We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worn but charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worn but charming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is old, and if you get a triple sharing room, means your essentially sleeping on a folded out couch. I had a room on the first level (159), and then one on the second level (200). Room on the first level was smaller, and the bed thin and tired. Shower stall was tiny, and water would leak out the stall and soak the floor. Room on the second level was more generous, but didn't have a shower stall. When you showered, the entire place would get drenched. There's a skinny balcony outside the rooms, and once you get tired of the snow piling up outside, there's also a handy shovel for you to clear it off.

Buffet wise, the food was ok. They neither starve nor pamper you, but the breakfasts (scrambled eggs, bacon, baked beans, cocktail sausages) get tiresome after the third day.

Room Tip: The aurora borealis viewing room is on level 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetraveloutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    147
    105
    18
    10
See reviews for
153
75
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This made a perfectly serviceable base in Saariselka. The rooms were clean and of a good size. All the rooms seemed to have balconies, there was a viewing room to see the Northen lights and the excursion centre is inside the hotel which is very convenient. On the downside the hotel feels slightly shabby, in need of a lick of paint and few new showers - more motel than hotel . However one saving grace were the Reception staff , who I found extremely helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dastardley1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions. First I had just the standard room and then I spent 2 days (incl. the night between) in the wilderness. Then I came back and had a room with en suite sauna. I knew I would be freezing after having spent the whole day in -25'C temperatures so booking room with your own sauna is a good choice. The tourists at the hotel seemed to come mostly from England, Japan, France and Russia. I didn't use the restaurant nor the public areas so I cannot assess them. Breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Speleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The room and hotel was clean, nicely kept, with great breakfast. The bed mattress, however, was not that comfortable. The best part of the room was that we had our own Sauna, especially after spending the day in the freezing weather outside!

The hotel is quite long, and our room was towards the end of the hotel, so we had to walk far on the corridors. But the location is great. Saariselka is a small place and this hotel is located in the middle of the 'center' and the ski slopes.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Sauna!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamer, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

In such as small village, the location doesn't really matter.
Yet it's the hotel the farthest away from the few shops tht the beautiful Saariselka provides.
It's a big hotel with too much capacity for a calm vacation. During peak season there are bus loads of tourists shifting through every day.
The rooms are reasonably sized with a bit outdated furniture.
The bathroom and the integrated sauna are supersmall,uninspiring and not that clean
(e.g. brown plotches on the bin, where as a woman I unfortunately have an idea where this comes from :(
The room was not hovered or mopped dring our stay, daily service only consists in making the bad and wiping the sink.
The carpet in the floors also seems to not have been hovered for a long period and is frankly disgusting.
The reception desk staff is friendly and helpfull. The buffet food is really ok.
Don't make the mistake to be at the breakfast buffet when it closes at 10AM. The waiters raid in at 10 sharp and push you aside to get the plates even if you are still serving yourself. I was in the middle of taking some cheese as the grumpy waiter grapped the plate and to the fork from my hands! With nothing to put on my bread I tried to get a bit of marmelade when returning to the table, but was prevented by a waiter who pushed me from behind just to get the pot before I reached for it. I have never experienced such a behaviour!
Lapland was cool, but I wont under any circumstances return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justicia_Croft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lapland Hotel Saariselkä, Riekonlinna (snow grouse castle) hotel restaurant served a Christmas eve buffet dinner on the 24 December 2012. There were many traditional Nordic food items on the menu as well as additional on the starters/first course items. Some of the items that i tried and enjoyed was a garden salad, rye bread, herrings, mushroom salad, salt cured salmon, roast turkey, beetroot salad and pickled vegetables. For the main course there were the traditional vegetable casserole's (turnip and carrot), roast vegetables, and a ham from a carving station. Desserts also included some pastries, ginger bread biscuits and chocolates, coffee and a selection teas including some herbal teas. The food selection was fine, there was no doubt about the presentation of the buffet tables that it was the Christmas season. The restaurant atmosphere was casual and lots of space for everyone to visit the buffet table several times. The service was always polite, friendly and helpful, there is also a health center called the "feel Good center" with many health, beauty and relaxation services available, and a shop that sells fine trendy winter clothing and souvenirs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

we stayed here over xmas 2012 and had the best time you could ever have in Lapland

We went with Thomsons who were well organised from the moment you landed until departure

I would add you need loads and I mean loads of thermals/layers, especially children as it was minus 20 day and night. Dont rely just on the "kit" you get from Thomsons take more than you think you need !!!

We loved the santa resort amazing with so much to do, the husky ride prompted us to book the excursion and well it was one of the best things me and my family had ever done...book it

We also went on the elf trip which was at best OK - quite expensive for what you got and not enough places to warm up freezing children, we also cancelled the night time snow mobile trip as we heard previous children didnt enjoy it at all as you are outside for two hours - this was the only slight downside mind

Go on the huge taboggan run about 5 mins from the hotel if you can, the hotel lend you a sledge for just 2 euros deposit

The childrens entertainment team were great especially on gala night.

As per other reports the drinks in the hotel are very expensive but there is a supermarket only 10 minutes walk away and a fridge in your room

On reading some of the negative reviews regarding the rooms we were pleasantly suprised, they were modern and clean and the beds were really comfy.

The food was generally good, although on Gala night (xmas day) we were given processed Turkey, not what you expect for the gala dinner, I feel the hotel really should address this

Dont want to finish on a negative so my advice is to book it and make a childs christmas its fantastic

Room Tip: all looked fine but get the sauna rooms as great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markwHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saariselka
6.5 mi away
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
0.2 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
16.7 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
16.1 mi away
Hotel Ivalo
Hotel Ivalo
#1 of 2 in Ivalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna

Property: Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Address: Saariselaentie 13, Saariselka 99830, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Saariselka
Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna Finland/Saariselka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing