We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff”
Review of Emerald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kremasti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Just back form a 10 night half board stay had a fantastic time half board is really good value eat the special every night the food is really really good the staff are very friendly and made a fuss of us when you go you will meet George Dominick Chris Theo and Maria to name but a few

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calista cally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 468 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in an apartment with our 10 month old son. The holiday was chosen based around his needs.

We were greeted by Spiros and shown to our room. I was surprised by the space we had, it was large enough for our needs inside.

Outside we had a half balcony, due to our corner positioning; therefore sitting outside as a family was a no go.

Our son had to sleep in a travel cot for two weeks, the first of which repeatedly collapsed on him. Spiros advised that the cleaning staff deal with room equipment and we would have to wait until the next morning for the problem to be rectified. The cleaner did indeed remember and replace the cot, with another old and unsatisfactory cot. I had to roll up the winter duvet and place it underneath the cot body to ensure the dip in the middle wasn't as severe. I also had to pad the cot out with hotel towels. Not great.

Staff were friendly and efficient. The cleaning staff worked around our coming and going to the room, which was a pleasant surprise.

We saw the pool/area being cleaned nightly and were treated to three pools to use. There were also ample sunbeds.

The food at the Emerald hints at being frozen. I wouldn't like to say that it is for sure, however after living in Greece I can say that I have never encountered Greek cuisine like it. It was not unpleasant, just disappointing. It isn't hard to prepare a Greek salad, yet the two I encountered at the hotel were terrible.
If you like chips with every meal, you're in luck!

High chairs at the hotel were hard to come by and even harder to use since they do not have straps to keep the baby in. Paying over the odds for average food then having to eat with your baby in your lap was an annoyance.

The planes did not bother us in the slightest. They are not constant and fly over at such a speed, the noise is gone before it begins.

Kremasti in itself was lacking in anything traditionally Greek. One taverna with a very limited menu. Several grill houses with the same menu. The walk in to Kremasti is along a long, narrow pavement on a very busy road.

There is the Ideal Bar around the corner from the Emerald and from this we could hear the nightly karaoke. The good here was also disappointing.

The local shop is well stocked and the family who own it are very helpful.

Kremasti beach was great for us, the breeze is wonderful and if you hard away from the paid sunbeds, there is a little sand.

We rented a car from the Rio Car Hire and found the service and professionalism of the owner was excellent.

Our day trip in the car took us to Lindos, the saving grace of Rhodes. Traditional Greece with reasonable prices for home cooked food and a relaxed atmosphere. The winding streets and white washed houses are stunning and the gift shops set the whole place off. At Pauls Bay at the mouth of Lindos is picturesque and worth a visit. We saw lots of swimmers and glass bottomed boats.

Kakithea Springs was gorgeous and a full day event. Take your swimming gear and enjoy the water. Then have lunch over looking the bay - relaxing!

All in all, an average holiday. Suited to people who like to sit in the bar at the hotel/local pub, make friends with the staff and do very little sightseeing and plenty of sunbathing.



  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

First off all how anyone can complain about this hotel is beyond me the welcome we got was amazing and the food was excellent. Chris, Dominic, George, Spiros, Dale and Polly are always there for your every need, the hotel manger Maria always makes a point of saying hello and is always so helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Yes the planes do fly over but after a while you don't notice them, the rooms were always clean. This was our second time here and we will be going back

We had a really good holiday thanks guys

Andy and Poppy x

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our first visit to the Emerald and was arranged as a last minute break. We were delighted by the friendly staff and the spotlessly clean room - something we have rarely found at some multi starred establishments elsewhere.The entire Hotel and pool/garden areas were also meticulously maintained. Staff were great, friendly and helpful. We stayed on a self catering basis and were surprised to see room cleaned daily and towels, linens etc. changed. We had a fabulous holiday and would definitely stay again. Had to pay extra for air conditioning but well worth it. Aircraft noise can be a bit annoying but we all arrived the same way so why should we be too upset by others doing the same when everything else about the Hotel is so perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Although the hotel is clean - we were burgled whilst we were asleep in our beds and another couple were also. When reporting to reception our experience they basically just shrugged and said it was one of those things. No sympathy, no empathy and no help offered so made the rest of our stay was not pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This is our third visit to The Emerald and sometime next year we'll be back again.

The hotel itself is spotless and ALL the staff from the owner through to the gardener are friendly and personable. A little bit of time and effort speaking to people rather than thinking of them as just hired help goes a long way...

The Emerald was fully booked while we were there but, it was never crowded around the pools or bar area and had a mix of British, Dutch, German and various Scandinavian's all of which mingled well together.

Apparently some rooms were burgled while we were there....even on holiday if you leave valuables in a room with the door/patio open you maybe only have yourself to blame...

We spent our week split between going into Rhodes 2.20 Euros each if tickets bought from a shop or 2.30 on the bus, lying on the beach at the Kantina near the Kite club and by the pool.

There are a few places to eat out the best of which is in the village about 25mins walk. Theo cooks a wicked meal at the hotel my personal favorite is his lamb chops.

Oh and 'the planes' ruined our holiday I can never get my head around them flying over the hotel and making a noise when its 5 minutes from the airport. Seriously moaning about the planes???? Get a life.

Until next year best wishes to Maria, Dominic, Chris, George, Theo, Demi, Spiro's and all the others.


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluesinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My Husband and I have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Emerald Hotel Kremasti and had a really nice holiday, clean, good food, swimming pools great and nice restaurant staff. The only thing that spoilt our holiday was on the last evening we were robbed my evening bag and money were taken. Due to the really hot weather we as many other people slept with the patio door ajar the whole time we were there but alas on the last night we were robbed along with two other families. These rooms were on the ground floor only and were easy to get to. I would advise anyone staying on the ground floor to close the door and if they do not want to cook in bed pay extra for air conditioning (40 euros) per week. The nasty thing was the owner disbelieved us all.

Hope you have a good time.

Room Tip: Dont stay on the ground floor if you are going to leave your patio door open at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doreenp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kremasti
0.8 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pylea Beach Hotel
Pylea Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kremasti
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,886 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayside Hotel Katsaras
Bayside Hotel Katsaras
#4 of 7 in Kremasti
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Hotel

Address: Kerkiras 10 | Ialysos, Kremasti 851 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kremasti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kremasti
Price Range: $57 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Emerald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Apartments Kremasti
Emerald Apartments Hotel Kremasti
Emerald Hotel Rhodes/Kremasti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing