We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glass igloos are pure heaven!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Glass igloos are pure heaven!!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

So you wouldn't expect five star luxury in the Arctic Circle and definitely not in a glass igloo but these were a pleasant surprise. Plenty of room for two including luggage, well designed, clean and normal room temperature even in February. I was just there last week and the feeling you have waking up in the middle of the night seeing the trees blow above you while all snuggled under your down comforter is pure heaven!! And the beds even adjust electronically so you can sit up in bed as you look for the Northern Lights! Unfortunately we didn't see them because the clouds rolled in both nights but I still loved it.....so much I would have loved to bring an igloo home with me!! Enjoy your visit!!

Room Tip: Glass igloos are warm....snow igloos not so much.....need I say more?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxieL202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    354
    203
    121
    94
See reviews for
261
687
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a hard one. We spent one night in a glass igloo, which was truly delightful. Unfortunately everything else about the hotel was very disappointing. I'm rating it as 'poor' overall because this is very expensive accommodation and it just wasn't good enough.

It didn't feel as though anyone working there knew or cared anything about hospitality. The reception doubles as a passageway from the kitchen. Standing at the counter, three staff walked past me - studiously avoiding meeting my gaze - before anyone asked if they could help me. It turned out they couldn't.

Food...well, if you were one of those who like school camp dinners, you'll love it. Everyone else, I'd recommend spending 23 Euros on a cab fare into Saariselka. Likewise wine: they have red and white. My recommendation is to bring your own.

Their website claimed (and still does) four restaurants and a snow bar "built every winter". When we went there was only one and it was pretty ordinary. The lunch menu was pork soup and bread. That's it. We were told the "conditions weren't right" to build the ice restaurant. The absence of the other restaurants wasn't explained.

This was one of the most disturbing things about the place: a general lack of honesty, let alone hospitality. We overhead someone asking about Saariselka and being told "there are a couple of restaurants...and some kind of shops" and the cab fare would be "at least 30 Euros". We did the trip three times and our cab fares ranged from €21 to 23.

For the record, Saariselka (where we'd spent six nights prior to coming here) has at least two outstanding restaurants (Siberia and Petronella) and others that looked good; a very well-stocked supermarket and liquor store, a well-stocked and priced outdoor equipment store and loads of wintertime activities.

So: come to Kakslauttanen for a night in a glass igloo. Sleeping with the sky above you is truly magical (even when you don't get to see the Northern Lights as we didn't). Bring everything you need to enjoy it (food, drink - and glasses, they only have paper cups, entertainment). Pop your head into one of the ice igloos and congratulate yourself on not spending a fortune to freeze in there overnight.

By the way, we didn't try the communal shower/sauna (too far away and too locker-roomish); just made-do with the basin in the igloo.

Room Tip: Glass igloo. Very pricey, but unique. Don't know about the rest of it, but I'm sure you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DG_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A fantastic short vacation.

We booked a small cabin, transfers and a glass igloo on the last night of a 4 night stay.

Transfers worked well ( driver's English wasn't great but he had a sign, was on time and helped us when we arrived).

We arrived late, at about 10:45 in the evening and we were met by the receptionist who gave us a map, hotel information, our key and a box of food and milk carton - which was a great touch considering we'd been traveling and it was late and we were tired/hungry.

The Log cabin was BEAUTIFUL!

Amazing fire, great shower, warm, great fireplace (with a box of wood to get you started - further wood is collected from log stores dotted around the village). Everything about the cabin was great.

there are kick-sledges available for free to get about and these are great fun if you like sliding around! Really enjoyed it.

The hotel/village itself is brilliant. We went end of February and it was minus 10 degrees, but if you have the right equipment you'll be fine. If you need to rent clothing or ski equipment they have a well-stocked store.

Staff were busy, but polite and tried to help as much as they could. English was good standard.

Food was great, really good in fact, and they even had a good range of veggie options which weren't fish which is brilliant for non-fish eaters!

Glass igloos are amazing. A real treat. They have a small toilet and wash basin, and a local shower block but we kept the log cabin as well as having the igloo which worked well as we could leave all our luggage in the cabin and have a shower etc. next morning. Beds in the glass igloo were comfortable and even had rising head and leg bits - great fun playing withthe buttons!

Can highly recommend the husky ride excursion - very friendly and professional...and great fun with beautiful scenery.

Finland is expensive (think £3 for a bottle of coke and £4 for bag of haribo-style sweets, £1.25 for a mars bar etc.) but that is the same across most of Finland not just the hotel prices.

All in all its an amazing place if you like the outdoors, adventure, walking and good wholesome fun. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: small log cabins are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went on our honeymoon as we had a december wedding and thought lets do something different, it was one of the most amazing places i have ever stayed!
The staff were so friendly and very helpful from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. From serving food and drinks, to making sure all guests knew when they were off on excursions. We had a log cabin for 3 nights and were told on booking it was one of the small ones, Small...as if!! It was huge, had bunk beds and a main double bed, i was truly blown away by the cabin and it had everything you needed. We stayed in a glass igloo on the last nite and altho it wasnt a very clear evening you could still stars, was nice and warm n cosy inside and again had what u needed! The food is good, dont be expecting any 5star cuisine but what they give you is very tasty and filling - i was not hungry once.
We would advise on taking some snacks with u for ur cabin as there is nothing around to go buy bits. We took noodles etc for lunch, chocolate crisps but did forget teabags!!
All the excusions were amazing and very good value for money. If you are doing the husky safari pay for the 4 hour one as we only did 2 hours and so wished it was longer. The reindeer safari is very cold as ur sat for a long time on ur own (sleigh each) and its rather smelly!!
Only downside to our honeymoon was the nothern lights which we didnt really see in all there spendor but this is not something u can be guarenteed u will see.

Room Tip: As its so cold in winter a cabin closer to reception/restaurant was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAB_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My mother and I decided to spend a night in a glass igloo as part of our White Christmas adventure! Yes it's slightly expensive, but how often do you sleep in full comfort, in a glass igloo, under the stars?! It was much more appealing to us than the snow igloos!
The igloos themselves are amazing! Comfy beds. There is a toilet and wash basin inside the igloo. Mind your head when entering! They tell you to only take a small bag (because of the walk from the main reception I guess) but to be honest, the suitcases would easily have fit inside the igloo...it's just getting them there, they supply mini sledges to assist.
It is a lovely experience - we weren't lucky enough to see the Northern Lights, but the igloo and the delightful surroundings themselves were enough to make the night! Going to sleep under the stars, and waking up under them...before the light started to peak through - beautiful!
We paid for half board which includes breakfast and dinner. We had read mixed reviews about the food here, so weren't sure what to expect. The breakfast is nothing too fancy, but does the job. We were VERY impressed with the dinner however, the food was much better than expected, tasty, well presented and definitely not left hungry! Entree was a salad, a chicken dish for main course and crepe for dessert.
We went walking to find the shower facilities however we did not use them...they are quite a walk from the igloos...and with the amount of clothes you are wearing, it didn't seem worth the effort for just one night! There were 3 showers for women (OPEN - so 3 shower heads on a wall I should say!) and also a changing room with hairdriers.
My only real criticism is the lack of organisation. The reception is in the same area as the main restaurant..it can be very crowded at times and the area right at the reception desk is very small. The wait staff seem to be just that - they have absolutely no idea about what is going on if you are trying to check in. It's just disorganised and a lot of waiting around for someone to assist you. Perhaps they could have a separate reception area with the dedicated staff there in future?!

Overall - if a stay in a glass igloo under the stars, and the magic of the snow and Lapland appeals to you, then go for it! You only live once!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d-travelling-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Staying in a glass igloo is a truly novel experience. It's basic, a bit like camping with limited amenities but what an opportunity to see the northern lights from your own bed. The igloos are cosy, warm and the beds have electric controls like those on a plane. We starting in the sitting position and transitioned to fully reclined by the end of the evening.

This is an adventure in the winter time, rugging up for the 10 minute walk to the dining area in -20c is an experience. So also was the entertainment during dinner. The Asian staff put on a drag queen show that was entertaining and totally unexpected.

Food was acceptable, wine was five euro per glass with atmosphere enhanced by big open fire.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank francophilestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the glass igloo towards the end of a couple of weeks in scandinavia. We had picked this hotel because the glass igloos kept on comming up as a real novelty. It was this and when we could see the stars spectacular. However there were lots of little negatives which all added up to get a low score on this one. These included things like. Now showers in the rooms. They were a 10 minute walk away. When you got there they were looker room showers ie not cubicle but a wall of shower heads. Plastic disposable cups in the bathroom of the igloo. There seemed to be a constant that will be an extra charge mentality. Although we were a long way from a town centre there was no laundry and no cleaning service. Long walk from reception to rooms without any assistance. Main building did not seem well maintained. The key for the door lock kept sticking. There was a lot of ambient light at night so it was hard to see northern lights. Staff were not guest friendly. Ie when dragging bags to reception to check out the snow plow came along. Rather than waiting for us to walk up the section of the path he came charging down and we had to drag the bags off the path into the snow on the bank. No apparent temperature control in the room. No hanging or cupboard space in the room.

Room Tip: Don't set your expectations to high
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tobey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saariselka
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
237 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
363 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
366 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Northern Lights Village
Northern Lights Village
#1 of 5 in Saariselka
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort

Property: Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
Address: Kiilopaantie | 9, Saariselka 99830, Finland (Formerly Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village)
Location: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakslauttanen Hotel And Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Saariselka
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort Finland/Saariselka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing