We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quay Taphouse

Quay Taphouse
Ranked #1 of 106 Restaurants in North Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had tapas on Saturday night and then lunch on Sunday. Still the best place in North Shields to eat and drink. You'd be mad not to try it. Well done and thanks cliff and the team.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannyhigney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    55
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Abs fab !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Party of 8 of us tonight for family birthday, 3 bottles of wine , 9 very generous tapas dishes with bread etc, 4 chips and onion rings,extra bread, 12 pints, 2 vodkas , 6 soft drinks , sticky toffee pudding less then 100£, food fab, service fab! Thanks Cliff and staff!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucylou3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had a Sunday lunch here with family - the staff were very accommodating and the place was completely full. We waited about 15 minutes to get a table. The food was great apparently the chef is Belgian and he cooked a great English Sunday lunch with generous helpings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleFilmmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Wednesday tapas special - specially good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We popped in - and quickly out - of a strange new wine/tapas bar in Tynemouth Front Street and headed down to the Fish Quay for the Quay Taproom tapas deal. On Wednesdays the daily £17.95 early bird three dishes of tapas and bottle of wine offer runs from noon until 8pm rather than finishing two hours earlier. It's a pub with food, not a cheffy restaurant, so there's a nice relaxed atmosphere with lots of people just having a drink at the bar, tables or banquettes.

The food was plentiful, really tasty and the wine (not much choice: ' what colour would you like? ') a reasonable Chardonnay. We had mushrooms with garlic and harissa (properly hot), a special of Thai seasoned minced pork and paid an extra £2 for the mixed platter, a wooden board with loads of Serrano ham, chorizo, crispy sausage, roasted peppers, Manchego, olives, feta, dressed leaves and bread. Delicious - stuffed.com. Service was quick but the food was obviously freshy prepared and cooked. Looking forward to next Wednesday!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dottie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“TASTE OF SPAIN IN NORTH SHIELDS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our daughter and our son in law invited my wife and I to lunch on Saturday 27th April at the Quay Taphouse,and it was excellent.
We had a variety of tapas dishes including Crispy Chicken,King Prawns in Chilli,Garlic and Olive Oil,and the Spanish Platter.Each were delicious on their own,but so much better as a group.These dishes would have not been out of place in any authentic Spanish Tapas bar.
If you are looking for something different,this the place for you,and the Stella is also very good.
We are very lucky to have a huge range of good eating places on our doorstep,and this one is certainly up there at the top.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitleygeordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Taphouse also viewed

North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Quay Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing