wall. All beds were comfortable,but you obviously lose most of your free space with the beds pulled down.

Small TV, no remote, and no english stations (not a complaint, just letting you know). Small, clean bathroom with stand up shower. No toiletries provided, but hand soap at the sink. We were in the back building, not the one with the restaurant. We faced the street, and it was a little noisy in the morning, but with this location, I doubt that can be helped.

Location is in the middle of town, approximately 30 second walk from the town square. Plenty of very nice shopping and a bunch of restaurants. The hotel restaurant is nice, and you can ask for an English menu.

Breakfast is included, and good (Swiss). Meat, cheese, bread,coffee and you can ask for an egg. Again, no English, but not a problem. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaHavoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

We stayed at the Gasthaus Hof for our first night of a 3 week trip in Switzerland. We drove here straight from downtown Zurich after picking up our rental car. The town is definitely the “quintessential Switzerland” and was very fun to see. To check in we went into the restaurant and the girl (really sweet) showed us our room which was up 2 floors (no lift). The rooms were very small, but most of the rooms in Europe are. The ceiling was low – my 6’2” husband’s head was inches from the ceiling! Everything was clean and neat. The beds were typical European with a bed sheet and a feather comforter and pillow. We had dinner there at the hotel. The menu was not in English, though they had a menu that had pictures that we could point to. The staff working at the hotel spoke very limited English. Being our first night we were a little lost on ordering so we didn’t really get what we wanted, but it was satisfactory. We both slept well. The shower (the entire bathroom was tiny) was small but had great water pressure. No toiletries (shampoo, etc.) were offered. The breakfast downstairs was a typical Swiss style and very good with cheese and bread and meats (no eggs). The coffee was phenomenal! We paid at checkout and they gave us a little handkerchief to remember our stay, which was a nice touch. Overall, we had a very pleasant experience and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

By Swiss standards, this hotel is a real bargain. Rooms are simple but cosy and clean, and the bathrooms have decent showers. There is some limited parking available. What made it memorable for us was the wonderful food and atmosphere in the restaurant (both at dinner and breakfast) and, in particular, the extraordinarily warm welcome we received from the restaurant staff. There is a young German lady working there who was incredibly busy but who consistently made time to chat with customers and make them feel welcome. It was just what we needed after a long, tiring day's driving. We would definitely stay here again. Vielen Dank für alles - nur noch 50 Jahre dann sind Sie schon fast eine echte Appenzellerin!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxemlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
201 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in a family room with 4 beds (room # 4 on the 1st floor, no elevator) at the Gasthaus Hof during the Landsgemeinde weekend (last Sunday in April). Hotels looking on the voting square were all booked when I called in January. The Gasthaus Hof is located right behind the Hotel Appenzell (which is facing Hotel Santis on the other side of the square), so it's really just one house behind the voting/main square of town. Anyhow, the location is fabulous; room was simple but comfy, and it has nice windows overlooking the street and hotel Appenzell. The bathroom's shower head could be better (also bathroom doesn't come with shampoo, kleenex tissues, lotion or other toiletries) but no complaint. It was clean and of fair size. The restaurant serves a standard breakfast in the morning (including eggs) that is included in the room rate. It has a cozy atmosphere that made us feel like locals. Appenzell is a wonderful place to spend a weekend in Switzerland. We loved watching the landsgemeinde, walking in the mud and petting happy cows on the barefoot walking trail (an awesome tactile experience for the feet!), visiting the Appenzell cheese factory in Stein, soaking in a herb-infused bath at the Natur-Moor Bad in Gonten Bad, tasting local specialties and dancing to the live Swiss music after our fondue in the evening! Here, time seemed to have stopped; we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heiranig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appenzell
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
#1 of 16 in Appenzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#4 of 16 in Appenzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Appenzell
Hotel Appenzell
#3 of 16 in Appenzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lowen
Hotel Lowen
#12 of 16 in Appenzell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Santis
Romantik Hotel Santis
#2 of 16 in Appenzell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pension Alpenrosli
Pension Alpenrosli
#1 of 1 in Gais
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Hof

Property: Gasthaus Hof
Address: Engelgasse 4, Appenzell 9050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Appenzell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Appenzell
Hotel Class:2 star — Gasthaus Hof 2*
Number of rooms: 215

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing