We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Sunday”
Review of Sambuca 1

Sambuca 1
Ranked #11 of 110 Restaurants in North Shields
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Providing a vibrant family friendly atmosphere here on the North Shields fish Quay, we pride ourselves on providing good service, and good quality food and drink at affordable prices. Remember... Every hour at Sambuca 1 North Shields is happy hour.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Busy Sunday”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visited a few weeks on for a Sunday lunch,I knew exactly what to expect, busy, noisy, loud and manic but the food is good and cheap.I think they try really hard not to lose any business at all so it feels like you're on a conveyor belt. We had our soup which was lovely and then waited 30 mins for our main course, when we enquired where it was, it was pretty obvious they had forgotten so we had to wait a further ten mins.I wasn't happy about it but they just brushed it off.I would go back to another Sambucas but this one is too ott for me.Too busy, you're crammed in and the service is
hitty missy x

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deadredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    148
    56
    50
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delicious and great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We took my Mum here for a birthday treat and a real treat it was. The restaurant looks out over the Tyne. The staff are friendly and service was second to none. My husband and I had mussels in chilli sauce as a starter which was to die for.Complimentary garlic bread as we were ordering was a nice touch. mum had melon cocktail which she commented would have been better with a hint of ginger. Main courses were chicken in white wine sauce,fillet steak au poivre and fillet steak rossini served with salad chips (proper big fat chips!) and home made onion rings. No room for desert after those generous portions. With wine and beer the whole cost of the meal was £60. Can't be beaten for value for money, great food and lively atmosphere. we will go again when in the NE.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanSEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Oh I love a good pasta”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a great Italian restaurant and never disappoints. The food and service are second to none. The staff are good ad the food is excellent

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hoitytoityTyne_Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Squashed in like sardines”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I heard that this place was good but all a bit too squashed in for me with tables literally pushed up against each other. The waiters rush around with hot plates above your heads and we had a full coke spilled down our backs with no offer of cleaning or any reimbursement at all. Food is cheap and its ok. Just not enough space.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleFilmmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch time bargain”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great little Italian opposite North Shields fish quay. Always busy especially at lunch time, popular£3.95 lunch special including starter, any pizza or pasta then ice cream or coffee, their seafood pizza is one of the best I've had especially for the price. Staff always welcoming despite being busy, can book a table or queue at the door. Also have a choice of meat and fish dishes as well, the mixed fish platter is popular and comes with chips and salad. Always quick service though don't feel rushed, can sit with a bottle of wine especially as the house wine is only £8 a bottle. Definitely worth a visit

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cp301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sambuca 1 also viewed

North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sambuca 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing