We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once Bitten!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Torre del Mar
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Once Bitten!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Andalucia hotel the first two weeks in February this year. Our travel agent did not tell us that the hotel would be over-run with Spanish pensioners. We could not get a seat in the dining room until they had finished. The food was awful always cold no matter what time you ate.On our last evening there one of the main courses was "CHICKEN NUGGETTS". The lounge was shared with the reception and consisted of old couches and two old chairs. The tables and chairs were taken by the pensioners playing cards which they did from morning till night. The noise was horrendous. The entertainment was in the basement where the chairs were arranged as in church. There was no bar there and all the entertainment was in Spanish. Our room was not cleaned before three pm each day. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and will not be using this travel agent again. This hotel was a huge disappointment to us.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    137
    111
    27
    17
See reviews for
86
224
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the 5th to the 19th of February 2013. The Hotel is at the western edge of Torre del mar overlooking a camper van site and close to the sea front. The camper vans are not intrusive and depending on which floor you're on may not even be seen.It's important (definitely in the winter) to get a room facing the west. Our balcony was a sun trap every afternoon from 1pm to 6pm. However the roof is an excellent alternative with many sunbeds facing different directions.
The hotel (during our stay) was mainly full of Spanish pensioners on a subsidised holiday paid for by the government (from what we were told). So the hotel has a clientele made up of 85% spanish, 10% German and the remaining 5% British.The Spanish clients take up all the comfortable soft seats in the reception area playing various card and board games and fill the restaurant at meal times.They are provided with wine and water on their restaurant tables unlike other nationalities who will have to pay. The entertainment is geared for the spanish customers. I do understand that the hotel probably relies on it's spanish customers for its business and would therefore give them a priority with everything. As long as our British readers are aware before they decide to visit.
There is always something on the menu that is edible by Brits, but it wasn't warm enough for our liking.
Rooms are kept clean and we found all the staff very friendly
Torre del mar is also geared up for Spanish customers and not much English, if any, is displayed or spoken.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wagmanWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Myself and my partner booked in here for a week as part of a cheap package deal. We stayed in room 501 which had a view of the sea and the campsite next door. We had only ever intended to stay 4 nights as we were always going to spend a few nights in Malaga at the end of the holiday. We only stayed 3 nights in the end as we could't get any sleep in this hotel. Our room was right outside the lift which does the loud "bing bong" (sorry, only way I can describe!) every time it reaches the floor. It was only quiet during the night and started at 6am. That, together with the hardest beds imaginable meant that we were pretty exhausted the 3 days we were there. Had we been intending staying longer I am sure the hotel would have organised a room move but wasn;t worthwhile as we werent staying.
Breakfast was great considering what we paid, usual spanish style of cooked breakfast but plenty of cereals, fruit, muffins, etc. We didn't eat in the hotel other than that.
The local area is extremely quiet at the time we went (November 2012). The local restaurants on the seafront and surrounding area were completely empty, you were sitting on your own. Quiet is one thing, dead is another!
The main part of the town is a little busier but nothing to do in the evening really. We were just looking for a quiet time anyway but didn't quite appreciate that would mean sitting as pretty much the only customers in the local restaurants.
I would still return to this hotel if I saw it come up on a cheap deal in the summer time when things would be busier. I would definitely recommend that anyone booking request a room away from the lifts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the campsite but away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elle1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

we stayed at this hotel for one week in november 2012 on a bed and breakfast basis.
Pleasantly surprised with size and standard of room, complete with bath,shower,fridge and safe.
Breakfast was a large variety of foods,I tended to have meats and cheese as bacon and egg not same as England.
I would recommend this hotel, my only chritisism would be that pool is shaded during daytime,No english tv except the news,Bar a tad pricey.
Staff were friendly and welcoming,looking to go back at christmas but fully booked.
We are around 40yrs old and were probably about the youngest,quiet location and relaxing.
Chamber maids were great and friendly and did an excellent job.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: Go for seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bullettooth2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our room was on the 4th floor on the west (sunny side best view). Mainly spanish and german guests, the staff were friendly though struggled a little with english. Room (with balcony) was of a high standard and cleaned/made up every day. Restaurant not my cup of tea, though the wife liked it and the comments from other english guests varied from very good to poor, depends what your expections/standards are. We stayed breakfast only,a variety of food was served, and it seemed to be enjoyed by the spanish/germans who are in the majority. It seemed more of a canteen to me, don't expect a full english breakfast here, the sausages here are spicy churizos, no fried eggs, just scrambled or hard boiled, occasionaly "deep fried" eggs. No ketchup...but at the price its not that bad. Wifi is available at an expensive 5 euros a day or 15 euros a week, but its slow, don't expect to stream anything. Checkout is at 12 o clock, late check out is available at an eye watering price of 20 euros. We did try the evening meal at 15 euros per person, but I can't recommend it both on price and what's on offer - this is definitely one that is in the all inclusive category. Entertainment in November was geared to the elderly Spanish crowd, although the flamenco and magic night were very good. The location of the hotel is at the end of town which means you end up walking a lot. There are several local cafe/restaurants still open in November, but only one that was any good, the Brasserie on Avd.Antonio Tore Tore redeemed the culinary experience. Don't expect to find any night life here in November. Nearby Nerje is a 30-50 min /1.64 euro bus ride away and is a great day out, a little further are the Cueves Nerje, supposedly europes largest natural caves and is worth a visit, again a bus can take you straight there (from the bus station). Oh, and before I forget there is a little used but very nice sun terrace on the roof, check it out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side, those on the east side complained they never got any sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andheroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My partner and I have just got back from 5 nights at this wonderful hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel itself was really clean and very welcoming, always someone around to assist if need be. The spa was wonderful, very clean and relaxing again the staff are very helpful. The place it is in itself it a small fishing town and it is very much so a relaxing and tranquil place to stay the people that live in Torre del Mar are lovely and always help if you need it. The food was lovely, so much of it and loads of variety, including an English 'style' meal. The pool and surrounding area was very clean and tidy and welcoming to sunbathers, unfortunately the pool was very cold (we did go in November) I think in Summer the pool would be a god send. It was bl**dy boiling in Winter!! The location again was superb, I woke in the morning and sat on the balcony listening and watching the see coming in and out. Wonderful holiday I couldn't thank the staff enough! Last not not least - the value for money was brilliant! 5nights in a 4* hotel all inclusive for 2 £800 including flights, transfers, taxes and insurance.

Room Tip: I prefered the sea view but you can get the pool view but it is built up so you see the pool and bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just back from a week at this hotel. My partner and I found the rooms to be very clean, the beds comfortable, staff friendly and helpful.
We were all inclusive. The food choices catered for most tastes although was generally more continental fair. But you are in Spain after all.....if you just want egg and chips and a steak.....stay in Blackpool.
On the down side. The pool was on the overshadowed side of the hotel, so no chance of sunbathing, even on the 2 days we had sunshine. the sun terrace on the 5th floor was good.
The area was very quiet, with not much to do locally. I'd say a car was an essential. Might have been time of year, but you can see when walking around that the recession is hitting hard. lots of places closed and those that were open were quiet.

The client base was mostly German, French and some Spanish. Very few British. Average age mid 60's so we were youngest by 30 years.

Not a place for kids or if you want bustling night life.

Also was woken at 3am every morning with the Dustbin's being emptied in the street

On a whole we enjoyed our stay. Good value for money

Room Tip: ask for an odd numbered room and away from the main entrance end. to avoid dustmen noise and get a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstisweeten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre del Mar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mainake
Hotel Mainake
#2 of 5 in Torre del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miraya Hotel
Miraya Hotel
#4 of 5 in Torre del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torremar Hotel
Torremar Hotel
#3 of 5 in Torre del Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
11.8 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#18 of 37 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Elimar
Hotel Elimar
#2 of 6 in Rincon de la Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel

Property: BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
Address: Paseo Maritimo Poniente S/N, 29740 Torre del Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torre del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Torre del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bq Andalucia Beach Hotel Torre Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing