We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run hotel, Freindly, excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayside Hotel Katsaras
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kremasti
Reviewed September 4, 2010

My wife and I along with our three children aged 9,12 and 15 stayed at the bayside hotel on 14/08/2010 for two weeks and had a fantastic time. From the moment we arrived Nick Katsaras and all of his staff were so freindly and could not do enough for us. We were made to feel as part of the family not just guests at the hotel. The hotel was perfect for us. It was in a great location it was clean and tidy the entertainment, (Karaoke and Greek nights) were good and the food was also very good. We stayed on a half board basis but also had lunch at the seaside snack bar in the gardens of the hotel every day as the food there was even better than the meals served at the hotel. The friendlyness and service of the staff at the snack bar (Stavros and Karen) contributed greatlly to the time we spent there
On behalf of the Steele Family,
Doug, Yvonne, Matthew, Ben and Bethany,
I would like to thank Mr Katsaras, sons Nick and Stavros, Irene, Karen, Amy and all the staff at the Bayside hotel very much for a fantastic two weeks and memories that we will cherish forever. Hope to see you all again.
Doug.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Douglas_steele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 318 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2010

My husband and I needed a much earned rest and booked a week to Rhodes. It went all down hill when we arrived as the Bayside Hotel is the worst hotel we have ever ever ever stayed at !!!!!!!!!!!!!! The reason for this is we were charged 56 euro for air con on arrival, 25 euro for a safety depo box . Our room WAS VERY SMELLY and was very dirty ! . Sunbeds had towels on for the full week even though people werent on them which meant my husband and I had to go down to the beach which was filthy with rubbish and smelt of sewage. Bags of rubbish everywhere and were there when we arrived and were still there when we left.

The staff at the hotel were only interested in people who were loud and only spent money in their bar therefore we didnt fit in. I felt very sorry for any young family as it is difficult to get to sleep at night as the pol bar is closed all day which is ridiculous and open all night. It appeared that all the young familys with babies and children were in rooms facing the pool bar therefore bared the brunt of all the noise. The parents looked exhausted at breakfast and at the end of their teather. The staff were constantly shouting and bickering at each other. The food was very very bad it was school meals in a boarding school you even had to clear your own table, we noticed that food that was served as main course the following night was reserved on the salad table camoflaged in mayo or tomatoe ketchup there was never any fresh fruit and the juice was diluted down to near water. The rep didnt seem to know anything about the area and having observed his treatment of other guests we decided not to approach him as it was obvious he wasnt willing to do anything about any complaints. The area itself is horrible there is nothing there and nothing to do . To get to the village we had to walk to the village through what I would call a desolate shanty town in the heat which took about 20 mins by foot due to the weather and the dusty pebbley roads.

The supermarket had the monolopy of everyone as its the only supermatket there so they charge what they like. We asked if they could half a very large slice of watermelon as it was massive and we only wanted to take it doen to the beach and they refused . She said she would half it if we bought the whole thing but to half it and put the other half back in the fridge her comment was people will think there is something wrong with it and not buy it which was ridiculous as it could have been covered in clingfilm like the rest of the huge melons. However they were very obliging to put cigarettes behind the till for everyone if they wanted to (buying in large quantities to take home). They are very greedy people, They say Greece is in alot of debt but how can this be when they charge holiday makers ridiculous amounts of money for things that are cheap back home. We left the hotel early in the morning and didnt come back until late at night as there were lots of things going on around the hotel that was weird. There were 2 woman that were acting really strange one had long dark hair that resembled Mortisha and the other looked about 12 years old but was old faced and each morning they took (porn posed photographs of each other all over the hotel and everyone was talking about them. Especially people that had children as they openly did it infront of everyone. We decided this was a bit of a freak show so we left and spent our days at the beach and at other resorts and the village. A few people complained about this "odd couple" and Nic the owner just smiled and shrugged it off .

We were glad when it was time to go home and have decided we are never going back to Greece as they rip you off and its so dirty. The Bayside Hotel was a nightmare and from reading the comments from people who have enjoyed it these people have probably gone since it was built or these are the people who were making all the noise at the Bar as they got freebies the more they drank and becasue they spent money they would get the odd icecream for free during the day. Warning dont go as its so bad you need a good holiday when you get back as there is no comfort and its so so so expensive and theres nothing there to do . Oh and when you do get home you will probably order a takeaway as you will be starving as the food at Bayside is shocking and nothing Greek about it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beehappy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

the rooms are verysmelly pool bar only open at night from 9till early hours in the morning sometimes till 3/4 oclock not very nice if you have small children and on ground floor can only have chips if its on menu for that day kids could only have kids meals which chips sausage one day pizza and chips the next day and the other day burger and chip for desert it was jelly one night icecream another night and grapes another night no fruit with jelly or icecream the staff at the snack bar was great which is in the hotel grounds

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alisharotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

as with most of the other people on here - my room also stunk, especially in the bathroom where the drain was! our shower was broken and wouldn't stay up so we had to shower by holding the shower head, the shower also leaked, and water went all over the floor so we had to put towels down so we didn't slip over.
the maids came and changed the towels everyday but the beds weren't changed at all during the whole week we were there - i know this because on the first night i had a cut and got a tiny bit of blood on my pillow - the stain was still there at the end of the week!
the food was pretty awful and re-used making it taste even worse - me and my partner ended up going to the local shop everynight after dinner to buy more food cos we hardly ate anything. the snack bar round the back of the hotel though was very nice.
the pool was lovely, apart from some of the floor times at the bottom were loose and i ended up cutting my foot on one of them! there were no-where near enough sun loungers and when there were any free they were broken!
i would go back to rhodes - but i doubt i'd go back to the bayside hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northerner90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

if you book this hotel do not expect it to be on a half board basis as advertised. it is far from half board. The food they offer is cheap and sparse. They serve up left over food from the previous evening,there isn't any choice at all. you get what you are given and that is it. if they serve a meat dish you get one piece (very small) of the cheapest cut with a handful of chips. you can help yourself to the salad which consists of lettuce, tomato and cucumber. The children meals rotate between pizza and chips one evening or sausage and chips all week long. you do not have a starter of any description and your afters is a small bowl of jelly every night. you have to purchase your drinks from the bar while eating as they will confiscate any drinks you try to take in to the food hall. so be prepared to pay extortionate prices for your drinks. its a total rip off! you are charge 55euros for air conditioning and 30euros for a safe deposit box which you will need as the room doors do not lock properly. if you are looking for a base to stay its alright but you haven't even got any self catering facilities as the hotel is classed as a "half board" so avoid if staying with children. my family and i stayed there for a week and we didn't see the pool being cleaned once during our stay. the hotel is also in the middle of no where so you will need a car to get about. everything is so over priced in the resort you will actually save money by hiring a car and buying outside the resort. you can eat reasonably cheaply else where with a choice of mouth watering foods. so many people complained about the standards while we were there but the hotel owners didn't seem to care at all. apparently they live in Australia and just go there to make a killing during the holiday season!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank sandy186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Just got back from our Holiday from Hell. This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at now where do I begin. Before we even dipped our big toe in the pool they charged us 56Euros for Aircon in our room. which we thought was a disgrace as we had x2 rooms. The room was very basic and smelly. First day very big smiles from the Staff, Nic and a few others carrying dodgy Australian accents it was bordering on sleeze as every time I went to the bar they hovered around me like flies this made me feel uncomfortable. it gets worse but will come to that ......... As for our welcome meeting what a plonker the Rep is a complete Idiot Neil from Olympic we asked where the Pharmacy was and he didnt have a clue. He also kept saying that we must when we fill ot the questionaire to praise him and excellant to ensure his Job next year we didnt even know the guy. Later on during he never made an appearance.

Now the food - Jesus it was horrendous and I mean really really bad . The first day it appeared ok but we soon discovered the horror of what they were up too. People that were going home were warning us at the poolside of their findings and we discovered they were all true., Example - One night we had Cauliflour cheese and a choice of Mousakka if you could call it that with mixed veg carrots and butter beans. The next night as we cued up to get our meal along the salid table it looked like they had a quiche to offer but at a cheeky glance they had actually cut the cauliflour cheese into squares and squirted tomatoe sauce on it along with the mousakka that was cut into cubes and served also. The carrots and butter beans were mixed with Mayonaise . This was what they did all the time everything that was left they gave you it the next day camoflaged in mayo . As for the eggs at breakfast this is really bad at the end of the breakfast they would then put the tray of eggs under the table this was then hidden under the table cloth uncovered and left and re appeared come breakfast time sure enough the hard boiled eggs would be lifted and ready to serve again to unsuspected guests, this remained the same for 3 days, along with the hidden extra left overs from the meals as well. Everyday meal time was the same slop pig swill !!!! the childrens food was disgusting too I mean if your child eats like Bianca Jackson from Eastenders kids AKA Chicken Nuggets and chips, if you can call them chicken nuggets they were cheap and nasty horrible, as for the beef burger they tried to serve my son who is 2 it looked like a scab from an Alsation dogs leg it was horrendous. The rest of my holiday I ate Salad which was a disgrace . (the saladcomes with no Olives !!!! They serve us Slop and I dont think its right that they get away with it considering they take our eyes out with the extras like Air con etc..... When I complained to the Rep (Neil ) waste of space, about the food his reply was I wouldnt mind eating left over food nothing wrong with it and he said no one had ever complained before. My gripe was that children may eat the califlour and get stomach upset as it goes sour after awhile as it was the same cauliflour 3 days in a row and they never never cover the food and they have millions of flies wafting around it as seen by everyone. Our whole hotel has been talking about this hotel and how disgusting the food is and yes THE STAFF OUR VERY AGGRESSIVE. I asked to put my sons yogurt in their fridge at the bar and Nic said yes, there was another lovely couple who had a young baby and they had asked to put their babies milk in his fridge too. Today our last day the girl was telling us that he had been aggresive to her regarding the milk as she had gone to the fridge and not asked him . She had said she didnt think she needed to ask him everytime. He caught us talking about it and he came stonking over to me and shouted saying " Dont listen to that stupid rude woman, it wasnt like that ", I was shocked by this and didnt know what to say he then went into the kitchen and pulled out a huge padlock and put it on his fridge saying that will show them. He then later went chatting to all the Germans in the hotel and completely ignored us.

There is only one supermarket in the whole resort other than a teeny tiny mini mart that sells the basic of basic stuff. The main supermarket is Harrods prices and they watch you like hawks as if your going to steal anything the clothes arent fit for Primemark and the Sunglasses are all fakes. They have a massive sign only in English to say Cameras in operation "Is it only the English that Steal the Greeks think ???". My son picked up a pack of playing cards and having relised I told them at the till, he hadnt done anything to them other than peel the price of 2 euros 50 off them (he is 2) they snatched it out of his hand in the pushchair and shouted at me how can we sell this look what he has done. I was mortified I stood my ground and said they are sellable as they price had just been taken off by him and they refused and charged me for the cards. They have a nasty reputation in the shop and also are very aggresive. The beach is lovely but the rubbish is every where.

Back to the Staff at the hotel they are only your friends when you spend money if you go else where to eat or drink they snub you ignore you. The pool is filthy and there are not enough beds and the last day of me checking my room incase I had forgotton anything I looked under my bed to discover a dirty piece of toilet paper with Poo smudged all over to my horror this had been here the whole week may even longer I was mortified
. I find it scruffy disguisting and we will never never go again . Never go be warned I speak the truth on behalf of me and my family it should be on the TV as the Holiday from Hell oh and Olympic reps are an embrassement !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! totally rubbish
like the rubbish on our tea plates just need to vomit it all up !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Northernandproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The main and most important issue is that our room smelt of sewage 90% of the time, we complained to the hotel staff and all we got was a can of air freshener. No offer of changing rooms.
We complained to Neil our rep and he said to complain to the hotel staff!!! Again I was given another can of air freshener as we had used up the first one. They offered cleaners but this was a smell that the cleaners couldn’t get rid of as it was coming from a sewage pipe in the room behind the door.
When I asked them to come and smell the disgusting smell they didn’t want to so in my eyes they already knew that this room smelt!
We were offered another room but it was 6 hours before we were due to leave to go home, I didn’t see the point of this.
The smell made us feel very sick, gave us constant headaches and spoilt our holiday.
Our toilet door also locked itself from the inside for 3 hours and no one had a key to unlock it, well a key was never found so they had to force it, I had medication in there and needed it and no one seemed to bother.
The food was also very limited to what you could have, and I felt that some of the food was being reheated for the next day, i.e. hard boiled eggs at breakfast. I have been to half board hotels before and this was just not worthy of 3 stars and being classed as half board.
The swimming pool tiles were so dirty people had written their names in the filth.
The sun beds were in very poor condition with a lot of them being broken and not nearly enough for the amount of holiday makers that the hotel had.
I would not ever recommend this hotel to any one not even my worst enemy!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loopey170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kremasti
0.1 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kremasti
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pylea Beach Hotel
Pylea Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kremasti
112 reviews
5.5 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Lito Hotel
Lito Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ialyssos
126 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pastida
497 reviews
11.6 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#12 of 34 in Kolimbia
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Hotel Katsaras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Hotel Katsaras

Address: | Marmaro Area, Kremasti 85104, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kremasti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kremasti
Price Range: $30 - $982 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayside Hotel Katsaras 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayside Hotel Katsaras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Hotel Kremasti
Bayside Hotel Rhodes
Bayside Hotel Katsaras Rhodes/Kremasti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing