We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank holiday trip to North Shields fish quay”
Review of Quay Taphouse

Quay Taphouse
Ranked #2 of 106 Restaurants in North Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bank holiday trip to North Shields fish quay”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We were staying at a family members house in South Shields and caught the ferry to the other side of the river Tyne. It was Sunday before the bank hol mon in late August, and we had a few drinks along they quayside all of which were very good traditional pubs. We had a drink along the way at the taphouse but it was very busy, but noticed the food looked good. On the way back the bar had emptied a little and we managed to get a table so we ordered Sunday lunch. I had lamb which was excellent and very generous portion, my. Husband had meat selection which arrived on a very big plate and had all the meat on the menu as well as the rest of lunch trimmings for just an extra pound!!! Very good meal indeed and good value in great bar. Will go again when next in area had a great afternoon on the quay and a lovely meal well done to the Taphouse

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzykSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    56
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle, england
Level Contributor
162 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“MIXED REVIEW”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The bar/restuarant is in a good location, right next to the River Tyne where the fishing boats tie up after being out at sea. The setting is nice, there is free parking close by, the bar is welcoming and the staff are friendly. The thing that lets the 'tapas' bar down is 'the tapas!'. Prices are ok but the food is either bland or stodgy or both. Lots of pluses, and I would visit again but if everyone continues to report that the food is great then there is no incentive for them to improve one of the most important elements of 'the package'.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“1st Class Food, Service and Prices”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I popped in last Saturday and originally were just after a quick drink, but after spying the food coming out of the kitchen the wife could not resist ordering some food. The food was delicious and the servcies first class and the portions are very generous and we will be back this weekend for the same again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Popped in for a quick pint and stayed for memorable dinning experience.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

22 August 2012 First Visit.
Everyone on Tyneside knows Cliff the owner of Quay Taphouse. We arrived about 5.45pm for a quick drink and noticed diners getting stuck into what looked like rather special Tapas dishes, and immediately dashed to the bar to order the same for ourselves just before the Tapas deal closed at 6pm. The quality of the food was unbeatable and the portions were 'Cliff' like. The deal for 2 people including a very drinkable bottle of red wine was only £17.50.

If you take a look at my recent reviews you will see that I have made some good choices in recent times ... but this was the best.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank St_Geordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“"Tip-top"”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

It's a few years since my wife and I we have visited the Fishquay -- in fact we arrived hoping the wonderful old tearoom next door was still there, but alas it is now an Italian restaurant, however we were more than happy to find the Taphouse.Friendly staff, very tasty food at reasonable prices and atmosphere second to none.We look forward to calling again on our next visit to Tyneside.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Taphouse also viewed

North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Quay Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing