We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever”
Review of Emerald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kremasti
Certificate of Excellence
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked our holiday last minute to Rhodes and didn't really mind where we ended up. We arrived evening time and were quickly seen to and helped up to our rooms with our bags as my husband had a bad back; we were shown how to use the air conditioning and the tv. Our room was clean and quite big for just the two of us, the staff always gave 100% service and always with a smile. The food was great; we ate there all week and were never disappointed. All the people staying there were so friendly too; always a smile and a hello. We had a great time with friends we met; Richard and Tina, what great company thank you. Loved Greece and this hotel and staff; we can't wait to go back on the 19th of sept 2012 for a week ; ) see you all soon Annette and Paul from south Wales x x x

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    108
    52
    22
    18
See reviews for
154
183
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were on holiday at the same time as the family who wrote the review below, and I agree with the review of the hotel itself. Very clean, cleaners always polite and discreet, great pool areas and decent food in the restaurant (albeit more expensive than local tavernas). Both my 13 year olds and I were treated like part of the hotel family until the night before we were due to leave - when I was short changed at the bar by over 40 euros. After a disagreement with the barman, Christos, he reluctantly gave me change for the 50 euro note I'd given him. The following morning, I had gone from first name terms to being called 'LADY' - and presented with a bar tab of 19 euros. As I was presented quite rudely with this while swimming in the pool (could it not have waited?) I went to the bar to question some of the receipts - some for evenings we were not even in the bar and some for 'draught beer' - which I don't even drink. Other staff members, George and Theo, became very rude, aggressive and basically tried to call me a liar. As the air con, food and drinks budget had meant I had already paid nearly 900 euros to Emerald during this 2 week holiday, I wasn't trying to dip a bill of 20 euros - it just seemed very coincidental after the episode the night before and the discrepancies of the receipts and the attitude of the staff. We were then given the cold shoulder and ignored for the remaining 12 hours we had left at the hotel. So a REAL BIG THANK YOU to George, Christos, Theo, Dominic & Demi - by the ignorant and rude way you treated us on the last day, you spoilt our holiday at the Emerald. Thank heavens for BIG GEORGE, the night watchman on the desk -a true gentleman and a credit to the hotel, who wasn't party to the pathetic treatment by the rest of our so called 'holiday friends'. I just wonder if we would have been treated so badly if we had been travelling with a man, I wasn't the only single mum to be treated in this way....so Single Mums - BEWARE - AND GOD HELP YOU IF YOU WANT TO KICK BACK AND HAVE FUN DURING A HOLIDAY AT THE EMERALD!!! Rhodes is a beautiful island, but I wouldn't go back here if you paid ME!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NessandRubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I don't normally write reviews but decided it was a must because of some of the reviews on here.
Lets start at the beginning! We arrived in the early hours and was greeted by a lovely man, he explained the cost of the air conditioning (80 euros for two wks), safety box (25 euros for two wks) and wifi (30 euros a wk, but you can get a hour free every time you purchase from the bar and the restaurant so you dont realy need this). We were taken to our room by the gentleman and shown how to use everything.
The room was spotless!!! we had a studio room (2 adults and a teenager) and it was plenty big enough! There was a bath with a very powerful shower over it which run from the taps.
The beds were comfortable but slightly hard for us (but this is only because we are used to a soft bed!). there was table and chairs, dressing table, wardrobe and kitchen.
There was a balcony with table and chairs.
We cannot believe how clean the room was! no dust or fluff and definately no beasties!! haha. The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels too (enough to go round).
The hotel itself was faultless!!! The staff were ALL amazing!! The owners were lovely and friendly and the staff were spot on! A big thank you to Christoff, George, Gino and Dominic for making us feel at home :)
The four pools were very clean and there was plenty of sunbeds and parasols to go around.
The food was fantastic! very tasty and massive portions! (Thanks Gino and wife!! we going miss our gyros!) Every night there were specials on offer and on a monday they have a greek night which they provide a buffet style and greek dancing! this is a must and a bargain at 15 euros.
As for the prices it was on par with most of the restaurants but better portions and tastier! We did try other places to eat but found they were not as nice.
The hotel is located close to the beach, approx 5 mins away. The beach is shingle and stone. We didnt sunbathe down there but there is sunbeds for hire at approx 3 euros depending on which bit you went to.
You can catch a bus at the top of the road to Rhodes town for only 2.20 euros each one way. This is a must! specially the old town part.
The hotel is perfect if you want a relaxing holiday as it is not in a busy area but still in prime position to get anywhere!. There is a supermarket just down the road, next to this is ideal bar that serves lovely english breakfasts.
The hotel do a buffet style breakfast at 6 euros. This is good value as there is cereal, fruit, cheese, ham, tomatoes, boiled eggs, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, bread, toaster, tea and coffee and orange juice, oh not forgetting the lovely croissants! We did alternate days between the hotel and ideal bar.
The hotel has a lounge area with computers for the internet. They also had a table in the lobby where you do book swaps! really good if you like to read and dont have a kindle.
The bar was open until you didnt want drink anymore! we had a room just to the side of the bar and were not kept awake by noise on any night! The double glazed patio doors where very soundproof! The drinks are reasonable and the cocktails are to die for! (Even tho it was my fella drinking the fancy cocktails and im sat there with a pint of shandy! Haha)
Everytime we went down to the pool in the morning every staff member said good morning or when you went for an evening meal you were always greeted with a hello and a smile!
And lets not forget Maria's gorgeous dog! (see photo) I fell in love with her and as i have a lapdog myself it was nice to play with her when i was missing my dog!
As for the planes! what can i say, well yes you are on the flight path but so is lots of the hotels! the noise of the plane coming over lasts all of 20 seconds and if im honest we actually enjoyed seeing the different ones coming over! not once did the noise affect our holiday! in fact after the first few hours we were used to it and didnt even notice! And as for keeping you up all night....not once did a plane wake us up!
On the night of departure, the staff went outside when our transfer arrived and hugged and kissed us goodbye! you wouldnt get that from these big hotels! We felt like part of the family and NOT a paying guest.
All in all this is a fantastic hotel, one of the best we have been so far! The hotel is friendly and the owners and staff will bend over backwards for you! not once did we have a grumpy member of staff serving us!
We can not reccommend this hotel enough! We will definately go back again.
Thanks again to Maria and the boys for a memoriable holiday and also the few greek words you taught us! Yamus!!!!!!!
hope to see you all soon
Steve, Lorna and Steph (stokies)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lornadoone2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This small pearl of a hotel is located 8 km outside of Rhodes town (taxi approx €14 1 way, 20 minutes), but has a supermarket next door, and a few other restaurants close by. Kremasti (nearest ATM) is 1,5 km away. There is a Billiard hall and Bowling alley nearby, and at least one bakery with fresh bread every day.
The beach is also very close, but make sure to bring bathingshoes because the beach is very pebbly and rocky, and sometimes the waves make it dangerous if you bring your kids, currents can be strong.
The rooms are spacious and clean, cleaning is done on a frequent basis. Service in Snackbar and Restaurant is spotless, everyone is dedicated to delivering high standards, and making the customers happy. Food was surprisingly great tasting (make sure to try the Gyros) and drinks were very well tasting. Free wifi is offered with any purchase from the bar!
The poolarea (with 4 pools) is perfect if you go with your family, but the surroundings around the hotel is perhaps not so childproof (very busy traffic and small narrow roads)
Am very pleased with the whole deal at Emerald, and would gladly recommend it to others.
Bear in mind if you hate aeroplanes that the airport is quite close (it's a quite small island), and the planes do fly very near the area of Kremasti.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swede_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We went to the emerald from the 20th of June till the 4th of July and had a fantastic time. We were so sad to leave. The food was amazing. Chris, 9 and dominic (the bar staff) are all amazing and make wonderful cocktails. We felt right at home from the first day and even though we got there late we got a lovely cooked meal. Greek night was wonderful all the dancing and food! The airplanes are not that bad and you get used to them can not understand why people moan about them! The rooms where always spotless and every one is very friendly! We can not wait to go back. I would recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tappy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Emerald. Read mixed reviews before we went, but went with an open mind. Arrived in the early hours and was greeted by an unfriendly man on the desk. We were asked to give over passports and were given a printed list of aircon, breakfast, safe and late checkout prices. Some prices had been increased by pen. The apartment was very basic and needed a good clean. The fridge was frozen solid and ice had formed outside of the ice compartment. The shower head was disgusting!! We reported the fridge problem and was told it had been looked at and was working. It was working, but not properly and we chipped off the ice ourselves. The defrost button had been pushed in and it was leaking water! Simple when you do it yourself. Towels changed and beds made every day. The hotel offers a good selection of drinks and we only ate there on our check-out evening and the food was great. Staff don't make the effort to be friendly, but if you spend alot of time at the hotel they seem to make much more of an effort. This is a side they need to work on. We were still paying guests!! The pools are great and there are plenty of sunbeds to have. The local area is good to get out and about in. The Ideal bar on the corner did a great breakfast and were very friendly. Found some nice little Greek taverns close by for drinking and eating, but prices vary. You can walk into the nearest town of Kremasti and find more bars and taverns. The beach is shingled, but nice and Dimitri loans sunbeds for 3euro a day. Buses are frequent, roughly every 15 minutes. A single trip costs 2.20 euro per person. If you book with a tour operator be careful of the excursions they offer. We took a boat trip to Lindos and could have saved money doing it wihout the tour operator. Most of them are available in Rhodes at a fraction of the cost. We had an adult family holiday and found plenty to do and enjoy in this part of Greece.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 831neu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My three children and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Emerald. Before arriving I was slightly worried after reading some poor reviews from earlier in the season and this was our first holiday just the four of us after some luxury holidays when I was married. How pleasantly surprised we were. The apartments are modern and spotlessly clean. The staff are very friendly helpful and kind, even my moody teenagers loved them!! We decided to eat at the hotel every night as the food is excellent, catering well for a 15, 13 and 8 year olds different tastes.There are four very clean pools and you don't have to get up at the crack of dawn for a sunbed. This is a fabulous base for exploring the Island, Rhodes has great shops, Lindos is beautiful and the waterpark is good fun. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia39_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kremasti
2.2 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pastida
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayside Hotel Katsaras
Bayside Hotel Katsaras
#3 of 7 in Kremasti
285 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dionysos Hotel
Dionysos Hotel
#13 of 127 in Rhodes Town
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pylea Beach Hotel
Pylea Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kremasti
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Hotel

Property: Emerald Hotel
Address: Kerkiras 10 | Ialysos, Kremasti 851 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kremasti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kremasti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Emerald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Apartments Kremasti
Emerald Apartments Hotel Kremasti
Emerald Hotel Rhodes/Kremasti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing