We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
schweiz
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“mixed feelings...”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It is not easy to write a review about the Glass Igloo of Kakaslauttanen as we have so mixed feelings. I have read the review before and I do agree with many of them.

The Glass Igloo are a technical masterpiece, nice and always warm, glass never foggy even you have temperatures differences from 50 degress in-to outside. I dont want to imagine their electricity bill! Having the incredible luck to see 3.5 hours full of wonderful Auroras makes this experience truly unforgettable. However this should not be a part of the review as the Aurora are not "included" in the price and you need to be lucky to see them.

I understand the high price of the Igloos. Technically, its worth. Also the village is very nice and really lovely built with lots of nice details. But there it ends!

What dissapointed me and also the reason I would never go back was the following:

- lots of staff but all asian with bad english and noone really is informed about whats going on
- you are not treated as a guest who will pay a small fortune for the night. You are treated like a tourist, happy to be there with them
- there are no showers in the Igloos, you have to go to the main house. No problem with that, however the showers are open (6 total) and it feels more like camping with absolutely no privacy. 2 hairdryers only and not a single mirror (for women quite difficult)
- you pay for Coffe or Tee 2€!! Not even included in this high price. Served will it be in cheap plastic cups. Absolut No-go for this price range!
- Dinner is ok. But could be better as previously mentioned. Breakfast eggs were served in cheap plastic cups, orange juice was more water than anything else
- the Igloos itself was very very warm - 25 degrees without any possibility to adjust the heat yourself
- we paid to be using the whole park as an Attraction: however the whole park was closed, the Ice Church was closed so nothing to do at all

After all - the big lack of this Hotel is their Manager who shuffles every penny. Cheap staff, no service, rather save money than offer a nice cup, or a mirror extra. If I arrive at a expensive place like this calling itself "Santa Park" I want to see a nice Finnish Women in traditional clothe, welcoming me. It's the little things that can make a stay wonderfully unforgettable or badly memorizable.

Would I go back? - No
Would I recommend it? - No
Was it great? - Yes, but cause of the mother Nature above us. The Hotel itself did not make our stay truly unforgettable.

Room Tip: make sure you get the Igloos in the NEW part of the village!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank aquamarina75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    359
    205
    121
    95
See reviews for
264
699
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The igloo itself was delightful, though hotel itself was a major disappointment. This was the "splurge" part of my trip to Finland and it didn't live up to my expectations or the description of the facilities on the website. There are not four restaurants - as claimed - just one very mediocre one. After sampling lunch - no choice, just rather dire soup and supermarket bread - I took a taxi back to Saariselka (about 21-22 euro each way) for dinner (where there is a great choice of restaurants at every price level). The staff seem universally indifferent and the whole place seems chaotic. I stayed at three different hotels in Lapland and this one was by far and away of the poorest quality. As much as I enjoyed the igloo itself, I could not recommend this hotel - especially as I have yet to receive a response to my email to the hotel outlining my concerns.

Room Tip: If you really want the glass igloo experience, factor in a taxi back to Saariselka and bypass the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DAR_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

After reading many mixed reviews about the Igloo Village we are please to say that we had an excellent stay there recently. We are very well travelled and have stayed at many excellent Hotels over the years so we were a little unsure what to expect here. Well what we got was a lovely hot (some times too hot) log cabin with a king size bed, seating area, kitchenette, stone log burner, wet room with toilet, washbasin and sauna off. The cabins were rustic as you would expect but very clean and spacious our paperwork said a small log cabin for 2 but we had more than enough room. Our cabin was number 28 and just a short 5 minute walk from the main hotel. Later in the afternoons after returning from our trips we would light the sauna and then the log fire as the heating goes off whilst the sauna is in operation, it never gets cold though, and then spend half an our warming up in the sauna - fabulous! We spent one night in a glass igloo which was about a 10 minute walk away from the hotel. The glass igloo is a MUST, they have automated beds which are very comfortable and great for a seated position to look at the stars/northern lights. There is a private toilet and washbasin too and they are very warm indeed and a cute little hobbit doorway lol.

The food in the restaurant wouldn't suite anyone who liked a full english and burger and chips, but if like us you like good tasty food you will enjoy it. We had sweet and sour chicken and rice, pork fillet in a lovely sauce with veg & potatoes, fillet steak, sauce, veg & potatoes and fish in a white herby sauce with veg & potatoes. There was always a starter of various salads and soups also a dessert however as I have diabetes I just asked for cheese and crackers and this was available for me. If there was anything you didn't like the sound of they would always find an alternative if you asked.

Now to the excursions, we did the husky trip and snow mobiling. The husky's is an experience not to miss it was fabulous and the dogs worked hard but clearly loved it and they are extremely well cared for and loved. We had a female guide on the snow mobiling who definately liked to be in charge she certainly made sure no one got a speeding ticket lol! However this was fun also but it was minus 15 degrees on this day so it was really cold, if they tell you to use their gloves make sure you have some liner gloves with you as I found my hands to be very cold, should have stuck with my own gloves but you trust what they tell you as they have the experience, same with the socks make sure you have at least two pairs of woollen socks on.

The Northern Lights appeared on 3 nights out of 4 not exactly as seen on the TV but still great fabulous to see.

The reception area is small so don't go when you are short of time, the staff were always pleasant and helpful and if you are relaxed and pleasant you get the same back. I read someone said they had a no can do attitude, I think this was probably because they hotel is full booked all the time if you were asking to change accommodation they actually couldn't do this for you as there were no spare rooms to be had.

One final point I think I actually met Santa Claus, well the owner looked just like Santa Claus and he came to wave us off as we left and made a point of shaking hands with everyone as they left this is something you don't get very often these days how lovely.

Room Tip: Request a room near to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParsleyHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Aside from the sometimes questionable service and lack of a cool lounge and reception area, we had a wonderful time in Kakslauttanen!

The queen suite was spacious, warm, cosy, luxurious... and sitting in the jacuzzi outside at night, at -25C, watching the sky shimmer, was just magical. The glass igloo was brilliant, too, it exceeded my expectations in terms of comfort and space. I would definitely recommend both. We also saw the Turf Chamber, but I was very glad we hadn't booked to stay there, as it looked disappointingly small, claustrophobic, and bare. I would definitely not recommend that.

The food was great and the menu choices very good.

I loved it, our best trip yet!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the queen suite if budget allows, and a night in the glass igloo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We loved our recent stay at this hotel. We had a glass igloo which was quite spacious and cosy and then a cabin for a night. This was fantastic too and was spacious and had its own sauna. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food good and plentiful. A bit of paradise in a winter wonderland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Although we didn't see the Northern Lights, our 2 days in Kakslauttanen were worth the trip. This was because of the location and the accommodation - definitely not because of the service! We spent one night in a glass igloo & one night in a cabin. The igloo is amazing, heated to a comfortable temperature, hi-tech beds & a little toilet/sink room. Just dragging your luggage there on the sled is an experience. The cabin was also great. The sauna was terrific & having an open fire in the living/sleeping area was a real treat. Unfortunately the service at reception was abysmal. It is poorly designed so people waiting to check in are mixed in with people ordering food & buying souvenirs & all with only one cash register! Our igloo wasn't ready until hours after we arrived & nobody explained the lunch arrangements in the meantime (lunch is soup & bread only). On the second day we were changing from igloo to cabin & again had to wait several hours after checking out of igloo to get into our cabin. If we had known this would happen we could have arranged a full day excursion. Regardless of this, the Hotel is located in a magical place. The winter midday twilight was magical & almost made up for not seeing the Northern Lights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonCoffsHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

The igloos were great; larger than expected with heated floors and comfy beds.
The sauna was very nice and showers, while basic, were clean.
The restaurant was somewhat slow but the food was ok. Breakfast yogurt and granola will be missed.
The front desk is disorganised and a bit frustrating but eventually works it out.
Watching the Northern Lights snuggled under the covers is Amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saariselka
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
240 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
507 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
376 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Ivalo
Hotel Ivalo
#1 of 2 in Ivalo
345 reviews
6.2 mi away
Northern Lights Village
Northern Lights Village
#1 of 5 in Saariselka
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort

Property: Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
Address: Kiilopaantie | 9, Saariselka 99830, Finland (Formerly Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village)
Location: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakslauttanen Hotel And Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Saariselka
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort Finland/Saariselka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing