We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magical holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We spent 4 nights from 4th December, a family of 8 which included 2 children, we had a magical time, the hotel was ok, we're were on a full board basis but we were a bit disappoineted on the choice for the children's meals, drinks very expensive
The rooms were clean and warm and the clothing provided kept us warm, it went down to -23 degrees while we were there
Cannot fault thomsons, they kept the children entertained on the plane, our elf cranberry in sarraselka who we met a few times told stories and had the children singing Christmas carols,
Santa resort was just amazing, in the middle of nowhere, snowmobile, huskie, skidoo,raindeer rides could not fault and the best of all was a snowmobile ride pulling our sledges to see Santa iin his home with his log fire and bunk beds, it was a personal meeting, he was so lovely, my only complaint is I wanted a present as well, only the children got one
We also booked the raindeer and huskie ride as additional trips , the huskie ride was my favourite,
It was minus 23 that day, my husband drove the huskies, and Megan and I sat in the front was amazing, do not miss doing this, expensive but worth every penny
The thomson reps at hotel were fantastic, thank you, ko ko and bazz , will never forget you or this holiday for keeping the children entertained
Our children did the snowmobiles by night and had a great time, we were babysitting!!!!!
This is a magical resort to visit, not commercialised, would recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Terriesmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    148
    105
    18
    10
See reviews for
154
75
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a 4 day break with Thompsons mid December. What an amazing time we had!
The Reps/Elves are fantastic, full of energy and fun. The kids had a great time.

Apartments are well equipped with everything you require. The large dryer is great for drying your clothing after a day in the snow. The Sauna was also a bonus in the room.

The Only downside to the hotel was the price of the drinks 40 euro for a bottle of house wine, around 8 euros for a beer. This is normal prices for the area. So save up and don't be tight and get to the bar!

You will love it!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

An amazing holiday just before Xmas the only problem is the expensive hotel bar. I paid £1450 for 3 nights for this holiday for myself and my 7 year old then have to pay €10.50 for a beer and fanta. Hot chocolates are also €8.20. Total rip off.
The Santa resort day was amazing if I was to do this again I think I would just come for the day trip miss the hotels out all together

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 098shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

What an excellent choice the staff was amazing , so was the food, the Thompson staff (Ko Ko ) Koren was brilliant she went out her way everyday to make our holiday the most spectacular journey ever. My daughter loved spending time with her she was great, and watch out for the singing machine Andy haha. Overall an epic journey and already booked for next year with Thompson off course.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank saints513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We returned from a 4 night trip with Thomsons last week. We had a fabulous time. Thomsons were excellent, very well organized and I would definitely recommend them to anyone. The hotel is in a great location,a short walk to village centre and next to the toboggan run.

We stayed in the apartments on a B&B basis as prefer the independence than structured meal times etc. The 2 bed apartment was very good with a separate living room with a further sofa bed .The kitchen was clean & well equipped with kettle, toaster, 2 ring hob, microwave and dishwasher. There was a shower room and a spacious sauna which we used twice a day plus an all important drying cabinet.Separate loo. Plenty of room and storage space in the apartment and very quiet too without the constant noise and door banging you often get in hotels.

The breakfasts were very good with something for everyone -cereals, fruit,yoghurts, hams ,cheeses ,bacon eggs, pancakes etc. Perfect for filling up before a day in the cold! I've only given 4 stars as whilst Thomsons were excellent the hotel staff were a little abrupt and you could tell it was a business hotel. It didn't have a traditional Finnish feel to it. If you stay here stay in the apartments.

Room Tip: Choose an apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a three nite stay with thomson who are just fantastic from airport check in to check out perfect !! My six year old boy loved snowballs the elf and whisper who helped warm his feet when temp dropped to -42 yes that's right -42 !!! Cold !! The thomson staff are great had a lovely time dancing and playing games with koko and jingle bell baz !! A big big thanks to jingle bell baz and snowball from looking after theo so we could go on reindeer ride as it was too cold for him !! All fab sauna in room was great !! Can't wait to book Lapland next yr !!! Thanks thomson from magical memories !! Food not so good but don't go for that !!! Pls take hand warmers god send xx

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy-ida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The title pretty much sums it up. The hotel itself looks a bit in need of a bit of TLC in places but that is mainly the hallways. The staff all seemed great. It is quite low season so that means an excellent price especially as breakfast was included.

I had dinner in the restaurant once, its not cheap but I have to say it was very good and I was happy with value for money. Reindeer meat is quite tasty!

I used the free internet computer loads and loads which was great - a lot of forecast checking for weather and space weather. Sadly the one night that probably had the aurora also had clouds all night, and the next night was a rare totally clear night at this time of year but no aurora. Can't blame the hotel for that of course!

5 out of 5 based on how little the room rate was.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saariselka
6.5 mi away
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
0.2 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
16.7 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
16.1 mi away
Hotel Ivalo
Hotel Ivalo
#1 of 2 in Ivalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna

Property: Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Address: Saariselaentie 13, Saariselka 99830, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Saariselka
Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna Finland/Saariselka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing