We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish & chips in the North East!”

Oceans Fish and Chip Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 108 Restaurants in North Shields
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
North East England
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips in the North East!”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Splendid fish and chips, freshly cooked to order. Without doubt the best in the whole of the north east!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Venus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    67
    46
    21
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The food was absolutely scrumdiddlyumptious...”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

From the moment you walk in you are treated to a true English fish and chips experience. The staff is friendly, and the restaurant itself is comfortable and inviting. Everything on the menu is worth a try, not just the fish and chips. The chicken was especially good. All in all, it's a great place to go with friends, family, or coworkers. As tourists it was one of our favorite meal experiences of all our time in England.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HicksFamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What's your secret?”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Having visited many top-named fish 'n' chip eating houses, I can assure travellers that they will be hard pressed to find tastier food anywhere in the UK, served by the most friendly of staff? What the new management have done to the former Kristians' restaurant has to be experienced to be believed. Impeccable decor, spotless toilet facilities, a welcoming ambience, but above all the quality of the food! I wonder if they nip across the road and pull the fish out of the Tyne themselves because it's THAT fresh! I learned many years ago that the secret of a successful business was to ensure your customers return, and return I will. In fact I'm planning my next visit right now.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fantastic food best fish and chips ever!”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

we have been visiting this restaurant for many years, and have seen some management changes in that time, most people will know it as Kristians. Situated on the river front the trawlers are often seen unloading there catch. The new management of oceans should be truelly commended for the quality of there food, the cleanleness of the restaurant, and the smart and efficeint staff are most helpful. The attention to detail is second to none. Fantastic fresh food, excellent value for money. Well done.
would i recommend it yes definatly, great family dinning.
The Curry family

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank juliescurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked- spotlessly clean + fantastic!”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Spotlessly clean, bright and good friendly staff. Tables and chairs and fittings all oak- spotless toilets and even bevelled glass in the glazed doors- odd thing to notice I know, but these things all add up!

Been several times to eat here.... used to be called 'Christians' and was in competition with 'The Northern Sole' but they're long gone now... but 'Oceans' is maintaining the standard. I've been told that 'Colmans' in South Shields is as good but not visited there yet.

Only once has one of the fish not been left to drain off but that's because they were so busy and it had just come out of the fryer... previous poster just needed to wait a minute and dry the plate with a serviette or could have asked for another plate.

Ordering at the till by table number avoided the wait for table service but the tea came very quickly and the plates not long after so very efficient service.

Will go there again next time we're at the coast.... and must try Colmans too.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pontevecchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceans Fish and Chip Restaurant also viewed

North Shields, Tyne and Wear
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
 
Amble, Northumberland
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Oceans Fish and Chip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing