We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you stay here you will be very disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Arrival here is by bus out on the main road. There is no one to greet you from the hotel and you therefore must find your own way there, dragging your suitcase through the ice and snow.
Upon check in I was given a map and had to find my own way to my room. I am very fit and I struggled immensely to make it to my room which was about 600 meters away across the river. It was dark and poorly lit. The snow was very deep and I was literally dragging 25kg of luggage. It's very dark here day and night in winter and I found it hard to locate my room.
The glass igloos are very small, you have to bend yourself in half to get through the door. There's only a toilet no shower. The showers are elsewhere. I'm yet to find them.
There are no tvs and the wireless internet is limited to the reception area. If you are not on a guided safari there is nothing to do.
Oh and to top it off the glass in the igloo is completely frosted over so you can't see the sky!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank NaomiA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,285)
There are newer reviews for Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

We travelled in January to try and track the northern lights. We weren't fortunate with a clear sky but that didn't spoil the trip. We stayed one night in a glass igloo, a great experience although very minimal space and no toiletries or anything. Given it was so expensive you would think there would be little personal touches.

We stayed in a log cabin for 2 nights which were magical in the snow. We actually took things to make from London e.g pasta, sauce and tinned tuna and some wine! Food in the restaurant is very expensive and not good quality. Most things tasted like they had been in powdered form an hour before arriving on our table. The entertainment was so bizarre! However, enjoyable and needed when there isn't anything to do at night locally. We went to the town one evening which was quite nice.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Psychtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Glass Igloo Village Kakslauttanen is an expensive resort. Accommodation, food, drinks and services are expensive. There are much more cheaper holiday resorts in Lapland. But Glass Igloos are worth of one night visit. No more.

The main attraction is sky itself. In an Glass Igloo there's nothing else to do than watch the sky. It's more like spending a night at tent than in a traditional log cabin. If you are lucky, Northern Lights appears. When I was there, it was cloudy and light snowfall.

The weirdest thing is this resort is Asian staff. Friendly, but like aliens in a foreign environment. So don't expect a very Lappish experience, spend other nights at your Holiday in other Saariselkä resorts. They have local staff and everything is more genuine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Timo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The reason we wanted to go to Finland was this hotel. We wanted a unique experience which we were ready to pay for but also wanted value in the service considering the high expense. After sorting out my visa, we started planning the logistics and it turned out:
1. We were misquoted by about 200 euros. After researching the website we stumbled across original prices which were considerably cheaper (still expensive though). When we mentioned this to them the hotel just confirmed (without apologising) that these were the right prices
2. As a couple with budget, we always try to ask for 'a little something extra' (how ever small) but in this instance no flexibility was even entertained. The hotel charges for everything, no discounts, no info, emails from them contained very little customer service and a lot of "how would you like to pay"

With this attitude we got quite frustrated and subsequently tried to reschedule our entire trip / which cities we would visit first and eventually when we decided to go for 2 nights (went down from 5) we were told
3. An extra charge of 20 euros for paying will apply

This, even though not a big deal, was the last straw and we started searching for alternatives - it turns out that their competition is very limited and could be the reason for their complacency.

However, we finally found a beautiful place and were so happy that we are definitely coming back. When we first spoke to the Golden Crown in Levi a soft understanding voice explained everything to us: all the prices, shops, transfers, what to do nearby, discounts, offers deals etc. It was a completely different experience and even though we had to change our flights, transfers (which we have already paid for), it was certainly well worth the extra effort.

Overall, we had an absolutely magical time with Golden Crown and would not recommend that you add this to your research list before committing to Kakslauttanen Hotel, unless you would like a headache as part of the holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
13  Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a queen suite cabin and one night in a glass igloo as part of our honeymoon to finland and all we want is to be back there!! Staff were very nice and friendly, left a bottle of wine and chocolates in our cabin for us! Rented a car so we ate in nearby Saariselka most nights. Ate one night in the resteraunt and wasn't a big fan of the (all) seafood dishes. Would recommend renting a car for the freedom to do what you want and eat were you want. Lovely woods all around for hikes, nature walks etc. Would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: queen suite all the way!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snakedoctor85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a night in glass igloo. I was quite surprised how only few things igloo had inside- no mirror, no bin, no water boiler, no phone to reception, etc.
In the morning we went to restaurant which is 10 mins walk from igloo. There was no hot food. Only coffee and tea was hot and orange juice tasted so bad. Felt like its mixed with water. Once salmon was all gone, a guy asked them to have more but they told him there was no more.
My friend and I paid 310 euros for one night. But i just feel that we've been ripped off from that Chinese lady in the reception. She always seemed pretty hostile to the guests.
The way she talked to the guest sounded impolite sometimes. There was really gentle and kind Finnish man though, he was the only good thing about that hotel.
I sweat It's never worth staying in the igloo. I don't understand how people felt satisfied in that hotel and rate 5 here. Seriously.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
15  Thank Sylviakong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

A charming set of authentic log cabins & glass "igloos".
Situated just off a two lane EU thoroughfare, the resort complex is convenient for those arriving by bus or car.
I found my cabin nice & cosy.
The predominant interior of cabins, are completely bedecked in hardwood everything {including furniture}.
The exterior walls are rough hewn logs.
There is a working stone framed fireplace in the corner.
Adjoining the basic bathroom, is a small glass- enclosed sauna.
Linens are provided, but cleaning is once weekly.
The plumbing pipes emptied out every few hours; causing a clanging sound.
Due to lack of fans or insulated windows, car doors slamming {of other guests} can be clearly heard.
I would suggest management posts a rule sheet, forbidding such annoying guest behavior.
The resort lobby has a warmly wooden interior. It contains a lovely assortment of Christmas goodies. In one open corner is a wide range of local souveniers, such as reindeer skins & stuffed animals. At the other end is an ample seating area, with wifi.
I enjoyed meeting the kindly Chinese hostesses.
The facilities are in a forested area; quite close to a large National Park.
According to the brochures, Santa Claus inhabits the resort- around Christmastime...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saariselka hotels
6.3 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
512 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
385 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
379 reviews
6.1 mi away
Northern Lights Village
Northern Lights Village
#1 of 5 in Saariselka
41 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lodge Kuukkeli Teerenpesa
Lodge Kuukkeli Teerenpesa
#7 of 7 in Saariselka
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort

Address: Kiilopaantie | 9, Saariselka 99830, Finland (Formerly Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village)
Location: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price Range: $467 - $1,271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakslauttanen Hotel And Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Saariselka
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort Finland/Saariselka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing