We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic Lappish atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fell Centre Kiilopaa
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Magic Lappish atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in the lappish wooden cottage in Kiilopaa. The staff at reception is very friendly. Accommodation is comfortable and cozy, choose private sauna and fireplace...food is simple and delicious, perfectly sized for sport activities. Don't forget to try the smoky sauna and the bath at 4C in the river!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AAndreAA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    43
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
63
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Fell Center is perfect. We wanted a quiet get away from it all Christmas holiday and thats excatly what we got.
We had log Cabin number 22 which is at the back and top of all the cabins. The cabin was spotlessly clean and really cosy. Having your own sauna is also realy nice. You can actually put it on a timer to come on before you come home (up to 8 hours in advance).
We did a husky safari (4 hours) and the ice-fishing trip (which also includes driving the snow mobiles). Both trips were amazing.
They have alot of activities going on in the center which you could join in with.
The Smoke Sauna is amazing and a dip into the ice pool is a must.

The Kammi Restaurant is really cosy. Quite pricy considering the food was only average. I think Finland is generally expensive though.

The food in the center is not the greatest but its ok.
Be careful when going for the meals as they let you in right up to the deadline (8.00pm) but clear the food away almost immediatly. I had to keep asking them to leave it as I hadnt had chance to even get to the buffet.
Another small annoyance with the food canteen was that the night before (Christmas Eve) we had ordered a bottle of wine which we didnt finish. We were not allowed to take it away with us which was not really a problem as we wanted to finish it the next evening.
When I tried to retrieve my wine the next evening the only person allowed to give me my already paid for wine was the receptionist, who at the time had a very long cue of people at the reception desk. Needless to say while I was waiting for my wine the dinner buffet was being cleared away.
I managed to get my wine in the end and after chasing after the staff, I managed to get my dinner but unfortunately the coffee, tea and staff were long gone by the time I had finished so I had a coffee back in my cabin.
If you want to cook in your Cabin you will need to go into the supermarket in saariselka as the small shop only has a very small choice and you wouldnt be able to conjure up a meal from what they offer.

The Fell Center is an amazing place, the staff are very friendly and helpful. I would definately reccommend it.

Room Tip: Cabins 21-24 at the back and overlooking all the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pausop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was already our third stay here. We never used the hotel, but always rented one of the cottages. The various types we have rented always were well equipped and clean and very reasonably priced, especially compared to facilities in nearby Saariselka. For us it has been a great starting and ending-point for multipple-day hikes into the UKK Naitional Park. This time we went in winter, where we also used some of the additional activities offered at the Fell Centre. We have usually used the dinner facilities provided in the Centre. Those have never dissapointed in both quality and price. Next to the buffet there is always a variety of dishes available. The establishment has a very small-scale feel to it with friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Riddler_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somero, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for just one night on the way back from a driving trip to northern Norway. We were really just looking for a place to break the journey, but in fact this place was really something special and we would certainly go back. Even though this is more of a winter destination we were still surprised at how quiet the place was at the end of June. We would have expected more visitors to Lapland in general, but many places seemed deserted. We stayed in a cabin which cost 120 euros for the night but was definitely worth it. It was spacious, comfortable, included bedding (which many don't) had a separate bedroom and its own sauna. There was also a log burner with logs included, a well-stocked kitchenette and a lovely view. I can imagine that in the winter when the place is packed with people it is even more special. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jody027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Loved this place the moment we arrived. Greeted by the most friendly girl on Reception. Pleasantly surprised at the quality of the accommodation - we chose option of the hotel rooms and did not regret this. The room was spacious and pleasant with a delightful view of the river and countryside. The breakfast was excellent and we ordered a substantial packed lunch for 7 Euros. Situated in glorious location and the climb to the top of the mountain is well worth the effort. There is a shop selling basic food items and gifts. Would definately recommend this lovely lodging centre.

Room Tip: There are many accommodation options - cabins, hostel and hotel rooms so choose whichever suits your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polargirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have just returned from 6 days at the Fell Center, Kiilopaa and had an amazing time. The Center is a bit isolated in that it is not in the town but the advantage of that is that you really get a feel for the landscape. We had a log cabin with a loft bedroom for our teenagers and it was warm and cozy and had everything we needed, including our own sauna which was fantastic!!! The advantage to the location is that you are away from the lights of Saariselka and by walking up the beginning of the Kiilopaa fell we had a fantastic view of the Northern Lights which welcomed us on our first night. We pre-booked trips with Lapland Safaris and thoroughly recommend the 4 hour husky sledding which we all absolutely loved. We also did the 5 hour heart of nature snowmobile tour and the reindeer farm trip - both of which we enjoyed though all the trips are incredibly expensive. The price did include picking us up and dropping us off at the fell center though. The disadvantage to this location is that there is nothing nearby other than the forest - to get to the shops in Saariselka you have to either pay for a taxi or catch the ski bus which comes at 10.30am and drops you back at 4.30pm. This was only a really problem when it came to getting food for tea and we ended up eating at the fell center cafe/restaurant on several nights, which worked out as being expensive. I took some food out with us (dried pasta and stir in sauces etc) and we did get the ski bus into Saariselka on the second day though the food in the supermarket was still pricey and it wasn't easy to tell what it was as a lot of the labelling was only in Finnish! We travelled with Guild Travel and our package included breakfast which was a buffet and had a good choice for all tastes, so we filled up on that as much as possible!
The centre also provided a number of free activites which we didn't take advantage of because we had arranged other trips. On our last day we hired skis and tried out cross country skiing through the forest which was beautiful and so peaceful.
If you go to Saariselka we really recommend the toboggan run - over 1km in length, it was fantastic - you can pick up free sledges from the bottom of the slope, walk up the side of it and then go up and down as many times as your legs can stand it!
Its fair to say that I was a bit nervous about this holiday before we travelled as I expected to be cold and hungry all the time but we had a brilliant time, I didn't get too cold, was never hungry and we had an amazing family holiday full of unforgettable experiences. I really recommend it! I'm happy to answer any questions if anyone's as nervous about it as I was!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaggietheMoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Isolated on the edge of National Park is perfect place for those who wants to relax, enjoy the nature and winter sports.
We had log cabin and we were delighted. Firs thing that you meet in cabin is perfect pine smell, then very cozy living room and comfortable bedroom. In living room there is also fire place and basket of wood so you can completely enjoy winter atmosphere. There is also private sauna if you like. Absolutely great!!!!
Breakfast wasn't bad, for my taste could be enriched with few salty things. In the cabin there is also kitchen in a case you want to prepare something. Close to the reception there is small shop where you can buy some food. We didn't use it, we went in Saariselka. There you can arrive by bus that goes about 2 times a day or by car - about 16 km. At the reception there is the bus schedule. Bus to the Ivalo airport is coordinated with flights and cost about 12 e per person.
In the hotel it's possible to rent ski equipment (20 e per day) or snow shoes (10 e per day) and to enjoy one some of many routs well marked that starts just in front your cabin or hotel. Smoked sauna was also one interesting experience that I would repeat. Also, hotel stuff is organizing some activities as ski school, preparing craps on fire.....for sure you won't be bored.
Also, if you are lucky, it's good position for Aurora Borealis, no lights around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sindelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saariselka
5.3 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
375 reviews
5.2 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
378 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
240 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Ivalo
Hotel Ivalo
#1 of 2 in Ivalo
348 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lodge Kuukkeli Teerenpesa
Lodge Kuukkeli Teerenpesa
#7 of 7 in Saariselka
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fell Centre Kiilopaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fell Centre Kiilopaa

Property: Fell Centre Kiilopaa
Address: Kiilopaeaentie 620, Saariselka 99830, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Saariselka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fell Centre Kiilopaa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fell Centre Kiilopää, Nature Sports Centre in Finnish Lapland in Saariselkä holiday area. An ideal destination to combine the arctic nature and outdoor activities; Cross country skiing, snowshoening,tobogganing, ice swimming in winter. Hiking,trekking, geocaching and disc golfing in summer. Smoke sauna. Accomodation: log cabins,hotel,hostel and apartments. Cafeteria and restaurant Kammi serve local arctic flavours. Breakfast and dinner buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fell Centre Kiilopaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fell Centre Kiilopaa Finland/Saariselka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing