We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kieppi
Nearby Hotels
$159
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Inari(Inari)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Javri Lodge(Saariselka)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
7
25
18
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
25
18
6
4
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 60 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We chose this hotel because we thought it was more authentic than some with more facilities. It did everything it said in the brochure and was warm and snug. we had two family rooms which worked perfectly. The TV had nothing in English but did have some cartoons but in fact we only turned it on once to see as we spent no time there other than to shower and sleep. Breakfast was immediately next door and was continental (which is where we were) and had really good porridge which we all enjoyed. The fact that we had a five minute walk to another hotel for dinner didn't faze us at all. In fact it was a highlight for our 6 and 4 yr old grandsons as they went by sleds which were provided by the hotel. We enjoyed the food especially the salmon and gravalax. There was an opportunity to see the Aurora on the way back.

Room Tip: Not on the front row. We were 2nd row back and the snow was untouched so the boys had the time of their lives trying to make a snowman.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 865wanderlust1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We came back this week from an incredible 3 night stay in Lapland.
The room is basic however it is traditional compared to the other hotels. We were so busy doing the activities of tobogganing, huskies, santa trips etc that we spent little time in the room and we didn't even turn the television on.
For the money spent I think the kieppi was good value and was very clean. If you want 5 star then pay the extra and go to one of the big hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LucyHarryHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have just returned from four days in lapland and stayed at the kippei . Now before booking we read some poor reviews which was a worry. However as an experienced traveller i often find reviews misleading and as normal we English want to pay little but then expect the ritz or at least walls sausages and birds eye beef burgers on tap in the middle of the arctic circle .

My normal hotel budget per night for work us £300 so trust me when it comes to fair reviews I know my stuff.

So my review is based on a practical point of view and based on cost.
Ok, location is fantastic, and when covered in snow as it was it was magical to look at. Opposite is a very large hotel where you can use its facilities at a cost € 10 per person per session for the pool and € 14 each for the day in the activity angry birds centre which is great for the kids.

Now before we break this down our stay four 4 days was £1,600 inc half board, flights, transfers etc. holiday club opposite we met a couple who paid £3,200 inc. trust me not worth double the price. And you could stay in one if those manufactured butlins type hotels any day of the week.

So the kippei , reception is not 24hrs but when it was open they were helpful and pleasant .
Room very short walk to. They are basic. But that depends on your view of basic.
Our cheap room had tv, fridge, hair dryer , wardrobes, table and chair, dressing table. Drying cuboard for snow suits. Under floor heating ( phew it got hot so turn down before going to sleep. Good bathroom with shower and hot water, oh and telephone and free wi fi.
Like i Said basic ????? I'm not sure what people think is basic these days ?

Beds! Well they are basic and normaly single beds. I slept ok. Everyone else slept like a log but I'm fussy when it comes to my bed.

However it is not the ritz but in all honesty we only slept and got changed in it as we were to busy skiing, tobogganing, leading husky sledges etc etc . We had no time to spend in the room.

Breakfast is next door in the lumi restaurant. 7-9 ( need to get out of bed but hey with four hours of day light why stay in bed and waste it !)
Continental , plus eggs, frankfurter sausages and a potato and bacon dish ( nice )

Dinner is at a nearby hotel 5 Mins Walk Max ( if it takes you longer then you need to buy a sat nav)

The food in both was good. We were full every night and plenty of food for the kids from Chips, hot dogs, hamburgers ( note, your 200 miles inside the arctic circle so walls and birds eye they won't be )
So in short, simple finish hotel, good value everything you need to bed down for a great stay in an amazing area.

If you want the ritz then you need to dig deep in your pocket and not stay here.
Value and comfort 9/10

Oh pays to be tea total as I am, as nearly €10 a pint of local larger

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank m t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Very basic hotel, food choice very limited.
Good location, beautiful nature, lots of snow and great festive time. Husky ride is a must!!!
Very enjoyable trip to meet Santa, and yes, he does exist there in the lappish wilderness!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agnesaln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Ok rooms, great small sauna in the suite. We were hiking with wife in an almost empty ski village. Nature was wonderfull, even hot weather. We did not eat in Kieppi restaurant. The nature park is large and beautiful.

Room Tip: Take suite, still good price.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heikki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews