We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haus Lydia
Nearby Hotels
$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lowen(Appenzell)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Stossplatz Hotel(Appenzell)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Appenzell(Appenzell)
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Adler(Appenzell)
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Landgasthaus Neues Bild(Appenzell)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kaubad(Appenzell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
40
14
2
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
14
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsher husbandquaint towntrain stationswiss chaletother guestsenjoy the viewhausyardcheeseswitzerland
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 59 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Haus Lydia is a 15 minute walk from the Appenzell train station. We stopped at the tourist information centre to be sure we had the right directions, so it was easy to find. (Lydia showed us a short cut to the town which shortened the walk considerably.) Rooms were very clean and comfortable and the wi-fi worked well in our room. The breakfast, served in the kitchen or the family living room, was typical for Switzerland with a selection of breads, meats, and tasty Appenzeller cheese. There is a small yard with tables and chairs for use by guests, with a nice view over the valley and mountains. Lydia offered to drive us to the train station when we left - but our bags are small so we were happy to walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at this B & B in wonderful Appenzell. This is a private home with 4-6 rooms. Our room was rather small, but as expected in a home B & B. The room and bathroom were both very clean and functional. Free WiFi in our room worked well. Parking was cramped for 2 cars. If those two spots were full, you must park along the road, which did not seem to constitute a problem. Breakfast was a bit sparse for Americans, with only some breads, a few pieces of cheese and cold cuts, and a few slices of apple and orange, and one yogurt per person. No cereal. Juice, coffee, and tea was adequate. The location is charming. Expect to smell cow manure, because cows roam the pastures very near the B & B. However, the ringing of cow bells was quite charming.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing across from the mountains and overlooking the meadow and intracity tram route.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Switzerland for the first time and Appenzell was our 1st stop. The town is quaint and friendly and relaxed... just the sort of introduction as we needed after a long trans-Atlantic flight. The hostess at Haus Lydia was friendly, accommodating and spoke fairly good English - we didn't have any trouble communicating with her. Our room was big and clean. The views across the street are amazing - mountains and pastures. My only negative comment has to do with getting there: we walked from the train station and it is a LONG walk. Plus, there there aren't enough signs along the way to let you know you are on the right road. We were using Rick Steves guide and he says the walk is "doable." And it is, after you know where you're going... we walked to and from town several times without any issue. But when you're fresh off a 10-hour flight and sleep deprived and it's pouring rain, the long walk seems never-ending.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We decided to make a stop to break up the ride from Interlaken Switzerland to Fussen Germany. I found Haus Lydia (B&B) and booked a night at the halfway mark on our trip. Appenzell is a quaint town with a nice center and plenty of touristy shops. Although this seemed to be a Swiss - German tourist area the restaurants were great and the overall comfort level was also good. Painted seens on buildings and friendly shopkeepers were the norm. Haus Lydia is 5 min from town center. Clean and comfortable with a great breakfast. Just down the road 1/4 mile was the Appenzell brewery with a nice tour and brewery store. We were able to buy cold bottled specialty beer there and with our Appenzell cheese, sat in the Haus Lydia yard with a view of rolling green pastures full of cows as far as the eye could see. A great relaxing afternoon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgbdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We had a car; it would be a long walk from the train station but some guests did it.
A son in the family had just opened a new restaurant and Lydia (his mother, the owner of the guesthouse) and other family members were helping out at the restaurant; no one was at the guesthouse from mid-afternoon until late at night. Maybe that will change.
The wi-fi was weak and would not reach our room, so I had to go downstairs and sit at a table in the little reception area.
The house is in a residential area, but with a pasture across the road from the house; you could hear the cowbells ringing which was kind of nice.
Lydia brings the breakfast to you at a table, instead of the usual buffet. When there, she is friendly and speaks fairly good English.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are going to be hot in the summer because there is no air conditioning.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XenophonAnabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews