We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Reindeer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laanilan kievari

Laanilan kievari
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Saariselka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $68
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: It’s not about filling our stomachs but eating and enjoying pure and fresh ingredients together. That’s the philosophy here at Laanilan Kievari. The food is of course playing an essential role in that. A lot of our ingredients have been harvested from our own yard or the local forests. It is very important for us to produce as much as we can ourselves. Our food is supported by a large range of beverages from quality wines to wast selection of beers. More and more people are not realizing what and even when they are eating. We want people to stop and enjoy their life. A well thought and produced meal in a care free environment is the key to that. So welcome to Laanilan Kievari, an experience to remember! From the early May to late August we serve lunch daily and dinner only with a table reservation. Check web page for more info.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding Reindeer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a family restaurant run with a lot of passion, the owners are a young couple, that really makes you feel comfortable, and the Chef who is the guy's mother. It is a relative new place, a little more than a year old, and had win the first place of tripadvisor without any marketing, just great cook. It is difficult to find the restaurant, if you don't speak suomi, we tried 3 different roads with our rent car, but the time expend worth it. We tried the main reindeer plate that is tenderloin rye breaded, marinate with butter and a secret mom recipe made with some local bird broth, great taste and very soft meat, pairing with a italian toscana red wine. Also tried reindeer calf, cooked for several hours that melted meat in your mouth. The dessert were this cloudberry pancakes that had a balance sweet and bitter. We really recommend this place: *****

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank REYGUS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    19
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Country restaurant 3 km from Saariselkä centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We visited here twice during our stay in Saariselkä.

First was with skis and we enjoyed buffet lunch.
Second time we walked from the village for dinner. There is an illuminated walking route through holiday cottage area, only the last few hundred meters own flash light is needed.

We ordered artic char carpaccio for starter and black grouse for main course.
Both were excellent. Price is quite high but considering food quality and rare material it is reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Otso-on-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Before our trip we had been warned that one doesn't go to Finland for the food! Heavy on game, light on fresh veg, we were made to expect, wholesome, filling but unexciting food. Our first few meals in hotel restaurants bore this out. We decided to check trusty old Tripadvisor to see if there might be any exceptions to the rule. This place was rated number one out of just a few independents so we booked and hoped for the best…..Let's just say that our expectations were wildly exceeded. Only a year old it was a bit slow early on a Monday night, but that just meant we had more time to speak to the lovely guy who runs the front of house with his fiancé. Mom is in the kitchen and boy can she cook. The food was so nuanced and had such lovely flavour combinations that it would have been worth traveling all this way just to eat there. It is traditional Finnish food, but cooked and served with love and flair! I was certain that I was not going to try reindeer whilst I was here, but I knew straight away that if I was going to try it anywhere this would be the place. I had the filet cooked in a rye batter and served with lingonberry jam and a garlic game sauce. It was out of this world. Also highly recommend the winter salad and arctic char carpaccio. The owners try to keep ingredients local and forage or grow what they can themselves. Atmosphere is cozy and homely and so very welcoming. This meal almost made me not mind not getting to see the Northern Lights….almost! Do yourself a favour…..go…..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank go4geisha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings and quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Cosy place outside of the village, took taxi both ways.

Food was partially good and partially not. Overcooked reindeer was exellent for 2 persons and dry and really bad for one person, not acceptable for food of this price.

Laanila starter plate good! Breads were great. But blinis tasted like normal pancakes, ok, but not worth the price.

Service ok and friendly, except no refund on uneaten dry reindeer! Offered a cup of coffee but nothing else, when we didn't feel like coffee late in the evening.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pipsa1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must to eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I was in Saariselka with my family for a short vacation, and we find this small, cozy place, just 10 minutes South of the city, along the main road. The place is warm and the proprietors are very friendly: they give us some good suggestions and accommodate our daughter request to eat chicken, that wasn't into the menu… they came out with a very big chicken leg!
All the food was very good, especially the appetizer "Laanilan platter", and we enjoyed a very nice conversation with the owner's girlfriend.
If you are staying in Saariselka, you must have a dinner here…and by the way it's not that expensive!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fraazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laanilan kievari also viewed

 
Saariselka, Lapland
Saariselka, Lapland
 
Saariselka, Lapland
 

Been to Laanilan kievari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing