We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, ignore bad reviews. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic, ignore bad reviews. ”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an igloo one night then a 2 bed cabin the next.
The igloos are fantastic, they have 2 twin beds, plenty of places to put suitcases etc and a loo. I even had a shower and there is some strange shower type hose under the sink. A ins great, place is beautiful, stunning beyond belief. As three vegetarians we survived, they cook different things for us so didn't go hungry. Both igloo and cabin spotless.
Go, it's much fun

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    353
    202
    121
    94
See reviews for
260
684
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

AMAZING place! Stayed in a glass igloo for one night a few weeks ago.Yes, the igloo's don't have showers- they're a glass igloo what do you expect?! Yes, the igloo's are away from the main resort- people would complain about light pollution if they were any nearer?!... No bell service?!... The whole fun of it is pulling your luggage on a sledge to the igloo, no?!... How can people say the bed is uncomfortable? It's an electric bed that you can move to make yourself as comfortable as you please!
We found the staff friendly and helpful. The owner is incredibly friendly and you always see him around.
The food was a pretty good standard to say you're in the middle of Lapland! If you're unhappy with the set menu at dinner, you can choose from the a la carte menu. The chicken we were given for our main course was actually delicious! And we got pancakes for desert which was a plus since it was pancake day back in the UK! Good choice of bread, cheese, meat, cereal and eggs for breakfast, with juice and hot drinks. Free WIFI in the public area too (Hilton Hotels don't even provide free WIFI!!!).
The resort is stunning and despite what people say, it isn't very big (so not far AT ALL to walk to the igloo's). You get a map of the resort when checking in. You'll definitely need it to find the showers- it was very fun finding them, not a problem like people say it is!
It is next to the main road, but lets face it, it's not a busy road what-so-ever and in the igloo we didn't hear any traffic noise! And if the resort was any further from the main road and bus stop, people would be complaining about how difficult it is to get to (the reception area is 1 minute walk from the main bus route bus stop!).
We found the igloo very comfortable, warm and in a great condition.
It is pricey, but when else are you going to sleep in a GLASS IGLOO?! If it's pure luxury you're wanting, don't go or if you do, keep your negative opinions to yourself. If you're open minded and want to see the northern lights over head whilst laying in your bed then this place is a must!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

One night in a glass igloo and 3 nights in a large cabin as a 40th bday gift to my husband in this exotic and charming place called kakslautannen igloo village was all we could ask for!!!and we saw the northern lights alongwith the rainbow colours of the sunset the first evening itself which also happened to be my husband's bday!the owner of the place was very warm and interacted personally with everyone and the staff was more than helpful on all accord.we had our 10year old son with us and we enjoyed husky sledding,snowmobile and toboggan run at saariselka!would love to go there again!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tewq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed one night in an igloo in the middle of winter. It's a fun experience and one has to accept the fact that, while there is a toilet, there is no shower. We were lucky because we were there on a clear night and the Aurora Borealis put on quite a display. We could raise the back of the bed and lie there in comfort watching it all happen.
The main disadvantage lies in the fact that the dining room is about 500 metres from the igloos. This means quite a hike to dinner and to breakfast the next morning (make sure you bring your crampons).
Not luxury, but go for it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank StayalotNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed one night in a glass igloo which was the main reason we decided to come up to the Laplands during our short visit to Finland. Although the experience is fun, it was a bit disappointing. The glass igloos themselves are a bit outdated and run down inside. The beds are terribly uncomfortable and the pillow was flatter than my comforter. There were ants inside the igloo and at least one in my son's bed. When we arrived at the resort, the woman at the desk was very unfriendly and very short with us. We were just handed a brochure of activities and a map and moved along our way. There was no one to show us to our igloo and we struggled with our luggage (no bell service). We eventually figured out the we could use a sled to pull our bags all the way across the property to our igloo. The property itself is right near a main road which detracts a bit from the idea of staying in a glass igloo out in the middle of nowhere. Overall, the place is a novelty that looks like it is stuck in the 1980s and needs some updating.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in the glass igloo. I was concerned after reading some reviews but went with an open mind. Staff was friendly and helpful. They helped us with the bus to the airport and got us some bread out of the kitchen to feed some reindeer that randomly appeared outside. Taking the sled with luggage to the igloo was a blast and was definitely part of the experience. The igloo is small but was clean and warm and perfectly fine for one night. The sauna and showers are clean and have plenty of towels and shampoo. I did rig a towel over the window for privacy but it was fine. Dinner and breakfast were fine. It is not a Michelin star place but it was good. We had drinks but were not charged for them. There are a lot of trails for skiing and walking and a very cool small place for coffee or tea across the road. The 10am checkout does seem a little early but i think that is because people are out on excursions or skiing anyway. There is WiFi in the main lodge and a place to store luggage. Yes, it is expensive but you're in Lapland..... in a glass igloo. Enjoy it for what it is.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Roxy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Lovely setting, but still quite near a main road. Large comfy cabins, but buildings not well signposted, so it takes a bit to get ones bearings. Food ranges from tasty but unexciting to downright terrible. Drinks are good, but we didn't once see a bar tender on duty behind the bar, we always had to go find a member of staff. Glass Igloos a great idea and surprisingly spacious and warm, but only really make sense if one is lucky enough to get a clear night and see stars or even better the Northern lights.(we didn't get either). Still, all in all we enjoyed our stay. It is not swish but it is comfortable and while there is a bit of a con fuzzed aura to the whole shebang, it is all quite friendly if a tad clueless. Do yourself a favour and take the short (but expensive)cab ride to Laangilan Kevari (you can find it on trip advisor restaurants) the food and atmosphere is sublime.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank go4geisha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saariselka
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Northern Lights Village
Northern Lights Village
#1 of 5 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort

Property: Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
Address: Kiilopaantie | 9, Saariselka 99830, Finland (Formerly Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village)
Location: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakslauttanen Hotel And Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Saariselka
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort Finland/Saariselka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing