We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, ideal for a quiet short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Torre del Mar
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Myself and my partner booked in here for a week as part of a cheap package deal. We stayed in room 501 which had a view of the sea and the campsite next door. We had only ever intended to stay 4 nights as we were always going to spend a few nights in Malaga at the end of the holiday. We only stayed 3 nights in the end as we could't get any sleep in this hotel. Our room was right outside the lift which does the loud "bing bong" (sorry, only way I can describe!) every time it reaches the floor. It was only quiet during the night and started at 6am. That, together with the hardest beds imaginable meant that we were pretty exhausted the 3 days we were there. Had we been intending staying longer I am sure the hotel would have organised a room move but wasn;t worthwhile as we werent staying.
Breakfast was great considering what we paid, usual spanish style of cooked breakfast but plenty of cereals, fruit, muffins, etc. We didn't eat in the hotel other than that.
The local area is extremely quiet at the time we went (November 2012). The local restaurants on the seafront and surrounding area were completely empty, you were sitting on your own. Quiet is one thing, dead is another!
The main part of the town is a little busier but nothing to do in the evening really. We were just looking for a quiet time anyway but didn't quite appreciate that would mean sitting as pretty much the only customers in the local restaurants.
I would still return to this hotel if I saw it come up on a cheap deal in the summer time when things would be busier. I would definitely recommend that anyone booking request a room away from the lifts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the campsite but away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank elle1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 441 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

we stayed at this hotel for one week in november 2012 on a bed and breakfast basis.
Pleasantly surprised with size and standard of room, complete with bath,shower,fridge and safe.
Breakfast was a large variety of foods,I tended to have meats and cheese as bacon and egg not same as England.
I would recommend this hotel, my only chritisism would be that pool is shaded during daytime,No english tv except the news,Bar a tad pricey.
Staff were friendly and welcoming,looking to go back at christmas but fully booked.
We are around 40yrs old and were probably about the youngest,quiet location and relaxing.
Chamber maids were great and friendly and did an excellent job.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: Go for seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bullettooth2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our room was on the 4th floor on the west (sunny side best view). Mainly spanish and german guests, the staff were friendly though struggled a little with english. Room (with balcony) was of a high standard and cleaned/made up every day. Restaurant not my cup of tea, though the wife liked it and the comments from other english guests varied from very good to poor, depends what your expections/standards are. We stayed breakfast only,a variety of food was served, and it seemed to be enjoyed by the spanish/germans who are in the majority. It seemed more of a canteen to me, don't expect a full english breakfast here, the sausages here are spicy churizos, no fried eggs, just scrambled or hard boiled, occasionaly "deep fried" eggs. No ketchup...but at the price its not that bad. Wifi is available at an expensive 5 euros a day or 15 euros a week, but its slow, don't expect to stream anything. Checkout is at 12 o clock, late check out is available at an eye watering price of 20 euros. We did try the evening meal at 15 euros per person, but I can't recommend it both on price and what's on offer - this is definitely one that is in the all inclusive category. Entertainment in November was geared to the elderly Spanish crowd, although the flamenco and magic night were very good. The location of the hotel is at the end of town which means you end up walking a lot. There are several local cafe/restaurants still open in November, but only one that was any good, the Brasserie on Avd.Antonio Tore Tore redeemed the culinary experience. Don't expect to find any night life here in November. Nearby Nerje is a 30-50 min /1.64 euro bus ride away and is a great day out, a little further are the Cueves Nerje, supposedly europes largest natural caves and is worth a visit, again a bus can take you straight there (from the bus station). Oh, and before I forget there is a little used but very nice sun terrace on the roof, check it out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side, those on the east side complained they never got any sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andheroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My partner and I have just got back from 5 nights at this wonderful hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel itself was really clean and very welcoming, always someone around to assist if need be. The spa was wonderful, very clean and relaxing again the staff are very helpful. The place it is in itself it a small fishing town and it is very much so a relaxing and tranquil place to stay the people that live in Torre del Mar are lovely and always help if you need it. The food was lovely, so much of it and loads of variety, including an English 'style' meal. The pool and surrounding area was very clean and tidy and welcoming to sunbathers, unfortunately the pool was very cold (we did go in November) I think in Summer the pool would be a god send. It was bl**dy boiling in Winter!! The location again was superb, I woke in the morning and sat on the balcony listening and watching the see coming in and out. Wonderful holiday I couldn't thank the staff enough! Last not not least - the value for money was brilliant! 5nights in a 4* hotel all inclusive for 2 £800 including flights, transfers, taxes and insurance.

Room Tip: I prefered the sea view but you can get the pool view but it is built up so you see the pool and bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just back from a week at this hotel. My partner and I found the rooms to be very clean, the beds comfortable, staff friendly and helpful.
We were all inclusive. The food choices catered for most tastes although was generally more continental fair. But you are in Spain after all.....if you just want egg and chips and a steak.....stay in Blackpool.
On the down side. The pool was on the overshadowed side of the hotel, so no chance of sunbathing, even on the 2 days we had sunshine. the sun terrace on the 5th floor was good.
The area was very quiet, with not much to do locally. I'd say a car was an essential. Might have been time of year, but you can see when walking around that the recession is hitting hard. lots of places closed and those that were open were quiet.

The client base was mostly German, French and some Spanish. Very few British. Average age mid 60's so we were youngest by 30 years.

Not a place for kids or if you want bustling night life.

Also was woken at 3am every morning with the Dustbin's being emptied in the street

On a whole we enjoyed our stay. Good value for money

Room Tip: ask for an odd numbered room and away from the main entrance end. to avoid dustmen noise and get a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirstisweeten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here in October and thought it great. Great service from reception through to dining room and the manager.
Room excellent, overlooking the campsite, with great service and great choice of food.
Having read previous reviews we took a travel kettle as coffee not available after dinner which perhaps should be looked at but apart from that small issue great three weeks.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking campsite allowed you to sunbathe whilst laying on your bed as per photo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delanbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

this hotel was no way a four star hotel when we arived we were exspecting a meal was tould we were to late and we hade to go out for dinner we was also told that because we were late that we would be geting lunch the day we left but that wascent the case we arived on the 12/10/12 we had to be out by 12 lunch wascent till 1 food was caterd for the germans only nothing there for the english allso cold and verry poor siervice we were put in to a fammerly room witch had to dubbel beds as wewere husband and wife with 2 sister inlaws it wascent propreite no were to plug your phones in to charge resterront staff were plite is the only good thing about the place the rest off the staff dident speek english and the germans were so rood pushing and shuveing this is wy i would not call it a 4 star hotel and would never recomend it to any one else alan jolson

Room Tip: would not recomend any 1 to go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre del Mar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mainake
Hotel Mainake
#2 of 5 in Torre del Mar
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torremar Hotel
Torremar Hotel
#4 of 5 in Torre del Mar
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miraya Hotel
Miraya Hotel
#3 of 5 in Torre del Mar
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
2.6 mi away
Hotel Avenida JC
Hotel Avenida JC
#4 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
18 reviews
9.7 mi away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel

Address: Paseo Maritimo Poniente S/N, 29740 Torre del Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torre del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Torre del Mar
Price Range: $49 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bq Andalucia Beach Hotel Torre Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing